HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Things to Note

Our daily rates reflect prices for members of Hostelling International. Non-members are more than welcome to stay - add an additional $5.00 per person per night in shared rooms at check in and $20.00 per private room, per night.

A 13% government tax is applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival. If you do not have a member card, no worries you may purchase one upon check-in. Room rates include towels and linens.

From May 1st 2016, breakfast will be $5.65 per person/ per meal.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 41-50 of 90 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Free meal vouchers for the pub downstairs

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room so your gear wasn't very secure. There was no information or suggestions on what to do around town. It also cost me close to 30% more than the amount I thought I had to pay from my hostel bookers confirmation!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello!All our shared rooms have small lockers for small belongings.Alternatively, we have a locker room with big lockers in case guests would like to lock their big suitcases. All of these are free as long as you have your own lock.Our front desk is open 24/7 and they're happy to help anytime you have questions.We update our white board daily (beside front door) with the weather forecast and activities, and the front desk has maps as well.Cheers!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I love the Cavern! I stay with HI for Toronto Pride ever year and love the friendly environment. The rooftop patio has a beautiful view and the staff is always great!

Disliked: It could use a good cleaning

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating


20 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Lockers in room; luggage room for when you have already checked out.- Very secure, magnetic cards to enter the door just passed the reception, and also to take the elevator and enter your room.- Clean.- Employees helpful.- Non smoking.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: all was perfekt, sorry from german I have long way to comeback....staff was verry frendly... The Town Toronto and all his peaples was perfekt for event Worldpride 2014Many greetings for staff and another guests...Norbert Braier, Nienburg, Germany

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

DANKE Norbert! Safe travels, friend!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Positive welcoming atmosphere. Great patio.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A nice, clean hostel that is within walking distance to the sights of Toronto. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm with an ensuite, which was spacious & clean, but slightly dated. Staff were friendly & helpful. Swipe cards were needed to get past reception & into each room, so the hostel felt safe & secure. Each guest also gets a voucher to use in The Cavern for a free meal (breakfast, lunch or dinner) for every night they stay at the hostel, which is a great touch, but when I tried to get my free breakfast, I was told there was an hour wait for food even though they had only been open for 30 minutes, so I didn't use my vouchers in the end!Overall, good value & a good base in Toronto for sightseeing.

Disliked: The communal areas were pleasant enough, but not quite as big or spacious as other HI hostels that I have stayed in. My main negative is that there seems to be some form of entertainment/live music in the hostel bar every night of the week, which is probably fine for most people, but the music could be really loud - I could hear it well past midnight even on the third floor one night, so it disrupted my sleep a bit.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The underground food and drinks place is great. They serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, open almost 24/7, food is good.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent and clean! Culture atmosphere, I strongly recommend it to the world .

Disliked: No hot pot in the room

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and service as expected.

Disliked: It would be nice to have a more filling breakfast :)

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the restaurant and bar, good vibes and good food

Disliked: Not being able to drink alcohol anywhere other than the bar

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to comment! We agree with you - we think everywhere should be beer-where. However, Ontario Alcohol Licensing Laws are pretty strict and they don't think that way, so they don't allows us to have alcohol outside the bar area. Another thing they prohibit is alcohol purchased outside of the bar to be consumed or kept in the hostel rooms. But come on, we can still have a pretty good time at the Cav, don't you think?! =) Thanks again for the feedback.

Check Availability