HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 61-70 of 97 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Bigger than my usual hostel....But still homely and welcoming. They tried really hard to make the stay happy.. They suceeded. Facilities were all there. Cinema was amazing. Plenty of inside and outside space for all to use. I could not fault them.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review hopefully we will see you again soon!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel is as described. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. The location is easy to find and they always have activities on at night (which I was always too tired to take part in unfortunately). The lockers were also a good extra and they dealt with any problems quickly (not talking about myself, I witnessed someone else). Overall a really good stay. And the pancakes on my second day were amazing.

Disliked: Only a minor greedy point : I'd have loved pancakes everyday! But there was always toast and free coffee and that'll do me!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the pancakes! We alternate between toast, bagles and pancakes to provide more variety for our guests. When we used to just serve pancakes people always asked for more variation, so that is what we did!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I went through a particularly rough time while staying at this hostel and Helen was very compassionate and sympathetic towards my situation. Management, not so much but they're trying to run a business at the end of the day. Great location, everyone was super friendly and they had lots of activities going on each day. I would definitely stay here again - one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: The only thing I can really nit-pick about is that they don't have hand/paper towels in the washrooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. We are sorry you were going through a rough time but happy our staff helped you out! We are working on getting paper towel for the wasrooms as well. Hope to see you again soon!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome location, near everything you would like to see.Nice room, was cleaned every day. Well equipped kitchen and free breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: can meet lots of people

Disliked: too noisy and the room is not that clean


The property's response is

Sorry that you found the hostel too noisy. Being downtown we get a lot of noise from the street but we do have free earplugs at reception. If you find your room unsatisfactory in any way please let us know at reception immediately so that we can rectify the situation. We do clean the rooms on a daily basis.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Bunks

Disliked: Toilet and showers are in the basement

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review. There are showers and toilets on each floor of the hostel not just in the basement!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are so nice n helpful especially the hostel manager Nicole she was very helpful and always easy to talk to. I think she is the best thing about this hostel she the funniest and really good looking which always helps.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very close to the main area. Lots to do of an evening arranged by the hostel

Disliked: Dust under the beds

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! Sorry that you found dust under your bed we do clean the rooms daily. Next time let us know at reception about any problems and we will gladly solve them for you!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Close to everything downtown,subway 5 minute walk good downtown address

Disliked: Room was really cold and for the price could havebeen muc better...Almost $100 pr night should atleast have a tv...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry that you did not like the room. We do have a tv room in our basement that guests can watch at any time!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel has a big common space for travellers where you can sit and relax. They have breakfast, sometimes pancakes. They offer free coffee and tea. The dorms have big lockers, and have a lot of space.

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful. I think the hostel is really big, and because of that it's hard to meet people, because it is a little bit commercialized. I think there isn't enough time to help all the travellers. They did not advice me well about the expressbus to the airport. She said it took me 50 minutes, but it took me almost two hours. Also it is that big so that they have their rooms in several buildings. In my building there was only one shower on the same floor. I don't think that's enough.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. We do try our best to assist every guest in any way that we can! In terms of the airport shuttle we advise you on the times that the company provides us with, if your bus took longer than expected that would probably be due to traffic and is not normal time to get to the airport.

Check Availability