HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 71-80 of 98 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Lots of bathrooms Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The lack of community feel - everyone was way too focused on their gadgets. Looks a little bit tired in places

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We know what you mean with everyone on their gadgets, not much we can do. However we do try to provide lots of space for travellers to mingle with each otherin our spacious common room and back patio. We also have an event every night of the week.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were really helpful and genuinly wanted to help :0)

Disliked: The mattresses n bunk beds were very noisy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thjanks for your review! Hope to see you again soon!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Just as I remembered from a previous stay, everyone was nice and friendly. Staff could answer all of my questions and had great suggestions. Free BBQ was awesome!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review - we hope to see you again in the future!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: -

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good location, friendly & helpful staff.

Disliked: Age of building, dodgy hot water

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome place ! The staff was the friendliest staff i've ever met ! We arrived at 7 a.m. by bus and they offered us breakfast and shower even though we haven't checked in yet !And the last day, they accepted the fact that we can have a shower in the late afternoon just before getting our bus.Nice place to stay, great patio, the pancake free breakfast nice !

Disliked: The wifi may be more efficient but it's the only bad thing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! Hope to see you again some day soon!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Convenient location close to Spadina and Queen St plus close proximity to the subway. Friendly staff and a good vibe between everyone staying there. Met heaps of great people plus the back patio section was good to have a drink and a chat.

Disliked: Limited bathrooms and showers which were located on the floor upstairs.Very basic breakfast which could be improved.Very poor and temperamental WIFI which worked average at the best of times.Old air-conditioning system which meant our room at night was hot and you would wake up sweaty every morning.I was bitten by bed bugs on numerous nights which is one of the worst things when travelling as the red marks linger for weeks.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. I am glad you enjoyed the back patio it is a great place to meet people. We wish you had notified the font desk of any issues so that we could have taken measures to make your stay better. We inspected the room and were unable to find anything except a rogue mosquito.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: i liked the friendness of the staff, like everybody like a family,it is a good hostel for the touth people who would like to chill out and party in the weekend. it is very safe , the internet connection is so good.. 24 hour open front desk.too many washrooms, help is always found.. the place is clean. free coffee and tea in the motning... a vending machine is also available with all drinks for 1 canadian dollars"cheapest in town!" the travellers are almost all youth abd so friendly and they party with each other.

Disliked: the air condition is not working at night.. so in the summer goes very hot.. this is the inly dislike.. they should figure out an answer for the AC

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the review! We take pride in our amazing atmosphere and our staff are always ready to help with anything you need! We are sorry the AC was not cool enough in your room. Next time if your room is too warm visit reception as sometimes the AC is controlled from outside the room.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great. It was also a decent place for meeting other travellers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the review! Our location is definitely the best in Toronto within easy walking distance to all major attractions! Hope to see you again soon!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is a great location and the staff are friendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: There really isn't much bad to say about the hostel at all!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the amazing review! Glad you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Check Availability