HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

89.0% Overall Rating

647 out of 691 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

Darren Flanagan thinks…

"The bed was comfortable, staff extremely helpful and common areas welcoming. The pancake breakfast was also excellent."

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
23.11 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
27.73 USD

Hostel 57.4% 305 reviews
University Apartment
13.86 USD

Hostel 48.5% 127 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
32.35 USD

Hostel 48.7% 492 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.75 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
43.44 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.65 USD

Hostel 91.7% 177 reviews
kaisar Guest House
50.83 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

647 out of 691 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 478 of 539 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Incredibly good atmosphere set by long-term, short-term backpackers and the staff. One big happy family, eh?

Disliked: Too many people around all day every day. Anyone can walk in off the street. and your food is not secure in the kitchen area.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Tepid water, not enough showers/bathrooms, not that clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Unfortunately there are no where near enough bathrooms to go around. The first room I stayed in had an ensuite between eight girls. The second was in a different building where there were three showers for at least five dorm rooms. To make matters, on my last day, one of them was being cleaned during the morning I.e. shower time meaning that the were two showers for close to thirty people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Aule

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good, value for money, good location and very comfy

Disliked: Free pancakes, coffee tea, hot chocolate, coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, arranged

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: need small bed lights so big lights need not be turned on when people come in late at night.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

haiyan chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 haiyan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bed not so comfortable。

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

NANA TAKEI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 NANA would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a dormitory which has 6beds. The room was quite clean, safe and large enough to organize my stuff opening a suitcase. While I was waiting my laundry is done, I was in a movie room. It's a kind of handmade small space, and comfy. I felt that the kitchen is large enough, and in laundry, there are each two washing machines and dryers, lots of people can be stayed though. Big hostel.

Disliked: I felt a bit pressure to use a bathroom, because in my building, (there are some buildings next main building) only two bathrooms, on each floor which one is toilet only, another is toilet and shower. I don't know exactly how many rooms and beds in each floor, but really a lot of people stayed. I think one room (6ppl) should have each bathroom at least.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great combination of long-term hostellers and short-term spirit; fun and free activities on offer every night; great movie room.

Disliked: A little pricey for a very small private room.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katie Fenerty

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and the rooms/bathrooms were very clean compared to other places I've stayed. We were lucky enough to be offered a free room upgrade upon arrival, and the inn was well equipped with playing cards, lockers and other things that come in handy while travelling/socializing. They let me keep my bags there while out and about on the day of checkout, and the location was amazing! We were all over downtown and never too far walk back even at night when it was minus 20. I would definitely reccommend this hostel for young travellers looking for a cheap place to stay where they can meet some funky people!

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, most of the staff is nice

Disliked: you don't get the pancakes every day, can be noisy

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lingzi Kong

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping

11 February 2013 Lingzi would recommend this property

Liked: this location is amazing. it is near the downrtown and cbc area as well as Chinese town. In addition, there are some bars and nice restaurants nearby.

Disliked: Lingzi left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: had to change rooms so that another couple could have ours despite booking for 3 consecutive nights. Depending on the room, can be a little loud. Free pancakes gone early on.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: smiling faces of the front desk

Disliked: Had to deposit for bedsheet and towel expensive parking no safety deposits

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zerit Sebhatleab

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Zerit would recommend this property

Liked: I LIKE that ,the Location is very convenient to almost Every thing you want to find in a walking distance. It is worth of staying for the price .

Disliked: THE breakfast in the morning should have been available ATLEAST untill 10:00am, Breakfast unlike other hostels like HI International is first come first served basis which I did not like .,I woke up around 9:0am thinking to get my breakfast , there was no breakfast , due to first come first served system of the hostel , every thing was gone. Besides there is only pan cakes for breakfast ,No other kinds of breakfast is served , Same breakfast 7/days a week is boring ,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yingru Jiang

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Yingru would recommend this property

Liked: i'm a international student in Montreal and just travel around in holidays. i really love the atmosphere in here, the staffs are so nice and the dinning room is very lovely, free hot milk tea offered all the time, bath room is nice. it really feels at home, i'll book this hostel when i travel in Canada in the summer. Recommend!

Disliked: the only thing i think might be improved is that the bed is not that comfortable and it is a little cold in the other side of the 10 people room (near the back door).

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the way the hostel is constructed and the homely atmosphere it thereby conveys

Disliked: the shower wasn't very warm

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sihui Liu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Sihui would recommend this property

Liked: This inn is near cn tower and it's not far even walk to many places near downtown Toronto! It's clean and totally worth the price. Love this place:)

Disliked: Nothing actually.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Canadiana is centrally located which makes it easy to explore Toronto on foot. The hostel has a number of cooking and common areas available for travellers.

Disliked: Rooms are small and not as clean as they should be. Showers are co-located with toilets and are often full or flooded when trying to use them.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012

Liked: Lots of helpful information available and there didn't seem to be people staying long-term (i.e. living there).

Disliked: - Was not shown around hostel when checking in - Hostel was noisy during the night - Breakfast pancakes were only available on whilst stocks lasted each morning - Hostel was located on quite a dark/lonely street - Kitchen was very small - Hostel is totally overpriced for what you get

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great.

Disliked: Sometimes pretty noisy.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Gajewski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Wi-fi works in rooms as well as in a common room. Very nice breakfast (pancakes with syrup). Very nice cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: A bit too crowdy and loud. If You want to rest there, maybe its not the best place. But for partying its great! :)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the location and the helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: i didn't dislike anything

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like that they only accept people who live out of town.

Disliked: i dislike the 10;30 check out time.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and clean. Location.

Disliked: Don't know what hostels cost but could have been cheaper perhaps.

The property's response is...


See all Toronto hostels