HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 51-60 of 97 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean, friendly and great breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: you get a clean bed n friendly staff. The place is really good and it s not expensive for toronto.

Disliked: sometimes a little bit noisy (ussually normal in shared rooms) but you can get some earplugs.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and the earplugs helped keep out the noise – we hope to see you in the future.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good wifi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review - wifi is crucial when you are travelling!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Convenient location; friendly atmosphere; free high-speed wifi, daily breakfast, tea/coffee; individual showers

Disliked: Guests are predominantly young students, which isn't a bad thing (being one myself), but they are often rowdy in the late hours of the night, even though it is specifically requested that the noise level be minimised past 11pm

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We do our best to ensure noise is kept to a minimum later at night and we provide free earplugs at reception for any guests who are having trouble sleeping. Our staff look to keep the place quiet after 11pm and we have a 24 hour reception.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very clean, staff was extremely helpful and friendly and knew exactly what customers needed to have the best stay possible.

Disliked: A little noisy but really that can't be helped.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We are very proud of our fantastic staff. There are free earplugs at reception if you have trouble sleeping.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast and the fact that everybody is just sitting together in the 'living room', which makes it so easy to meet people and to make fun.

Disliked: The showers were not really warm

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your feedback – sometimes in the mornings when a lot of people are showering at the same time the hot water can take a little longer than usual to heat up. Our living room is great for relaxing and meeting other travellers; glad you enjoyed it!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Near downtown TO. Has a kitchen. Free internet.

Disliked: Shared a room when someone who arrived at 3 AM, then, once in bed, fell asleep and started snoring loudly. Before I arrived, was given conflicting info about availability of nearby parking.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry to hear about your negative experience with your roommate; we have free earplugs at reception. There is plenty of parking available nearby - we hope you managed to find somewhere to park even if you were given conflicting information. We have our own parking that we rent by the day at the most reasonable price around. Thanks for the feedback.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Relatively clean and functional hostel. It has a excellent location in downtown Toronto. The property didn't strike me as a large party hostel but rather a hostel with convenient access to all of downtown`s attractions. Would recommend to anyone after a conveniently located and cheap place to stay in Toronto.

Disliked: Showers were average. Though more of a minor compliant. Sufficient hot water just an average system.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review – we are proud of our location in the heart of downtown Toronto! We normally have an abundance of hot water.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was good and staff were polite.

Disliked: The dorm smelt like a sweaty locker room and a French couple was loudly having sex across the room from me.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry that you had a negative experience with your roommates; we have free earplugs at reception or could have helped you move to a different room – it would have been no trouble, you just needed to ask. Glad you had a positive experience with the staff! Thanks for the feedback.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Homelike atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Glad you felt at home - we hope to see you in the future.

Check Availability