We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

89.3% Overall Rating

665 out of 710 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/10/2014)

Dirk van Erve thinks…

"It's a complete and nice place to come home to after a day of acting like a tourist."

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
22.38 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
35.80 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
27.75 USD

Hostel 93.5% 200 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

665 out of 710 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 489 of 557 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you get a clean bed n friendly staff. The place is really good and it s not expensive for toronto.

Disliked: sometimes a little bit noisy (ussually normal in shared rooms) but you can get some earplugs.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location; friendly atmosphere; free high-speed wifi, daily breakfast, tea/coffee; individual showers

Disliked: Guests are predominantly young students, which isn't a bad thing (being one myself), but they are often rowdy in the late hours of the night, even though it is specifically requested that the noise level be minimised past 11pm

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Chin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2013 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, staff was extremely helpful and friendly and knew exactly what customers needed to have the best stay possible.

Disliked: A little noisy but really that can't be helped.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast and the fact that everybody is just sitting together in the 'living room', which makes it so easy to meet people and to make fun.

Disliked: The showers were not really warm

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near downtown TO. Has a kitchen. Free internet.

Disliked: Shared a room when someone who arrived at 3 AM, then, once in bed, fell asleep and started snoring loudly. Before I arrived, was given conflicting info about availability of nearby parking.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively clean and functional hostel. It has a excellent location in downtown Toronto. The property didn't strike me as a large party hostel but rather a hostel with convenient access to all of downtown`s attractions. Would recommend to anyone after a conveniently located and cheap place to stay in Toronto.

Disliked: Showers were average. Though more of a minor compliant. Sufficient hot water just an average system.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and staff were polite.

Disliked: The dorm smelt like a sweaty locker room and a French couple was loudly having sex across the room from me.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homelike atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just as I remembered from a previous stay, everyone was nice and friendly. Staff could answer all of my questions and had great suggestions. Free BBQ was awesome!

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

CHEN CHI YANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013

Liked: can meet lots of people

Disliked: too noisy and the room is not that clean

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin coultas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 martin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so nice n helpful especially the hostel manager Nicole she was very helpful and always easy to talk to. I think she is the best thing about this hostel she the funniest and really good looking which always helps.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, near everything you would like to see. Nice room, was cleaned every day. Well equipped kitchen and free breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacinta Garry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 October 2013 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: I went through a particularly rough time while staying at this hostel and Helen was very compassionate and sympathetic towards my situation. Management, not so much but they're trying to run a business at the end of the day. Great location, everyone was super friendly and they had lots of activities going on each day. I would definitely stay here again - one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: The only thing I can really nit-pick about is that they don't have hand/paper towels in the washrooms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roderick Dougal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Roderick would recommend this property

Liked: Bigger than my usual hostel....But still homely and welcoming. They tried really hard to make the stay happy.. They suceeded. Facilities were all there. Cinema was amazing. Plenty of inside and outside space for all to use. I could not fault them.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is as described. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. The location is easy to find and they always have activities on at night (which I was always too tired to take part in unfortunately). The lockers were also a good extra and they dealt with any problems quickly (not talking about myself, I witnessed someone else). Overall a really good stay. And the pancakes on my second day were amazing.

Disliked: Only a minor greedy point : I'd have loved pancakes everyday! But there was always toast and free coffee and that'll do me!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Liam Hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Bunks

Disliked: Toilet and showers are in the basement

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main area. Lots to do of an evening arranged by the hostel

Disliked: Dust under the beds

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a big common space for travellers where you can sit and relax. They have breakfast, sometimes pancakes. They offer free coffee and tea. The dorms have big lockers, and have a lot of space.

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful. I think the hostel is really big, and because of that it's hard to meet people, because it is a little bit commercialized. I think there isn't enough time to help all the travellers. They did not advice me well about the expressbus to the airport. She said it took me 50 minutes, but it took me almost two hours. Also it is that big so that they have their rooms in several buildings. In my building there was only one shower on the same floor. I don't think that's enough.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly & helpful staff.

Disliked: Age of building, dodgy hot water

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything downtown,subway 5 minute walk good downtown address

Disliked: Room was really cold and for the price could havebeen muc better... Almost $100 pr night should atleast have a tv...

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of bathrooms Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The lack of community feel - everyone was way too focused on their gadgets. Looks a little bit tired in places

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ruth valentine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and genuinly wanted to help :0)

Disliked: The mattresses n bunk beds were very noisy

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Romain Lacaze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Romain would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place ! The staff was the friendliest staff i've ever met ! We arrived at 7 a.m. by bus and they offered us breakfast and shower even though we haven't checked in yet ! And the last day, they accepted the fact that we can have a shower in the late afternoon just before getting our bus. Nice place to stay, great patio, the pancake free breakfast nice !

Disliked: The wifi may be more efficient but it's the only bad thing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anthony Christie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location close to Spadina and Queen St plus close proximity to the subway. Friendly staff and a good vibe between everyone staying there. Met heaps of great people plus the back patio section was good to have a drink and a chat.

Disliked: Limited bathrooms and showers which were located on the floor upstairs. Very basic breakfast which could be improved. Very poor and temperamental WIFI which worked average at the best of times. Old air-conditioning system which meant our room at night was hot and you would wake up sweaty every morning. I was bitten by bed bugs on numerous nights which is one of the worst things when travelling as the red marks linger for weeks.

The property's response is...


See all Toronto hostels