HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 85%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Please note: Prices quotes are for members of HI. If you don't have a membership card, a difference of $5 per night (shared room) or $20 (private) will apply.

HI Toronto is geared towards cultural exchanges between travelling backpackers, and that as such, clients who are residents of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) will not be accommodated at our property.

You want a hostel that is fun, centrally located, clean and safe right?
NO PROBLEM! WE'VE GOT IT!

You have never been treated to a hostel like this one.
- Super friendly staff
- Free wifi, towels, sheets (we even make the bed for you!)
- Free city events and tours
- In-room lockers (bring your own lock!)
- Free entry to our very own The Cavern Bar for live music, drinks, food fun, meeting people and having a blast!

Enough said - just reserve already! We look forward to hosting you.

Please note:

A 13% government tax is applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival. If you do not have a member card, no worries you may purchase one upon check-in. Room rates include towels and linens.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 85%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 81%

Showing 61-70 of 70 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Rooms are very good

Disliked: Breakfast delays too much

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there - thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge that breakfast can take a little bit of time in some occasions. HI Toronto is proud to serve fresh, cooked to order breakfast, which is something most hostels don't do. We are working on improving our menu and service to make sure to serve all in a timely manner, so thank you very much for your feedback - it helps us moving on the right direction.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Had a great time! Met some cool people and the staff was friendly. Everything I expect and more from a hostel!

Disliked: The heating of the rooms; it was either really hot or really cold.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: great food in the cafe - breakfast included in price

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The meal vouchers were great. Big breakfasts or dinners to choose from. Great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Not sure why but i didnt find it as easy as most places i have stayed to meet new people. Was not a major issue as i did meet some great people after a few days. That comes down to luck of the draw with regards to who is staying there more though i guess. All in all it was a top notch hostel that i would recommend to anyone.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The Cavern was pretty cool; the entire hostel had a nice vibe.

Disliked: Awkwardness regarding when is the appropriate time to switch off the lights in the room (it was a 10 person room but at 11pm there were still people who were actively up and in the room but others were in bed/almost sleeping).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, and thank you for your feedback! Our recommended "quiet times" is from 11pm until 7am. We understand the challenges of sharing a room with people with different schedules. To help reduce the awkwardness, we have installed individual bedside lights in all our beds, that way, nobody necessarily needs to use the room lights during the quiet hours. But still, like anything, it is only a good idea if everybody is considerate with one another! We wish you a safe journey.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were brilliant and helpful. The restaurant was great too, esp the Mountie burger.

Disliked: It was in Toronto. In February. That of course cannot be helped. There was nothing to dislike really about the property.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Loved the atmosphere of the entire place. Convenience of the pub and grille downstairs. Free Wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Great location.

Disliked: Could be a bit more going on in the bar.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there!! Thank you for your feedback. We are definitely working hard to get our bar full blast every single night of the week, but different travelers have different priorities, so not always the place is full.As a fun fact, did you know we have this bar open for little over 1 year? So far we have some pretty good nights down there, and we assure you we definitely look forward to having the place full every single night! So do come back to enjoy some more fun!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice, cool environment

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been a little cleaner. Noticed a LOT dust on the ceiling vent. The girl at the front desk could have been a little nicer.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The locationThe amazing people

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability