HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto

Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

1. Prices you see are Hostelling International member ones. If you don’t have a membership card, an additional fee of $5 per night, per person, will be charged upon arrival. 2. The mandatory provincial and federal taxes (13%) will be applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 61-70 of 94 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The meal vouchers were great. Big breakfasts or dinners to choose from. Great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Not sure why but i didnt find it as easy as most places i have stayed to meet new people. Was not a major issue as i did meet some great people after a few days. That comes down to luck of the draw with regards to who is staying there more though i guess. All in all it was a top notch hostel that i would recommend to anyone.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The Cavern was pretty cool; the entire hostel had a nice vibe.

Disliked: Awkwardness regarding when is the appropriate time to switch off the lights in the room (it was a 10 person room but at 11pm there were still people who were actively up and in the room but others were in bed/almost sleeping).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, and thank you for your feedback! Our recommended "quiet times" is from 11pm until 7am. We understand the challenges of sharing a room with people with different schedules. To help reduce the awkwardness, we have installed individual bedside lights in all our beds, that way, nobody necessarily needs to use the room lights during the quiet hours. But still, like anything, it is only a good idea if everybody is considerate with one another! We wish you a safe journey.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were brilliant and helpful. The restaurant was great too, esp the Mountie burger.

Disliked: It was in Toronto. In February. That of course cannot be helped. There was nothing to dislike really about the property.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Loved the atmosphere of the entire place. Convenience of the pub and grille downstairs. Free Wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Great location.

Disliked: Could be a bit more going on in the bar.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there!! Thank you for your feedback. We are definitely working hard to get our bar full blast every single night of the week, but different travelers have different priorities, so not always the place is full.As a fun fact, did you know we have this bar open for little over 1 year? So far we have some pretty good nights down there, and we assure you we definitely look forward to having the place full every single night! So do come back to enjoy some more fun!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice, cool environment

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been a little cleaner. Noticed a LOT dust on the ceiling vent. The girl at the front desk could have been a little nicer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The locationThe amazing people

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location and very clean rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Breakfast included

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location, liked the breakfast bagel.- Yummy

Disliked: The wifi is weak.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability