HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 21-30 of 97 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, easy to find. this was my first experience of the back packers lifestyle and I felt that the staff where friendly and always ready to help. Great breakfast and the daily activities where great and free or low cost. Rooms clean and the common room big

Disliked: Being on a main street is can be noisy at night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! Should you have any trouble sleeping, just come and collect some free earplugs from reception. We hope to see you again in the future!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I LOVED the community aspect. My bf and I stayed in a private room but then spent our meals in the communal area and made so many friends. We loved the themed nights and went on the bar crawl and made so many friends. I love how clean and organized this place is. Parking is great too!

Disliked: That it may be closing! The shower water was a tad cold.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the wonderful review! The showers can sometimes take a few minutes to heat up if someone else has showered just before you. We hope you come and stay again soon!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Warm and cosy, comfortable and friendly. Good location.

Disliked: No handtowels in the bathrooms you had to use toiletpaper to dry your hands or take your towel with you. It said there was fee breakfast but that was just a bagel and hot drinks. They make uo for this with friendly helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review, we’re glad you were comfortable and cosy during your stay with us, and got along well with the staff. We’re happy to be able to offer free breakfast and do have other items like pastries and yoghurts available for purchase. We have experimented with having hand towels and towelling rails in the bathrooms – but have found the current arrangement the most successful.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: cozy & friendly atmosphere!!great location, too!

Disliked: the only bad thing is the washrooms are not enough. :(

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay – we do have over 30 washrooms located on various floors throughout the hostel – just ask a member of staff if you can’t find one!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly Staff. Location is very central. Had lockers in each room and even on the floor, which was nice.My flight got cancelled and I went back to the hostel and could even stay in the same room for one more night.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been cleaner and it din't have a lot of them

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We have over 30 washrooms located throughout the hostel so just ask a staff member where the nearest one can be found!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location and good layout meant that it was generally quiet and never had to queue for shower / WC

Disliked: Hostelbookers quoted a price for my stay but this was not honoured by the hostel - cost me 30% more than I was quoted on hostelbookers - a not insignificant sum!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday

Liked: It's location was very suitable for my interests.

Disliked: Too much drinking, and pretty much most hostel activities involve alcohol some way or another.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review we are glad that you liked the location. Sorry that you did not like our hostel activities. We have plenty of other activities that do not involve drinking at all! Including our trips to the AGO, movie nights, quiz night, bowling and free food nights.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's a complete and nice place to come home to after a day of acting like a tourist.

Disliked: We could hear the neighbouring rooms too well.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! In terms of noise we do have free earplugs at reception if you ever need them!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: everything. intantly felt at home and welcome.location is awsome and an easy walk from bus terminal

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for the great review! Our motto is “feels like home” and we are glad you think the same!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: price

Disliked: noisy doors

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the feedback!

Check Availability