We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

90.6% Overall Rating

438 out of 487 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

Kirsty Fyfe thinks…

"The breakfasts in the morning were phenomenal and the staff were lovely. The beds were comfortable and the lighting in the rooms was excellent."

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
40.27 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
22.38 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 50.3% 5 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
89.51 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
62.66 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
46.99 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
35.36 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
22.38 USD

Hostel 88.1% 711 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

438 out of 487 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 341 of 412 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 August 2011

Liked: Located in the city center, and close to the Gare of Public Transportation. 24hrs 7days check in and out.

Disliked: The bubkers are very low, and it's hard for a person to sit up. The breakfast is not a buffee which usually is in Europe. The dining place is too narrow. No lock is offered for the locker.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, good location, good aircondition

Disliked: u have to be a member for pretty much all tours, so no chance for one time visitors to participate

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. And the Discovery package is really a good deal - it gives you a city tour, a ticket to the CN tower and the Niagara Falls daytrip (with a stop on Niagara on the lake and wine tasting) for 70 dollars.

Disliked: Our room was very small. Too small for 6 people. It was almost impossible to open a suitcase. And one bathroom for 6 people - well it goes, but seriously, there should be more shared bathrooms on each floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cafe on site that serves breakfast and dinner- food is great! rooms very secure and clean. Elevators to the upper floors- handy with heavy bags. Suggestions board in the lobby of free activities or tours to do for each day. Pool table. Location is handy to visit st lawrence market and close to cinema and shops, subway close to get downtown too

Disliked: wanted to stay longer but was booked out, so book in advance!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an extremely convenient location for me.

Disliked: The Cafe staff were very helpful and friendly, BUT service was very SLOW!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice looking place, only guests were allowed past reception making it more secure. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: No hostel organised events or outings to participate in other than a Pub Crawl. WiFi dropped out frequently.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Amy Walker

Alone

Events / festivals

19 July 2011

Liked: I liked that it was air conditioned.

Disliked: I liked how I was upgraded from a 10 person room to a 4 person room, but what I wasn't told is that I was put into a room with 4 other men. I originally selected a room with 10 women, then the room I was given, had 3 men walk in and disturb my sleep at 3:49 in the morning! I was not expecting to have MEN walk into a room that 1 single woman was already sleeping in. It made me very nervous, and made my stay that less pleasurable.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Doolan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Showers!

Disliked: Everyone was on laptops and no one spoke to each other.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good tours and nice helpful staff..

Disliked: Guests didn't seem to socialize much and the lockers provided were only big enough to fit a day pack in

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DUC HONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 DUC would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s in a good location ... Staff were friendly etc.

Disliked: ok overall ... no complaints.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great open deck, good for meeting fellow travelers. Staff organized events are fun. Staff really friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Brown

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

21 June 2011 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew was great. The place was very clean and friendly.

Disliked: I stayed during a bit of a heat wave and sleeping on the third floor was rather uncomfortable as there was no fan in the room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was cool. Everyone.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: staff didnt make it clear about asigned beds in dorms, so one day I just got back to my room to find out, my stuff from ym bed is missing, according to their bed list, I was suppossed to check-out, but I wasnt! So I went down to the reception and tried to complain and ask, where is my stuff and the girl was not nice at all, first thing she rudely told me, that I was suppossed to check-out and she had to remove my stuff..then we explained, that we had no idea about the bed system and we have stayed in other HI-Hostels and this was never a case.. other thing, if u want to print there, even just 2pgs, u have to buy one hour internet access on the computer for 3 dollars..most expensive priniting ever..not convenient at all!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The German guy (I think) was super helpful and friendly. The staff were really approachable and keen to help out.

Disliked: Internet kept dropping out.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room is clean and location is very good. Excellent!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kayla Anne Connolly-Chapman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Kayla Anne would recommend this property

Liked: TThe location was great, friendly staff and clean rooms! Highly reccommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abhishek Yadav

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

19 May 2011 Abhishek would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful experience to stay at HI toronto, it is good place to stay there in concern with safety and healthy environment.

Disliked: i think, there is nothing that make me to dislike.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

peter klaver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011

Liked: fgdfg

Disliked: adding taxes when you arrive at the hostel. they should mention this atleast on the confirmation if they ask extra, this way your stay becomes 13% more expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was absolutly clean, the room was in great condition

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly, the rooms and bathrooms were of a really good standard, and very clean!

Disliked: There wasnt very much going on within the hostel, so difficult to meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

laura hill

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 May 2011 laura would recommend this property

Liked: All HI properties I have stayed in have always had a unique character that I really enjoy. I am going to make sure that whenever travelling I will do my best to stay in HI hostels as I feel safe which is important when on your own. Also very friendly staff and the people that generally stay at the property all have the same mind set so its a chance to get to know people.

Disliked: narrow rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That it was clean and everything was well maintained.

Disliked: The receptionist lady who worked in the evening when I was there was quite rude and impolite and didnt explain anything to you upon arrival and did not communicate in a good manner at all when she did decide to explain anything to you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean.

Disliked: The 10-bed room only had 4 reasonably sized lockers.


See all Toronto hostels