HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

89.7% Overall Rating

645 out of 689 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Darren Flanagan thinks…

"The bed was comfortable, staff extremely helpful and common areas welcoming. The pancake breakfast was also excellent."

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
23.10 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
27.72 USD

Hostel 57.4% 305 reviews
University Apartment
13.86 USD

Hostel 48.5% 127 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
32.34 USD

Hostel 48.7% 492 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.74 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
43.43 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.65 USD

Hostel 91.2% 175 reviews
kaisar Guest House
50.82 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

645 out of 689 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 477 of 538 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catharine Gregory

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 June 2011 Catharine would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the friendly atmosphere

Disliked: a bit noisy a night but that was to be expected

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fabrizio Delfini

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 June 2011 Fabrizio would recommend this property

Liked: Great! A perfect place to meet new people from all over the world. Staff very nice and they help you everytime! Perfect hostel!!!

Disliked: The coffee finish to early (at 10 a.m)

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rita Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Rita would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, and it the place is ok.

Disliked: They said the tickets for the CN tower were cheaper if bought at the hostel, and later we found out the price was the same, didn't like that lack of honesty.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, seriously. Nice people, good vibe, lockers, free wifi, free pancakes, kitchen, everything you could wish for.

Disliked: I didn't care anyway, but the TV movie is shut due to a broken projector or something.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place

Disliked: Changing room

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nancy Gentsch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, bathrooms are spotless. Staff at reception was very, very nice.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the breakfast was pretty good! - great outside place to hang out!

Disliked: - there was an annoying school class, but I guess that's not the hostel's fault...

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

mark whittaker

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 mark would recommend this property

Liked: wi fi! happy staff free drinks

Disliked: noise some nights

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free wifi, nice common areas.

Disliked: Private rooms not in the main building and without any character.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Brown

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Canadiana is a very good hostel smack-dab in the center of toronto. It's minutes from everything you'd want to see there. friendly staff, clean bathrooms, comfortable beds, pancakes available for breakfast, and a really uniquely communal atmosphere.

Disliked: The WIFI's pretty wonky at the moment, but they're apparently working to fix it up - and for now they're just suggesting the free WIFI at a local Starbucks, so it really wasn't an issue. Also, parking was a pretty frustrating to figure out, but I guess I was just spoiled having a free parking spot at the previous hostel on my trip. All in all, a wonderful hostel, and if you really want to get a feel for Toronto at a good price, this is the one to pick.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerald bailey

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 gerald would recommend this property

Liked: great location good staff met some nice people will return one day

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone here is friendly and the staff really helpful.

Disliked: It was tough getting to sleep being close to the common room- people were up till past 2am in the morning.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerald bailey

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 gerald would recommend this property

Liked: good location great staff thanks for making me welcome

Disliked: n/a

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Aaron Frombach

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 May 2011 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Great common rooms. Lots of showers/washrooms available in the main building as well as the other houses. The staff was awesome and the rooms comfortable.

Disliked: While there was free internet, it rarely was capable of keeping up with demand, and the fridges need to be cleaned out more regularily.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gunborg Roos

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 Gunborg would recommend this property

Liked: Good to have your own entre-door in the Annex. Lovely panncakes and syrup for breakfast.

Disliked: No

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean rooms - friendly staff - would come back again.

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tristan Charles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2011 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to lots of pubs and clubs. Free coffee and pancakes in the morning.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful The kitchen facilities were good Free tea was great Room was warm Lockers are a good size Bathroom was good Other facilities seemed good too

Disliked: The noise!!! Stayed right next to the common room, the door outside mine kept slamming shut, could hear people till about 3am. Even with earplugs in. Disrespectful people in my room turning the light on when they came in at 3am didnt impress me much. I know this isnt the hostels faultt but it added to my inability to sleep.There was a blocked off door in my room that lead to the next room, so you could hear everyone talking and yelling in their room. Room 10 sux! But apart from that I would still recommend it to people as the staff and facilities make up for the lack of sleep I got!!!!!!!!!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here. It has a great atmosphere and the staff are really helpful. The rooms are a great size and the en suite in our room was really clean. We would definitely use the Canadiana again.

Disliked: It was pretty noisy at night.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011

Liked: Has a movie theatre and free pancake breakfast.

Disliked: The showers and bathrooms were in tiny creepy rooms all over the building. Also, someone walked into our locked private room late at night. Mattresses were hard.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the entertainment district, some cool shops and bars near by. CN Tower is just two blocks away, so close. Close to trams, not far from subway. Free pancake breakfast (pancakes aren't great but they're free! Free Coffee and teat too!) Breakfast great place to meet new comers and plan ahead! Helpful cheerful staff always at hand.

Disliked: Some of the people had been there a while so quite clicky but all friendly. Renovations going on so the lounge smaller so harder to relax outside of bedroom than it should be but there only making better at least. Kitchen is ok,, Evening entertainments advertised were not always on.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything- fantastic. Except half the power points/source outlets dont work!

Disliked: Sometimes noisy at night- not great insulation between rooms! ie: can hear people coming up stairs...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabiana Malta

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 Fabiana would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place, comfy and fun

Disliked: bad wireless internet

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very organised and experienced in catering for travellers, events on every night and free breakfast is simple, but effective!

Disliked: We came in November and there weren't many transient backpackers, more people who wanted to stay in Toronto long-term, but couldn't find accom. So lots of serious flat-searching going on in the common room made it a bit different from perhaps the summer crowd.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alvaro Hernandez Hernandez

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010

Liked: Good location. Friendly environment

Disliked: Free pancakes but probably the worst I ate in my life. You can try to spread the syrup but this won`t help since the syrup is as bad as the pancakes. Not as good as it looks.

The property's response is...


See all Toronto hostels