HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

90.6% Overall Rating

438 out of 487 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

Kirsty Fyfe thinks…

"The breakfasts in the morning were phenomenal and the staff were lovely. The beds were comfortable and the lighting in the rooms was excellent."

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
40.27 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
22.38 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 50.3% 5 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
89.51 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
62.66 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
46.99 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
35.36 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
22.38 USD

Hostel 88.1% 711 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

438 out of 487 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 341 of 412 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsty Fyfe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 October 2014 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfasts in the morning were phenomenal and the staff were lovely. The beds were comfortable and the lighting in the rooms was excellent.

Disliked: The music was played a bit too loud, it was hard to hear other people down in The Cavern, as well as in the lounge area on the first floor. I also was concerned there were no mats for when stepping out the shower, seemed a bit of a health risk to be honest.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the lounge space in the basement.

Disliked: The tiny bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hayley Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the property's location as it is within walking distance to Toronto's main, and best, attractions. The four-bed dorm was cosy but I liked the ability to have our own ensuite. The breakfast was great in the morning and all front desk staff I spoke to were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: There wasn't much of a social atmosphere here - every time I walked past the common area everyone had their heads in their computers and there was no interaction. I also thought the price was a little steep for a hostel, but I guess Toronto is a big city so that's what you get!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Josic

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 September 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean, friendly, love the lounge and would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: There was nothing we disliked about the property...our stay was excellent!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly positioned for exploring downtown Toronto, good facilities, friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast included, and just generally well run.

Disliked: Bathroom (in a 4 bed dorm) was a bit outdated, although was perfectly adequate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niamh Daly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 September 2014 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hostel, very well serviced in terms of bathrooms etc, breakfast was also great, lots of activities to do

Disliked: Room was a bit cramped, probably wouldn't have been a problem except I had a large suitcase!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, clean, nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, pleasant staff, loved the free yoga on Tuesday night, good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucca Silva Dutra

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

27 August 2014 Lucca would recommend this property

Liked: excellent breakfast. good location. bathrooms inside each room.

Disliked: Lucca left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guilherme Dertzbocher Feil Pinho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities, staff, location, breakfast everthing ware great.

Disliked: The Wifi.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Edward McClelland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Cavern rock band in basement. Helpful employees.

Disliked: Only one coffee in morning.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: facilities were good, laundry, common space, patio and close to train station

Disliked: I got bitten by bed bugs. The staff during breakfast were rude and unhelpful. My breakfast was half an hour late and I was blamed for not listening when they called my name, but I was waiting patiently the whole time. not a problem to be late but I was made to feel bad about asking.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

emily atkin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 August 2014 emily would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and the facilities are good. The bedding and towel are a great touch

Disliked: There was often a very long wait to see someone at reception

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zaneta Takacova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Zaneta would recommend this property

Liked: The cooked breakfast ;)

Disliked: Absolutely terrible wi-fi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 michael would recommend this property

Liked: good staff and events

Disliked: not alot was good allround

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yimei Bing

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Yimei would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom is very clean and it has a good location

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, safe and large locker room

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, staff were fantastic. Even the visitors were friendly

Disliked: I can't think of anything I didn't like about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JONATHAN SCANLAN

Alone

City break

15 July 2014 JONATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, nice atmosphere and the Cavern was really cool! Thanks to all the staff for making my stay so pleasant (Rachel, Yu, Laura, Bruna and everyone else I met!) The activities were also great- $55 as HI member for day tour to NF! I hope to visit again soon. Thank you so much!! :)

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location in the heart of Toronto, lovely neighbourhood. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: WiFi wasn't great, was rarely able to hold signal in my room on the 4th floor. Showers quite old could do with replacing (although the water was always hot). Didn't like the fact that the kitchen closed at 9pm. Wooden benches in the kitchen/dining area not comfortable and the tv was very basic with not much to offer. I think because of the poor WiFi the common area with the sofas was always very busy and you were lucky if you found a plug socket with somewhere to sit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offer so many activities for you to do! The downstairs bar is great. The staff is friendly, beer is a bit pricey though. Everything was wonderful my stay was enjoyable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jessica nichol

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Cavern! I stay with HI for Toronto Pride ever year and love the friendly environment. The rooftop patio has a beautiful view and the staff is always great!

Disliked: It could use a good cleaning

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free meal vouchers for the pub downstairs

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room so your gear wasn't very secure. There was no information or suggestions on what to do around town. It also cost me close to 30% more than the amount I thought I had to pay from my hostel bookers confirmation!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Braier

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2014 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: all was perfekt, sorry from german I have long way to comeback.... staff was verry frendly... The Town Toronto and all his peaples was perfekt for event Worldpride 2014 Many greetings for staff and another guests...Norbert Braier, Nienburg, Germany

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Lockers in room; luggage room for when you have already checked out. - Very secure, magnetic cards to enter the door just passed the reception, and also to take the elevator and enter your room. - Clean. - Employees helpful. - Non smoking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels