We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

90.2% Overall Rating

672 out of 718 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2015)

"The people were great (staff and guests alike). All the amenities were just as described and the staff went out of their way to help me. Definitely would stay there again!"

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
20.58 USD

Hostel 89.1% 64 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
12.35 USD

Hostel 60.3% 309 reviews
University Apartment
12.35 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
14.81 USD

Hostel 50.4% 495 reviews
Grange Hotel
44.86 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
37.04 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
25.51 USD

Hostel 94.5% 213 reviews
kaisar Guest House
45.27 USD

Guesthouse 78.4% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

672 out of 718 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 496 of 565 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a big common space for travellers where you can sit and relax. They have breakfast, sometimes pancakes. They offer free coffee and tea. The dorms have big lockers, and have a lot of space.

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful. I think the hostel is really big, and because of that it's hard to meet people, because it is a little bit commercialized. I think there isn't enough time to help all the travellers. They did not advice me well about the expressbus to the airport. She said it took me 50 minutes, but it took me almost two hours. Also it is that big so that they have their rooms in several buildings. In my building there was only one shower on the same floor. I don't think that's enough.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly & helpful staff.

Disliked: Age of building, dodgy hot water

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything downtown,subway 5 minute walk good downtown address

Disliked: Room was really cold and for the price could havebeen muc better... Almost $100 pr night should atleast have a tv...

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of bathrooms Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The lack of community feel - everyone was way too focused on their gadgets. Looks a little bit tired in places

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ruth valentine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and genuinly wanted to help :0)

Disliked: The mattresses n bunk beds were very noisy

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Romain Lacaze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Romain would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place ! The staff was the friendliest staff i've ever met ! We arrived at 7 a.m. by bus and they offered us breakfast and shower even though we haven't checked in yet ! And the last day, they accepted the fact that we can have a shower in the late afternoon just before getting our bus. Nice place to stay, great patio, the pancake free breakfast nice !

Disliked: The wifi may be more efficient but it's the only bad thing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anthony Christie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location close to Spadina and Queen St plus close proximity to the subway. Friendly staff and a good vibe between everyone staying there. Met heaps of great people plus the back patio section was good to have a drink and a chat.

Disliked: Limited bathrooms and showers which were located on the floor upstairs. Very basic breakfast which could be improved. Very poor and temperamental WIFI which worked average at the best of times. Old air-conditioning system which meant our room at night was hot and you would wake up sweaty every morning. I was bitten by bed bugs on numerous nights which is one of the worst things when travelling as the red marks linger for weeks.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the free breakfast, sometimes free burgers for dinner, and the louge was really cool for chillin out. the staff was nice too. the bathroom was well kept and clean

Disliked: i was assigned to a 4-bed dorm which was really cramped up. the 6-bed dorm was more spacious. the staircase was a little bit narrow, but i gues still fine..

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Maye

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a great location and the staff are friendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: There really isn't much bad to say about the hostel at all!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ahmad makhdoum

Alone

Partying / nightlife

09 July 2013 ahmad would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the friendness of the staff, like everybody like a family, it is a good hostel for the touth people who would like to chill out and party in the weekend. it is very safe , the internet connection is so good.. 24 hour open front desk. too many washrooms, help is always found.. the place is clean. free coffee and tea in the motning... a vending machine is also available with all drinks for 1 canadian dollars"cheapest in town!" the travellers are almost all youth abd so friendly and they party with each other.

Disliked: the air condition is not working at night.. so in the summer goes very hot.. this is the inly dislike.. they should figure out an answer for the AC

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Bristol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. It was also a decent place for meeting other travellers.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Low price, excellent location near Rogers Centre and waterfront, great staff, multiple resources available (laundry, breakfast, lockers, etc.)

Disliked: My only suggestion (not complaint) would be that there were not a lot of on-site entertainment options, such as karaoke, game nights, etc. It would also be nice for them to work out some kind of discount deal with a local bar or two.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sabrina Miethke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: It is very big.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice roofpatio, very friendly staff - really helpful and cooperate. All in all, a nice hostel !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location/ price/ friendliness of the staff

Disliked: too much crowd =) but it is logical, as they are popular =)

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendliness. facilities

Disliked: The keys don't work very well

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location!

Disliked: Nothing bad... but nothing so exceptional...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Oliver Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Incredibly good atmosphere set by long-term, short-term backpackers and the staff. One big happy family, eh?

Disliked: Too many people around all day every day. Anyone can walk in off the street. and your food is not secure in the kitchen area.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Tepid water, not enough showers/bathrooms, not that clean.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Unfortunately there are no where near enough bathrooms to go around. The first room I stayed in had an ensuite between eight girls. The second was in a different building where there were three showers for at least five dorm rooms. To make matters, on my last day, one of them was being cleaned during the morning I.e. shower time meaning that the were two showers for close to thirty people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Aule

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was good, value for money, good location and very comfy

Disliked: Free pancakes, coffee tea, hot chocolate, coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, arranged

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: need small bed lights so big lights need not be turned on when people come in late at night.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

haiyan chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 haiyan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bed not so comfortable。


See all Toronto hostels