We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

89.3% Overall Rating

436 out of 485 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Hayley Simpson thinks…

"I liked the property's location as it is within walking distance to Toronto's main, and best, attractions. The four-bed dorm was cosy but I liked the ability to have our own ensuite. The breakfast…"

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
49.84 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
22.66 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 50.3% 5 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
90.63 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
63.44 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
47.58 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
35.80 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
19.94 USD

Hostel 89.4% 707 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

436 out of 485 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 339 of 410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fellow travellers. Free wi-fi!

Disliked: The kitchen staff were pretty grumpy in the morning kinda ruins the mood of the place. The cafe at the basement had sticky tables and crumbs on the floor. The hostel bathroom is cleaner than this cafe!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christopher Bentley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people, very helpful staff, lots of fun

Disliked: Internet access difficult in room

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Nicola Hopper

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 August 2010

Liked: Kitchen was a good size, quad rooms were reasonable.

Disliked: Moodiness of cook in the kitchen one morning when 10 orders came in - shocking quality of food compared to other mornings. 8 bed dorm which the size of room would have been better suited to 6 - no room for luggage at all. Had to switch rooms mid stay - not really helpful. Tax hit on arrival - price on the website should include everything - no mention on booking info huge extra cost. Breakfast not included with all rooms

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Danielle Pires

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the sights and facilities.

Disliked: I had problems with the room key (card).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in a hostel, and the internet access was relatively cheap.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit dirty and tended to get crowded in the mornings.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wei Huang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2010 Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, inexpensive, kind staff.

Disliked: dorm space too small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Shoup

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2010 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: IT WAS VERY NICE AND ENJOYED MY STAY

Disliked: THE TRANSIT SYSTEM NEEDS WORKING ON IN TORONTO; PAID FOR ALL DAY PASS AND HAD TO WALK 90% OF THE TIME...........THE SYSTEM DON'T RUN EVERYWHERE IN TORONTO WHICH IN THE CITY A TRAVELER SHOULD BE ABLE TO USE A SUBWAY, BUS, AND STREET CAR AT EVERY CORNER.............WALKED TOO MUCH TO HAVE AN ACCESS PASS FOR ALL THESE SERVICES AND MY FEET BEING THE TRANSIT SYSTEM............NOT A HAPPY CAMPER......NOT HI'S PROBLEM BUT SHOULD PASS IT ON TO MAKE THINGS BETTER FOR TOURIST................OVER ALL ENJOYED HI TORONTO!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chanchai Srisutam

Alone

Business / conference

02 August 2010 Chanchai would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good facilities.

Disliked: Some toilet is out of order.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

marquez bogle

Alone

31 July 2010 marquez would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that the staff was very helpful and that the location was very convenient to everything, from the harbor to yonge and dundas square, the mall. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Even though check out is at 11 they will let you hang around for a little while just in case your flight may be a little later. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: I didnt like the fact that since i wasnt a member I had to pay an extra 20$.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, friendly staff, clean

Disliked: Not many showers/bathrooms.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2010

Liked: I liked the rooftop.

Disliked: I didn't like the loud music all the time. It was too loud to talk or just to read. The burners in the kitchen were almost all broken and the toiltes didn't work properly. People in the 'lounge' hang around with their laptop, no one talked to each other.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniela plesnik

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010 daniela would recommend this property

Liked: The place, the space...

Disliked: Did not include breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2010

Liked: Location was pretty good and daily activities offered.

Disliked: Dorm rooms very cramped and dirty shower. Funny smell in the kitchen area.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's centrally located.

Disliked: The mattress needs to be changed! It's uncomfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trizzia Zuluaga

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

02 July 2010 Trizzia would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, they have a lot of activities for the guests & the kitchen is HUGE! Lots of areas to hang out, and the beds are so soft :)

Disliked: There's no windows in the bathrooms so it gets really stuffy :(

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Oliver Sisson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: good location, has lockers, good facilities

Disliked: they didn't tell me that they allocate beds, they moved all my stuff when I was sitting on the couch downstairs. didn't seem like a smart way of dealing with the issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vincent Chen

08 June 2010 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Just the best place in the toronto area!

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalie Lemay

08 June 2010 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere! I was part of the bar tour and I met funny people. Staff is also very friendly!

Disliked: Nathalie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Loved the pub crawl!The staff is very friendly and helpfull :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jazz Bhangal

04 June 2010 Jazz would recommend this property

Liked: STAY HERE! HI-Toronto has to be the best hostel in Canada! After a roughing it on a long greyhound bus journey all the way from San Francisco, I was really looking forward to friendly faces and a comfortable bed. This is what makes a good hostel; at 6am I was greeted with a happy smiley face and allowed to check-in as my bed was available at the time (let this be a lesson to those anal-hostels who make you wait till 4pm), I was even told to make myself comfortable once the kitchen area opens and help myself to coffee. During the past year this is the 3rd time I have stayed here, and it's great to see that they still have a high regard for customer service; the staff are always happy to help.... even if it's the millionth time someone has asked the same questions, they are professional in their manner, very accommodating, available 24/7, and if you have a late flight/bus... they even allow you to use the common facilities once you've checked out. The rooms, bathrooms, kitchen facilities and common areas are very well maintained and extremely clean. There are individual lockers in rooms (bring your own lock), air conditioning and very comfortable beds. There is a cafe in the basement, they serve excellent value for money breakfast or there's a well equipped kitchen for self caterers. HI-Toronto have a very useful info board in reception, and they update it daily so you don't miss out on what Toronto has to offer, they even organise events such as pub crawl and city walks! The most central hostel in Toronto; within walking distance of metro and Greyhound station. Stay here with confidence.

Disliked: Jazz left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Bryce Christie

25 May 2010

Liked: Free Internet, nothing else. Air Conditioner in room didn't work which made sleeping in 30 degree heat unbearable at times.

Disliked: Bryce left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked that you could get breakfast or dinner at the hostel cafe but also cook your own food in the guest kitchen. Very clean and well organized.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central & safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lindsay Walsh

17 May 2010 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly and accomodating, there was real sense of a community that you could choose to join in with or not and very welcoming staff....prices were good and the brekkie v v v tasty........they let me store my bags even though i wasn't staying that night and i could tour toronto and collect them later...brilliant location bang in the centre of all you need shops subway and everything walkable

Disliked: Lindsay left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels