HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto

Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

1. Prices you see are Hostelling International member ones. If you don’t have a membership card, an additional fee of $5 per night, per person, will be charged upon arrival. 2. The mandatory provincial and federal taxes (13%) will be applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 81-90 of 94 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: a friendly staff

Disliked: the room was a little bit old but it was acceptable

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I was overcharged by $40 from the original quote.

Disliked: The confusion in charges between your website & the hostels actual charges.


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. One thing that is important to remember is that Hostelling International is a member based association, and as such, all prices are quoted for members of HI.Without the membership there is a $5 difference per night, per person in shared rooms.As you might have noticed in other establishments in the city, the province of Ontario has a 13% sales tax, which is always added to the total at the time of payment, that is why you might have seen a difference on the price.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It had everything that you needed, helpful staff at reception advising on places to visit and how to get there. Also a bar and cafe downstairs, where the food was lovely and the staff really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent cheap food in the cavern. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff is very friendly and relaxed, all is in good conditions, clean and decoration is cool, I loved the bar "The Cavern" end the ambient music is super (a nice selection of music with a superb audio system).

Disliked: Bathrooms are clean and everytihing but they are really small. Is not a big issue I must say. Be prepared to a lot of night activity outside since this hostel is located downtown (ex. you hear the ambulances the hole night).

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: near to station

Disliked: too dirty and old


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback.Our building has some good years on it,but we know our challenges and we are working really hard to improve our facilities - take for example our renovation of our shared washrooms on the 4th floor and also the eating area. We got great reviews from folks who are enjoying our improvements.We apologize if it was not to your liking, but we promise to keep on working for better facilities, so come back to check it out, we wont disappoint.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I tried other hostels in Toronto... I always come back to the HI!

Disliked: ...?

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location with reasonable prices.

Disliked: Feels a bit cramped.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff- got upgraded which was great. Very helpful with advice on getting around Toronto.

Disliked: Some building work going on on the 4th floor meant that the corridor was dirty and one set of bathrooms was closed

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there!
We are glad you enjoyed your free upgrade! :)
We are renovating our 4th floor bathroom, to make it bigger and better for all the guests, so we apologize for our appearance. We promise it is all in our guests' best interest. Come back soon to check out our new renovated areas.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Central and clean. Nice commual kitchen. Free dvd movies and free wifi.

Disliked: Prices are not accurate and it cost 10 dollars more per day than advertised. Also it was a VERY far walk from the bus stop at Union Station and with heavy suitcases this is torture!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback.HI is a member based company.As such, all the prices are for members.This information can be found well before making a booking, under the "About HI Toronto" section. This information is again presented on the booking page, before you insert your credit card details, under the "Policies and Important Information for this Property", to which the guest must acknowledge that they have read and understood the conditions of the booking. We wish you safe travels.

Check Availability