HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn Toronto

Hostel

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 82%

Location 93%

Safety 87%

Staff 92%

Value 80%

Showing 11-20 of 97 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Overall was good

Disliked: Room 6 has a glowing red 'exit' sign which was right above my bed. Quite annoying - not sure if that is in all rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! We have since looked into this and the sign no longer glows all the time!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, bathsrooms, safety, location.

Disliked: Price

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review – we’re glad you enjoyed your stay!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: .

Disliked: .


The property's response is

Thanks for your review!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Good facilities and common area. Central location.

Disliked: A bit noisy with slamming doors and nearby building works.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review! We have free earplugs available at reception, if you have any trouble sleeping at night.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The secret balcony attached to a room 5611 was a most pleasant surprise! Loved the day long free tea and limited hours of free coffee, quite the bonus.

Disliked: Unfortunately this room adjoined the bathroom so there was some bathroom traffic noise, minor really, in the big picture

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the fantastic feedback! We do have a couple of rooms with secret balconies – perfect for this time of year! If you should have any trouble with noise, we do keep free earplugs at reception.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location in the very center of Toronto !!!Free tea and coffee all the dayGood possibility of luggage storage.

Disliked: Breakfast could be better.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent value for money!

Disliked: The property is a bit old an needs some renovation.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We’re very proud of our Victorian buildings and work hard to keep them of a high standard.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Amazing location downtown ! Only a few minutes away from the CN Tower, Rogers Center, Chinatown, cinema and many restaurants. The hostel is clean : i've seen a lot of housekeepers cleaning the common areas and the bathrooms multiple times a day. There are a lot or activities, making it easier to meet people. Plus, the hostel is well organised (they have food baskets and lockers for everyone)

Disliked: The Wifi connexion was very good in the reception bulding, but it wasn't good in my room (#48 building).I found it very difficult to sleep sometimes, because some people were too noisy and were yelling even when it was over midnight.There was only one washing machine that I could use during my stay. I had to wait over 1 hour in front of the machine to wash my clothes and reserve my spot, which isn't great. Great staff, great people and great price.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback! It’s always good to hear about people’s experiences with us. We are in the process of upgrading our wifi so it should be perfect in all the buildings when you next come to stay with us! We keep free ear plugs at reception should you have any trouble sleeping. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff , great atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the wonderful review – we hope to see you in the future!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The people were great (staff and guests alike). All the amenities were just as described and the staff went out of their way to help me. Definitely would stay there again!

Disliked: ...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your fantastic feedback! We hope to see you again in the future!

Check Availability