HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Canadiana Backpackers Inn

Hostel | 42 Widmer Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada ON M5V 2E9

91.0% Overall Rating

657 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"The communal areas were really homely , the breakfast was good and the staff were super friendly!"

Read all Canadiana Backpackers Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tax rate is 13% , payable upon arrival will be added to your booking. We accept cash, visa or mastercard. Government issued photo ID is required to check-in and guests must be from outside the GTA (Greater Toronto Area).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

The Clarence Park
22.93 USD

Hostel 89.1% 63 reviews
Chinatown Travelers Home
32.10 USD

Hostel 56.8% 307 reviews
University Apartment
27.51 USD

Hostel 46.4% 131 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.85 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
45.40 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
45.85 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Planet Traveler
28.43 USD

Hostel 92.2% 187 reviews
kaisar Guest House
50.44 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

657 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Canadiana Backpackers Inn'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 482 of 548 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and staff were polite.

Disliked: The dorm smelt like a sweaty locker room and a French couple was loudly having sex across the room from me.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homelike atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just as I remembered from a previous stay, everyone was nice and friendly. Staff could answer all of my questions and had great suggestions. Free BBQ was awesome!

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

CHEN CHI YANG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013

Liked: can meet lots of people

Disliked: too noisy and the room is not that clean

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin coultas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 martin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so nice n helpful especially the hostel manager Nicole she was very helpful and always easy to talk to. I think she is the best thing about this hostel she the funniest and really good looking which always helps.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, near everything you would like to see. Nice room, was cleaned every day. Well equipped kitchen and free breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacinta Garry

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 October 2013 Jacinta would recommend this property

Liked: I went through a particularly rough time while staying at this hostel and Helen was very compassionate and sympathetic towards my situation. Management, not so much but they're trying to run a business at the end of the day. Great location, everyone was super friendly and they had lots of activities going on each day. I would definitely stay here again - one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

Disliked: The only thing I can really nit-pick about is that they don't have hand/paper towels in the washrooms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roderick Dougal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2013 Roderick would recommend this property

Liked: Bigger than my usual hostel....But still homely and welcoming. They tried really hard to make the stay happy.. They suceeded. Facilities were all there. Cinema was amazing. Plenty of inside and outside space for all to use. I could not fault them.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is as described. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. The location is easy to find and they always have activities on at night (which I was always too tired to take part in unfortunately). The lockers were also a good extra and they dealt with any problems quickly (not talking about myself, I witnessed someone else). Overall a really good stay. And the pancakes on my second day were amazing.

Disliked: Only a minor greedy point : I'd have loved pancakes everyday! But there was always toast and free coffee and that'll do me!

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Liam Hall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Bunks

Disliked: Toilet and showers are in the basement

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main area. Lots to do of an evening arranged by the hostel

Disliked: Dust under the beds

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a big common space for travellers where you can sit and relax. They have breakfast, sometimes pancakes. They offer free coffee and tea. The dorms have big lockers, and have a lot of space.

Disliked: The staff wasn't very helpful. I think the hostel is really big, and because of that it's hard to meet people, because it is a little bit commercialized. I think there isn't enough time to help all the travellers. They did not advice me well about the expressbus to the airport. She said it took me 50 minutes, but it took me almost two hours. Also it is that big so that they have their rooms in several buildings. In my building there was only one shower on the same floor. I don't think that's enough.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly & helpful staff.

Disliked: Age of building, dodgy hot water

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything downtown,subway 5 minute walk good downtown address

Disliked: Room was really cold and for the price could havebeen muc better... Almost $100 pr night should atleast have a tv...

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of bathrooms Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The lack of community feel - everyone was way too focused on their gadgets. Looks a little bit tired in places

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ruth valentine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and genuinly wanted to help :0)

Disliked: The mattresses n bunk beds were very noisy

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Romain Lacaze

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Romain would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place ! The staff was the friendliest staff i've ever met ! We arrived at 7 a.m. by bus and they offered us breakfast and shower even though we haven't checked in yet ! And the last day, they accepted the fact that we can have a shower in the late afternoon just before getting our bus. Nice place to stay, great patio, the pancake free breakfast nice !

Disliked: The wifi may be more efficient but it's the only bad thing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anthony Christie

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location close to Spadina and Queen St plus close proximity to the subway. Friendly staff and a good vibe between everyone staying there. Met heaps of great people plus the back patio section was good to have a drink and a chat.

Disliked: Limited bathrooms and showers which were located on the floor upstairs. Very basic breakfast which could be improved. Very poor and temperamental WIFI which worked average at the best of times. Old air-conditioning system which meant our room at night was hot and you would wake up sweaty every morning. I was bitten by bed bugs on numerous nights which is one of the worst things when travelling as the red marks linger for weeks.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the free breakfast, sometimes free burgers for dinner, and the louge was really cool for chillin out. the staff was nice too. the bathroom was well kept and clean

Disliked: i was assigned to a 4-bed dorm which was really cramped up. the 6-bed dorm was more spacious. the staircase was a little bit narrow, but i gues still fine..

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Maye

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a great location and the staff are friendly and very helpful. I really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: There really isn't much bad to say about the hostel at all!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ahmad makhdoum

Alone

Partying / nightlife

09 July 2013 ahmad would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the friendness of the staff, like everybody like a family, it is a good hostel for the touth people who would like to chill out and party in the weekend. it is very safe , the internet connection is so good.. 24 hour open front desk. too many washrooms, help is always found.. the place is clean. free coffee and tea in the motning... a vending machine is also available with all drinks for 1 canadian dollars"cheapest in town!" the travellers are almost all youth abd so friendly and they party with each other.

Disliked: the air condition is not working at night.. so in the summer goes very hot.. this is the inly dislike.. they should figure out an answer for the AC

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Bristol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. It was also a decent place for meeting other travellers.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Low price, excellent location near Rogers Centre and waterfront, great staff, multiple resources available (laundry, breakfast, lockers, etc.)

Disliked: My only suggestion (not complaint) would be that there were not a lot of on-site entertainment options, such as karaoke, game nights, etc. It would also be nice for them to work out some kind of discount deal with a local bar or two.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sabrina Miethke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and friendly staff

Disliked: It is very big.

The property's response is...


See all Toronto hostels