HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

88.2% Overall Rating

427 out of 476 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

emily atkin thinks…

"It is very clean and the facilities are good. The bedding and towel are a great touch"

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
45.67 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
22.84 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 55.7% 4 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
91.37 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.9% 169 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
63.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
47.97 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
36.09 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 21 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
24.67 USD

Hostel 89.4% 699 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

427 out of 476 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 330 of 399 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great open deck, good for meeting fellow travelers. Staff organized events are fun. Staff really friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Brown

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

21 June 2011 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew was great. The place was very clean and friendly.

Disliked: I stayed during a bit of a heat wave and sleeping on the third floor was rather uncomfortable as there was no fan in the room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was cool. Everyone.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: staff didnt make it clear about asigned beds in dorms, so one day I just got back to my room to find out, my stuff from ym bed is missing, according to their bed list, I was suppossed to check-out, but I wasnt! So I went down to the reception and tried to complain and ask, where is my stuff and the girl was not nice at all, first thing she rudely told me, that I was suppossed to check-out and she had to remove my stuff..then we explained, that we had no idea about the bed system and we have stayed in other HI-Hostels and this was never a case.. other thing, if u want to print there, even just 2pgs, u have to buy one hour internet access on the computer for 3 dollars..most expensive priniting ever..not convenient at all!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The German guy (I think) was super helpful and friendly. The staff were really approachable and keen to help out.

Disliked: Internet kept dropping out.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room is clean and location is very good. Excellent!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kayla Anne Connolly-Chapman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Kayla Anne would recommend this property

Liked: TThe location was great, friendly staff and clean rooms! Highly reccommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abhishek Yadav

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

19 May 2011 Abhishek would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful experience to stay at HI toronto, it is good place to stay there in concern with safety and healthy environment.

Disliked: i think, there is nothing that make me to dislike.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

peter klaver

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011

Liked: fgdfg

Disliked: adding taxes when you arrive at the hostel. they should mention this atleast on the confirmation if they ask extra, this way your stay becomes 13% more expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was absolutly clean, the room was in great condition

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly, the rooms and bathrooms were of a really good standard, and very clean!

Disliked: There wasnt very much going on within the hostel, so difficult to meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

laura hill

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 May 2011 laura would recommend this property

Liked: All HI properties I have stayed in have always had a unique character that I really enjoy. I am going to make sure that whenever travelling I will do my best to stay in HI hostels as I feel safe which is important when on your own. Also very friendly staff and the people that generally stay at the property all have the same mind set so its a chance to get to know people.

Disliked: narrow rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: That it was clean and everything was well maintained.

Disliked: The receptionist lady who worked in the evening when I was there was quite rude and impolite and didnt explain anything to you upon arrival and did not communicate in a good manner at all when she did decide to explain anything to you.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean.

Disliked: The 10-bed room only had 4 reasonably sized lockers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location very near downtown, 5 min walk from King subway station right in the heart of the city. 15-30 min walk to basically anywhere you might want to get to. Reception staff was very helpful and friendly, there's a huge amount you can buy from them and they'll recommend places to see/eat/drink. The ground floor is the main common area with the accommodation on the 7 floors above - all the washrooms are pretty tidy and clean. The shared room for 4 actually looked like the smallest room on the floor - if you don't mind sharing with more people (earplugs are helpful) then you might actually get more space. There are lockers in the rooms for the most valuable stuff, and reception can sell you a padlock if you don't have one. The free breakfast is pretty good! All in all, I'd rate this hostel very highly.

Disliked: The pillows and beds were of a low quality in the room I had - the pillow was lumpy, the bunk bed creaked loudly and the mattress was worn out. That said, I slept very well both nights. The room also smelled of male bodies but that was probably just the other guests... :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Was OK

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lindiane Vieira

Alone

City break

21 March 2011 Lindiane would recommend this property

Liked: Great experience :)

Disliked: Nothing to say

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, helpfull and friendly staff, they offer a lot of activities and specials

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseba Murua

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 March 2011 Joseba would recommend this property

Liked: Location, facilities, and above all, extremely friendly staff.

Disliked: Drunk room mates, but hostel is not to blame.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: - Free wireless - Big Kitchen - Decent Showers (when working) - Lockers

Disliked: The heater was placed too close to the beds. I woke up every morning feeling as though I had the flu, when it was just the heater killing me slowly in the night. The building must be pretty old as well as the fire alarm kept going off and we had to evacuate. Also the water heating failed for two whole days, but it was eventually fixed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

carl levesque

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 January 2011 carl would recommend this property

Liked: the location is good just copple block away of the king subways station, not to far away from the bus station as well

Disliked: well i just stay there one night, but the bed wasn't good big steal bar on my back all night cause the matress was to thin...the place could be more clean as well, overall it was still an good place to sleap but not much more

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing looked old.

Disliked: I'd have liked the cafe downstairs to have communal tables for easier socializing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marga Knaapen

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 December 2010 Marga would recommend this property

Liked: The common area is a very comfortable, homie place where you can meet new people. Breakfast was great, got vouchers at arrival for breakfast or dinner. We had breakfast which was good, could order something and they would make it for you. Bedroom for 4 had a private shower and was clean.

Disliked: The hallway smelled a bit weird, like Chinese food/deep fried food.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Camiel van Hoorn

Alone

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: small room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KAI LAM YIP

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 December 2010 KAI LAM would recommend this property

Liked: I like the people - not only the staffs, but the visitors also.

Disliked: I think no free breakfast is the worst thing.


See all Toronto hostels