We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

89.3% Overall Rating

436 out of 485 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Hayley Simpson thinks…

"I liked the property's location as it is within walking distance to Toronto's main, and best, attractions. The four-bed dorm was cosy but I liked the ability to have our own ensuite. The breakfast…"

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
49.84 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
22.66 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 50.3% 5 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
90.63 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
63.44 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
47.58 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
35.80 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
19.94 USD

Hostel 89.4% 707 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

436 out of 485 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 339 of 410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean property with helpful staff. Easy walking distance to hop on hop off bus. Lockers in room were for personal items only - larger lockers outside of room. Recycling effort was good to see.

Disliked: Not much space for 4 peoples bags inside room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Holly Chen

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 June 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: People here are so friendly and kind. They are willing to help us when we face some problems. I liked them so much!

Disliked: The breakfast need to cost more. I stayed at other hostel and the room rate was usually included breakfast!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alix Paré

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012 Alix would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great (in the old part of the city). The staff was dynamic and helpfull. I enjoyed the pubcrawl and meeting new people. Thanks!

Disliked: Alix left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Benjamin Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, helpful and courtious staff. Free food vouchers and well organized group events.

Disliked: Lackluster washroom accomotations, poor bar selection nearby, a decent walking distance to the CN Tower/Roger Centre.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location. It's easy to walk to all the places you want to visit. There were plenty of showers, I never had to queue. There are plenty of places to chill out and socialise.

Disliked: I stayed in 2 different rooms. The 8-bed mixed dorm I was in was really too small for 8 beds, it was more lie a 6 bed dorm. It was a real squeeze to get you bag in the gap to get dow to some of the beds. Wifi is a little intermittant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was here for a week and had a great time. There's a really good atmosphere so even if you're travelling alone it's easy to meet people. The hostel also organises activities which means your never short of something to do.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room I booked was full, I got a free upgrade.

Disliked: I paid in cash and initially the staff included credit card fee taken by hostelbookers.com... I got this fee back the next day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and atmosphere in Toronto HiHostel at Church Street. I felt safe there, and I didn't hesitate to leave my stuff there.

Disliked: The room was very small but it was still okay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily(Baizhi) Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Emily(Baizhi) would recommend this property

Liked: The really care about the details. That is great.

Disliked: One of the guy is not very good. I told him I have not taken the breakfast ticket but he did not believe in me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!! <3

Disliked: Nothing!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, free wifi

Disliked: Wifi didn't always work!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Small room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A small restaurant inside HI Toronto for breakfast/dinner.

Disliked: Nothing !

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice for young people in the middle of downtown

Disliked: I reserved a 10dorm bedroom through Hostelbookers, where it was available. When I got into the hostel I had to pay more than was on the website and only when I came to my room found out that it was a 6dorm bedroom. Would like to have been told beforehand at check-in.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well mainteined and great location

Disliked: Staff weren't knowledgeble about Toronto at all. They gave us so many wrong information. There weren't so many staff available at front desk so there was always long line just to talk to them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nestor Knellwolf

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Nestor would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the rooms and also the Café in the basement. Congratulations folks !

Disliked: The departure!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common rooms are big so you are not sitting on top of each other like other hostels i have been in. The staff are helpful and it is a good place to meet people.

Disliked: you cant sit in the cavern cafe if you have cooked your own food. when people have ordered from the cavern cafe they can sit in the dinning area which is meant for people who have cooked their own food but you cant go in the cavern cafe area. it is wrong. they are taking up the room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was really good, for cheap money

Disliked: a lttle bit scary elevetor! but no problem with it!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Sheehan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Breakfast is not included. You have to pay $4.00 extra if you're not an HI member.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matt Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2011 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area was cool

Disliked: Matt left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011

Liked: location!

Disliked: unkind!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 December 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: Roomdoors are very noisy: hard to sleep when someone comes in. The heather is also noisy. My mattress was not flat, if you sleep on the side or on the front, you might have backpain in the morning... It's disapointing because the rest of the hostel is nice...


See all Toronto hostels