HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Things to Note

Our daily rates reflect prices for members of Hostelling International. Non-members are more than welcome to stay - add an additional $5.00 per person per night in shared rooms at check in and $20.00 per private room, per night.

A 13% government tax is applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival. If you do not have a member card, no worries you may purchase one upon check-in. Room rates include towels and linens.

From May 1st 2016, breakfast will be $5.65 per person/ per meal.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 81-85 of 85 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I really like where it was located in Toronto.

Disliked: Things seem break down easily. ie. the elevator and our key cards stopped working at one point.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: a friendly staff

Disliked: the room was a little bit old but it was acceptable

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I was overcharged by $40 from the original quote.

Disliked: The confusion in charges between your website & the hostels actual charges.


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. One thing that is important to remember is that Hostelling International is a member based association, and as such, all prices are quoted for members of HI.Without the membership there is a $5 difference per night, per person in shared rooms.As you might have noticed in other establishments in the city, the province of Ontario has a 13% sales tax, which is always added to the total at the time of payment, that is why you might have seen a difference on the price.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had everything that you needed, helpful staff at reception advising on places to visit and how to get there. Also a bar and cafe downstairs, where the food was lovely and the staff really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent cheap food in the cavern. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff is very friendly and relaxed, all is in good conditions, clean and decoration is cool, I loved the bar "The Cavern" end the ambient music is super (a nice selection of music with a superb audio system).

Disliked: Bathrooms are clean and everytihing but they are really small. Is not a big issue I must say. Be prepared to a lot of night activity outside since this hostel is located downtown (ex. you hear the ambulances the hole night).

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: near to station

Disliked: too dirty and old


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback.Our building has some good years on it,but we know our challenges and we are working really hard to improve our facilities - take for example our renovation of our shared washrooms on the 4th floor and also the eating area. We got great reviews from folks who are enjoying our improvements.We apologize if it was not to your liking, but we promise to keep on working for better facilities, so come back to check it out, we wont disappoint.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I tried other hostels in Toronto... I always come back to the HI!

Disliked: ...?

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location with reasonable prices.

Disliked: Feels a bit cramped.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability