HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Things to Note

Our daily rates reflect prices for members of Hostelling International. Non-members are more than welcome to stay - add an additional $5.00 per person per night in shared rooms at check in and $20.00 per private room, per night.

A 13% government tax is applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival. If you do not have a member card, no worries you may purchase one upon check-in. Room rates include towels and linens.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 51-60 of 79 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the restaurant and bar, good vibes and good food

Disliked: Not being able to drink alcohol anywhere other than the bar

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to comment! We agree with you - we think everywhere should be beer-where. However, Ontario Alcohol Licensing Laws are pretty strict and they don't think that way, so they don't allows us to have alcohol outside the bar area. Another thing they prohibit is alcohol purchased outside of the bar to be consumed or kept in the hostel rooms. But come on, we can still have a pretty good time at the Cav, don't you think?! =) Thanks again for the feedback.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Our first hostel we have stayed in in Canada and it has surpassed our expectations! The location is ideal with the Cathedral as a reference point in the city. The staff were exceptionally helpful. The discovery package is a great idea for members to get the best out of Toronto with minimum hassle. Additionally the food voucher per night of stay is a nice touch - very tasty breakfast and dinner here :). All in all, very happy a with our stay!

Disliked: Nothing at all, I think all aspects have been thought out thoroughly.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference

Liked: Good atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference

Liked: Good atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: central location, friendly and helpful stuff, quiet atmosphere

Disliked: water in the shower was only luke warm (maybe beacause others were using it at the same time)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, quiet and close to everything.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I paid in cash which automatically entered me into a draw to win a free nights stay and I won which was a great bonus. Would highly recommend, especially for those travelling alone as there's a bar downstairs and everyone is super friendly. I'm going back to Toronto next week and looking forward to staying there again.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The fact that it had a bar and Kerioke

Disliked: There should have been free coffee available all day everyday.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there - thank you for your feedback. It seems like you missed our free coffee/tea station located in the guest kitchen/seating area, because we do have a free coffee station every day, all day! Maybe next time. Cheers.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Very comfortable and nice place to relax

Disliked: Found some old bread by the window of our hostel room.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Rooms are very good

Disliked: Breakfast delays too much

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there - thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge that breakfast can take a little bit of time in some occasions. HI Toronto is proud to serve fresh, cooked to order breakfast, which is something most hostels don't do. We are working on improving our menu and service to make sure to serve all in a timely manner, so thank you very much for your feedback - it helps us moving on the right direction.

Check Availability