HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 41-50 of 97 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I absolutely loved my stay here! The atmosphere was so relaxed and friendly, with the great communal areas both inside and out, I've made some very good friends from only 5 nights! Breakfast was great, and being in such a good location, it made my trip even easier. Activities we're put on every night, but amazingly friendly staff, overall the perfect stay for me and I would highly recommend!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I know you have to be lucky for that, but when i was there people were exactly as open and friendly as I hoped they'd be. Washing will cost you about 4 Dollars with soap and dryer. The all-youcan-eat pancakes are amazing. Free computer use. Let youself put on the waitinglist, if you did not get a bed for all of the nights you needed.

Disliked: The Bagel breakfast on weekends is very poor... One bagel with butter and 1 tiny pack of marmelade or 2 packs without butter.. The coffee comes from a machine which often doesn't work at all and is really bad. The toilets could be cleaned more often, since in an 8-bed room, apperently it gets dirty fastly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you had a positive experience! We have solved the problems with the coffee machine and it is now working perfectly fine! Sorry for any inconvenience it caused you while you were here! We clean the bathrooms at least 3 times per day, if ever you find a bathroom not up to standard in between cleaning hours next time please let us know and we will make sure it is clean!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: No AC

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thankyou for your feedback

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for reviewing us!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Central location, close to culture and restaurants. Great rooms and friendly staff. Large storage lockers.

Disliked: Bathroom floors with showers are constantly wet.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Sorry that the floors of the bathrooms were wet. We do change the bathmats daily and do the best we can to keep the floors as dry as possible with such a high amount of use!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: nice atmosphere; big lounge for haging out during the day; lots of hostel activities; awesome location in the city centre

Disliked: the heating in the rooms was weirdly regulated (at night our room turned into a sauna); there are no separate lights for dorm beds (just one light for the whole room) which means its impossible for some to sleep and others to still read or do stuff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We are very proud of our location and glad that you enjoyed the events. Sorry that you found the heating strangely regulated – that is something we will look into.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The liveliness

Disliked: Some construction going on in the vicinity, but not a big deal.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great environment at the hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the activities they organized every night are perfect in order to meet people. The hostel is clean and in a good location.

Disliked: If I would say something, it should be that it could be more showers. In the morning there could be a queue to take a shower!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great review! Sorry you had to queue for a shower – we do have 30 washrooms located throughout the hostel, although they are fairly spread out!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The people there are very friendly, with quite a numbrr of long term lodgers. It is well within walking distance from food, entertainment and the downtown attractions. Very nice social space and free tea is exactly what you need after a cold tour of the city.

Disliked: Not many easily accessible power points in my room, but made up for with plenty in common room and everywhere else.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the wonderful review! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and the free tea! Should you need more power points we provide power boards at the front desk.

Check Availability