We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

89.4% Overall Rating

662 out of 707 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

alison green thinks…

"everything. intantly felt at home and welcome.location is awsome and an easy walk from bus terminal"

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
22.79 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
18.23 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
University Apartment
22.79 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.64 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
49.69 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
43.76 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.26 USD

Hostel 92.3% 197 reviews
kaisar Guest House
50.14 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

662 out of 707 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 554 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere,great place to meet people,has a lot of common areas (large open terrace and living room) ,even guitar playing and singing in evenings,activities every night-they took us to clubs for free ( Iman and Vera are great girls who do the activities).Staff is great,specially a Croatian guy-Goran,great fun and good soul!! Good location-center of town,very clean hostel,wide beds,good lockers,pancake breakfast could be a bit better but its ok.THEY EVEN DO A FREE BARBECUE FOR GUESTS :)) THE BEST I STAYED IN!!

Disliked: Air-condition could be better,it was too loud so we had hard time falling a sleep due to the its noise!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice kitschy decor

Disliked: --

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aillish McDaid

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Aillish would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, so was able to keep in touch with home easily.

Disliked: The bathrooms could b quite dirty at times, and one girl at reception was nasty and patronising when I asked how the phonecard works.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a well-located, cheap and safe hostel. Front desk staff were really helpful, free lockers if you bring your own padlock (I think they maybe lend them out for a deposit as well). Pancakes were good but they were only there one morning.

Disliked: Lack of pancakes one morning with no explanation. Felt like the rest of the people in our room were staying months so not very interested in saying hi or being friendly. If you want a better travel atmosphere, you might be better of at HI where stays are limited to a few weeks.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good staff, easy to find, perfect location. FREE PANCAKES

Disliked: if you are hungover and/or wake up late you will miss the pancakes.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sagi Golovatchev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Sagi would recommend this property

Liked: free pancakes and coffee!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Nothnig ! everything is the best!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fernando Zarco

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: Friendliness.

Disliked: I was appalled by the HEAT in that room. I asked several times to fix the air conditioner but that did not happen. I will never set foot in this hostel again and I will definitely do not plan on recommending it. FIX THE AIR CONDITIONER.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in good condition,everything worked. The staff were excellent

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of the property and the ease of access at all hours. There were plentiful washrooms and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils. There was alot of food storage areas, and air con in the room.

Disliked: I disliked the metal bunk beds in my room, I was in a 6 dorm and the metal bunks are very loud anytime someone moves. There was also an issue with the roof panel above my bed - it had started leaking during a rain storm a few days earlier, and was never repaired afterwards so when it rained again during my stay, it leaked. I had to move rooms around 12.30am. They do seem to look after the place with around the clock cleaning etc, but I'm not sure how efficient their maintanence team is.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathalie Lüdicke

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: Super nettes Personal und schöne Lage, 15 Minuten vom Wasser entfernt.

Disliked: Keine Möglichkeit zum kostenlosen parken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

amber curtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 amber would recommend this property

Liked: staff had lots of suggestions on what to do and see around town. wifi there is also really fast.

Disliked: my room was probably the smallest room for 4 i have stayed in. but wasn't too bad. better ventilation is needed in that room was very hot. (not sure on other rooms)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved the hostel building layout. There are many places to hang out, and the people staying here were interesting and curious to learn about other cultures. There was rarely a time when someone wasn't having a great conversation, as well as a cultural learning experience. Free pancakes every morning! Free food occasionally. Great staff, who keeps a clean and well organized hostel.

Disliked: I had to leave after only 3 days!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roof terrace, Friendly Atmosphere, Free pancake breakfast

Disliked: NOTHING

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Kozak

Alone

City break

04 June 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: everything, starting from free morning pancakes and ending on everyday evening entertainment!

Disliked: that's the best hostel I ever stayed in so the only think I can write here is this they didnt pick me up from the airport, really that's the only thing I can moan about!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - I could walk everywhere. Free pancake breakfast was very good. Plenty of bathrooms so never had to wait for a shower.

Disliked: The luggage room didn't seem very secure - there weren't many lockers so I just had to leave my bag on the floor.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Chisholm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the provision of lockers in the room, the individual bathrooms, the helpfulness of the staff and information about the area, and the free breakfast

Disliked: The old house was very creaky and it rumbled when people downstairs were rolling their suitcases. Also I could hear many people talking outside from my room at night

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Guillaume Gagnon

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2012 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Noise at night...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PEIYU CHEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2012 PEIYU would recommend this property

Liked: the restroom in the room is large and clean. very good quality. and most of the roommates are friendly and respect each others.

Disliked: the power holes are around the lower level so that it's tough to charge the device when taking a high-level bed.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fabio Santos

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: the people are friendly and it is close to everything

Disliked: Fabio left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merve Aydin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Merve would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good. There is a common area where you can socialize with other people. They provide locker rooms for your luggage. Free pancakes coffee and tea for breakfast. Friendly staff.

Disliked: A bit noisy in the mornings.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rosemary Wells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: cheerful and full of character. good facilities, clean, friendly and warm. good breakfast.

Disliked: there are not enough bathrooms and they tend to get quite dirty because they being used so much. its also quite difficault to get to using public transport.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great building and location. Free breakfast is served at 8:30 but make sure you turn up at 8:15 otherwise the pancakes run out fast

Disliked: The place is great but due to the build (wooden floors) you tend to hear every noise. Did not have great nights sleep every night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma -Jade Ogden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 May 2012 Emma -Jade would recommend this property

Liked: The "Homely" feel

Disliked: No lockable places in the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Viola Gheller

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Viola would recommend this property

Liked: especially the location, the staff has been helpful.

Disliked: on my floor there were not so many showers and washrooms...it was not a problem at all during the day, but between 8 and 9.30 it was quite difficult to have access to a shower...but it was no big deal, in the end.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Annika Ristimäki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Annika left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels