HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

88.3% Overall Rating

429 out of 478 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

emily atkin thinks…

"It is very clean and the facilities are good. The bedding and towel are a great touch"

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
45.94 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
22.97 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 55.7% 4 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
91.89 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
32.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
64.33 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
48.24 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
36.30 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
24.81 USD

Hostel 90.5% 700 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

429 out of 478 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 335 of 405 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, clean, nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, pleasant staff, loved the free yoga on Tuesday night, good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucca Silva Dutra

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

27 August 2014 Lucca would recommend this property

Liked: excellent breakfast. good location. bathrooms inside each room.

Disliked: Lucca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Dertzbocher Feil Pinho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities, staff, location, breakfast everthing ware great.

Disliked: The Wifi.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Edward McClelland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Cavern rock band in basement. Helpful employees.

Disliked: Only one coffee in morning.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: facilities were good, laundry, common space, patio and close to train station

Disliked: I got bitten by bed bugs. The staff during breakfast were rude and unhelpful. My breakfast was half an hour late and I was blamed for not listening when they called my name, but I was waiting patiently the whole time. not a problem to be late but I was made to feel bad about asking.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

emily atkin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 August 2014 emily would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and the facilities are good. The bedding and towel are a great touch

Disliked: There was often a very long wait to see someone at reception

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zaneta Takacova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Zaneta would recommend this property

Liked: The cooked breakfast ;)

Disliked: Absolutely terrible wi-fi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 michael would recommend this property

Liked: good staff and events

Disliked: not alot was good allround

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yimei Bing

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Yimei would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom is very clean and it has a good location

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, safe and large locker room

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, staff were fantastic. Even the visitors were friendly

Disliked: I can't think of anything I didn't like about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JONATHAN SCANLAN

Alone

City break

15 July 2014 JONATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, nice atmosphere and the Cavern was really cool! Thanks to all the staff for making my stay so pleasant (Rachel, Yu, Laura, Bruna and everyone else I met!) The activities were also great- $55 as HI member for day tour to NF! I hope to visit again soon. Thank you so much!! :)

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location in the heart of Toronto, lovely neighbourhood. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: WiFi wasn't great, was rarely able to hold signal in my room on the 4th floor. Showers quite old could do with replacing (although the water was always hot). Didn't like the fact that the kitchen closed at 9pm. Wooden benches in the kitchen/dining area not comfortable and the tv was very basic with not much to offer. I think because of the poor WiFi the common area with the sofas was always very busy and you were lucky if you found a plug socket with somewhere to sit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offer so many activities for you to do! The downstairs bar is great. The staff is friendly, beer is a bit pricey though. Everything was wonderful my stay was enjoyable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jessica nichol

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Cavern! I stay with HI for Toronto Pride ever year and love the friendly environment. The rooftop patio has a beautiful view and the staff is always great!

Disliked: It could use a good cleaning

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free meal vouchers for the pub downstairs

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room so your gear wasn't very secure. There was no information or suggestions on what to do around town. It also cost me close to 30% more than the amount I thought I had to pay from my hostel bookers confirmation!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Braier

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2014 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: all was perfekt, sorry from german I have long way to comeback.... staff was verry frendly... The Town Toronto and all his peaples was perfekt for event Worldpride 2014 Many greetings for staff and another guests...Norbert Braier, Nienburg, Germany

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Lockers in room; luggage room for when you have already checked out. - Very secure, magnetic cards to enter the door just passed the reception, and also to take the elevator and enter your room. - Clean. - Employees helpful. - Non smoking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Positive welcoming atmosphere. Great patio.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Chessum

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: A nice, clean hostel that is within walking distance to the sights of Toronto. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm with an ensuite, which was spacious & clean, but slightly dated. Staff were friendly & helpful. Swipe cards were needed to get past reception & into each room, so the hostel felt safe & secure. Each guest also gets a voucher to use in The Cavern for a free meal (breakfast, lunch or dinner) for every night they stay at the hostel, which is a great touch, but when I tried to get my free breakfast, I was told there was an hour wait for food even though they had only been open for 30 minutes, so I didn't use my vouchers in the end! Overall, good value & a good base in Toronto for sightseeing.

Disliked: The communal areas were pleasant enough, but not quite as big or spacious as other HI hostels that I have stayed in. My main negative is that there seems to be some form of entertainment/live music in the hostel bar every night of the week, which is probably fine for most people, but the music could be really loud - I could hear it well past midnight even on the third floor one night, so it disrupted my sleep a bit.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The underground food and drinks place is great. They serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, open almost 24/7, food is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yan Jiang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Yan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent and clean! Culture atmosphere, I strongly recommend it to the world .

Disliked: No hot pot in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels