HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

89.4% Overall Rating

655 out of 699 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"The communal areas were really homely , the breakfast was good and the staff were super friendly!"

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
22.97 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
35.83 USD

Hostel 56.8% 307 reviews
University Apartment
27.56 USD

Hostel 46.4% 131 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
50.53 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.48 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
59.72 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.48 USD

Hostel 92.2% 187 reviews
kaisar Guest House
50.53 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

655 out of 699 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 481 of 546 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sagi Golovatchev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012 Sagi would recommend this property

Liked: free pancakes and coffee!!!!!!!!

Disliked: Nothnig ! everything is the best!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fernando Zarco

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: Friendliness.

Disliked: I was appalled by the HEAT in that room. I asked several times to fix the air conditioner but that did not happen. I will never set foot in this hostel again and I will definitely do not plan on recommending it. FIX THE AIR CONDITIONER.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in good condition,everything worked. The staff were excellent

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of the property and the ease of access at all hours. There were plentiful washrooms and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils. There was alot of food storage areas, and air con in the room.

Disliked: I disliked the metal bunk beds in my room, I was in a 6 dorm and the metal bunks are very loud anytime someone moves. There was also an issue with the roof panel above my bed - it had started leaking during a rain storm a few days earlier, and was never repaired afterwards so when it rained again during my stay, it leaked. I had to move rooms around 12.30am. They do seem to look after the place with around the clock cleaning etc, but I'm not sure how efficient their maintanence team is.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathalie Lüdicke

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: Super nettes Personal und schöne Lage, 15 Minuten vom Wasser entfernt.

Disliked: Keine Möglichkeit zum kostenlosen parken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

amber curtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 amber would recommend this property

Liked: staff had lots of suggestions on what to do and see around town. wifi there is also really fast.

Disliked: my room was probably the smallest room for 4 i have stayed in. but wasn't too bad. better ventilation is needed in that room was very hot. (not sure on other rooms)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved the hostel building layout. There are many places to hang out, and the people staying here were interesting and curious to learn about other cultures. There was rarely a time when someone wasn't having a great conversation, as well as a cultural learning experience. Free pancakes every morning! Free food occasionally. Great staff, who keeps a clean and well organized hostel.

Disliked: I had to leave after only 3 days!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roof terrace, Friendly Atmosphere, Free pancake breakfast

Disliked: NOTHING

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Piotr Kozak

Alone

City break

04 June 2012 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: everything, starting from free morning pancakes and ending on everyday evening entertainment!

Disliked: that's the best hostel I ever stayed in so the only think I can write here is this they didnt pick me up from the airport, really that's the only thing I can moan about!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - I could walk everywhere. Free pancake breakfast was very good. Plenty of bathrooms so never had to wait for a shower.

Disliked: The luggage room didn't seem very secure - there weren't many lockers so I just had to leave my bag on the floor.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Chisholm

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the provision of lockers in the room, the individual bathrooms, the helpfulness of the staff and information about the area, and the free breakfast

Disliked: The old house was very creaky and it rumbled when people downstairs were rolling their suitcases. Also I could hear many people talking outside from my room at night

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Guillaume Gagnon

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2012 Guillaume would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Noise at night...

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PEIYU CHEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2012 PEIYU would recommend this property

Liked: the restroom in the room is large and clean. very good quality. and most of the roommates are friendly and respect each others.

Disliked: the power holes are around the lower level so that it's tough to charge the device when taking a high-level bed.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fabio Santos

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: the people are friendly and it is close to everything

Disliked: Fabio left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merve Aydin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Merve would recommend this property

Liked: The location is pretty good. There is a common area where you can socialize with other people. They provide locker rooms for your luggage. Free pancakes coffee and tea for breakfast. Friendly staff.

Disliked: A bit noisy in the mornings.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rosemary Wells

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: cheerful and full of character. good facilities, clean, friendly and warm. good breakfast.

Disliked: there are not enough bathrooms and they tend to get quite dirty because they being used so much. its also quite difficault to get to using public transport.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great building and location. Free breakfast is served at 8:30 but make sure you turn up at 8:15 otherwise the pancakes run out fast

Disliked: The place is great but due to the build (wooden floors) you tend to hear every noise. Did not have great nights sleep every night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma -Jade Ogden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 May 2012 Emma -Jade would recommend this property

Liked: The "Homely" feel

Disliked: No lockable places in the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Viola Gheller

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Viola would recommend this property

Liked: especially the location, the staff has been helpful.

Disliked: on my floor there were not so many showers and washrooms...it was not a problem at all during the day, but between 8 and 9.30 it was quite difficult to have access to a shower...but it was no big deal, in the end.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Annika Ristimäki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Annika left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jordan Miles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 April 2012 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Free pancake breakfast! Can't go wrong with that

Disliked: It's a big popular place, so if you want it quiet, it's hard to find some peace.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

wen yu Tseng

Alone

City break

23 April 2012 wen yu would recommend this property

Liked: right in the city and walking distance to everywhere

Disliked: bed is rought. I got backache when I woke up.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, events every night, can go on Niagara falls tour easily and cheaply, pool table, very clean, lots of bathrooms, great place to stay

Disliked: Somehow the common area was a bit awkward... could have just been the group staying

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 April 2012

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Party hotel for young long stay backpackers..very noisy at night until 4/5am at times. Showers locked for cleaning at time when people most wanted to use them!!! Very grimy kitchen, microwaves were health hazards. Very little cutlery, didn't cook there...poor facilities for self catering.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap bed. good kitchen, friendly staff, right in the heart of the entertainment district. I would reccommend it, but be warned that it is not a normal hostel

Disliked: It was more of a long term residence than a hostel. Everybody was staying for 2,3,4 or more months (not nights), there was even photos on the walls of all the people that had stayed for long periods of time (some over a year). In this respect it felt like you were an outsider in someone else's home. it was quite strange. everybody sat in their group of friends looking for jobs. a good 20minute walk to the bus station. rooms were very messy because of the long term residents


See all Toronto hostels