HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 31-40 of 97 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, really friendly staff - who not only gave recommendations of where to find food/wander around when I arrived, but also let me use the kitchen and showers after I had checked out, but before a long overnight bus journey :)

Disliked: The directions on their webpage about how to find them didn't seem to help a lot!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your positive review! Our location is perfect for people who want to walk around the city center without having to take public transport! We will take a look at our directions on the webpage and try and make it easier to understand!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff.

Disliked: The room was warm.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the fantastic review!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: free wifi

Disliked: -


The property's response is

Thanks for the review.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The communal areas were really homely , the breakfast was good and the staff were super friendly!

Disliked: A few more showers would make this hostel even better.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great feedback! glad you enjoyed the common rooms and our staff!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: People there are very friendly and helpful. The location is convinient.

Disliked: None.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! Make sure you visit us again soon!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was very nice, I met great people and the hostel is very well located.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feeback

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: staff, location, atmosphere, people

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the positive feedback! Hope to see you again soon.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location, helpful staff, affordable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you please visit us again soon!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The bed was comfortable, staff extremely helpful and common areas welcoming. The pancake breakfast was also excellent.

Disliked: During my stay it was extremely hot which mean the downstairs kitchen/ washing area was also very hot. Having foods stored outside of the fridge resulted in them being spoiled. So some form of temperature management would have been beneficial.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback! Glad you enjoyed our free breakfast and facilities! In the summer months it can be quite warm in Toronto. Our kitchen does have 4 fridges available to keep your food cold!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well located, 20 min by walk from Toronto coach terminal, 10 min by walk from the nearest subway (Osgood)Staff is very friendly and helpfulKitchen is well equipped and clean

Disliked: Internet connection is badBeds are not clean, my eyes were red every morning and I slept very bad during my trip because of the dirtinessOnly 3 showers and 3 toilets, which are a bit far from the rooms


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our location and kitchen facilities. The beds are cleaned after each checkout and fresh sheets and blankets are provided to each new guest. You are also able to change your sheets while you stay with us to ensure cleanliness. There are far more than 3 showers and bathrooms in the hostel. There are at least 3 on each floor of the hostel so if the ones near your room were full you are able to go to the other floors as well.

Check Availability