We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

90.6% Overall Rating

438 out of 487 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2014)

Kirsty Fyfe thinks…

"The breakfasts in the morning were phenomenal and the staff were lovely. The beds were comfortable and the lighting in the rooms was excellent."

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
31.32 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
22.38 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 56.2% 6 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
89.51 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.33 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
62.66 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
46.99 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
35.36 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
22.38 USD

Hostel 90.2% 711 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

438 out of 487 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 341 of 412 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

28 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, good bar, staff, facilities.

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach the bedrooms, advertised patio was off limits, construction going on in bathrooms which were old and not that clean, and some power points in room didn't work. Also they had a locker room for bag storage, but it was full so had to arrange with another traveller to share a locker, which wasn't ideal.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, bins emptied regularly, tidy rooms, good security, always someone on the desk to help, daily activities were good, chilled, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: table wasn't wiped clean from person before when I had breakfast ONCE. All I can think of. Enjoyed my stay.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keeley Holland-Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2012 Keeley would recommend this property

Liked: - Fantastic location in the city, but still in a safe area. - Detailed free map. - Lots of good activities and tours; the Niagara Falls tour (with or without the CN Tower deal) is worth every cent and makes a brilliant day out. - Lots of seating and great facilities, which are still available after checking out. - Generally feels safe and comfortable, and it's easy to talk to others in the dorms.

Disliked: - It felt very safe until a girl in my dorm had something stolen. The problem is with selfish people, not the hostel, but I suggest making use of all the locker space, especially during the night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room are very clean. We have a bathroom in the bedroom. The staff is very nice and they propose lot of activities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, "to do" board

Disliked: Its a huge hostel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chun Chi Fan

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

22 October 2012 Chun Chi would recommend this property

Liked: ALL OF THINGS

Disliked: Chun Chi left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Debora Alkimin

Alone

Business / conference

14 October 2012

Liked: Nice staff, good location.

Disliked: That wasnt clean and the bathroom is a lil bit gross.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jonatan Thorstensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 October 2012 Jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and neat and tidy. Well kept and friendly. Good amount of activities.

Disliked: Lacking the "it" factor that some other, often cheaper and less well kept places have. Can't really complain though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mark Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the kitchen and atmosphere of this hostel.

Disliked: A bit expensive.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Coyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff here. They're all super friendly and really helpful. There's also a good, relaxed atmosphere. Facilities and rooms are clean and there's everything you could need in a hostel here.

Disliked: I thought it was a little pricey considering that the season is over. Otherwise, I was very happy with my stay!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice deals to see the city.

Disliked: Could've been cleaner. Does not have enough towels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Gregoratto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel. is common in hostels cleanup is left out, and in Toronto HI hygiene of the place is very good. Surely point out to friends and relatives.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyacinthe Raimbault

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Hyacinthe would recommend this property

Liked: The Cavern Café in the basement, where you can have good breakfasts every morning, the patio.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Wade

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 August 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the building was very secure and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I came to Toronto & left by VIA train and the location of the hostel was amazing. It was in walking distance of the train station which was very convenient for me. I would definitely stay at this hostel again and totally recommend it to my friends and family.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, nice and helpfull staff and a wonderful patio!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Watt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2012 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: everyone was awesome had a heap of fun and the people in my room were tops and respected your space and privacy. top three days in toronto bloody loved it.

Disliked: didnt have a pool :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool and helpful staff, good common lobby and common kitchen. The cavern cafe was great too, not too expensive. They've got a nice patio on the 5th floor. The pub crawl was nice, even though Sunday isn't the best day to do that. I had a great time and I'd go to this hostel again as well. There was air-co in the room, but it didn't always cool the room so much, only the bed right in front of it. Good location, not far from downtown attractions.

Disliked: Climbing to the upper bunk was a bit challenging due to the two bunk beds being so close to each other. Also in the 8pers room there was little space for baggage so they were always on the way. One toilet/shower for 8 girls is also not very much. ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The roof terrace was probably the highlight though.

Disliked: Not a thing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marina sasaki

Alone

City break
Shopping

13 August 2012 marina would recommend this property

Liked: its nice location.there is church which is amazing in front of hostel when u wake up.its safty to walk at the night. and we can walk easy to CN tower, suger beach, supermarket and so on.

Disliked: litte bit expensive for breakfast. it cost 7.25$.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was in a kind of scary side of town, but once you get inside, it's not bad. The floors are kind of yucky and people can be loud both late and early, but it was overall not a bad place to stay for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: Air con in room was awful so the room was boiling hot!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: most of part, i liked them . there is a guy staff who is so kind *He probably from spain.

Disliked: one thing i really didnt like was one guy staff, too; he worked at late night, never smile. never answer i felt so bad. *if u work and get money, u should WORK. SERVICE!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ann Nicholls

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a great location. I had a clean bed, a hot breakfast and got to watch a thunderstorm come in from a cozy fifth floor outdoor patio. The bathrooms were well thought out and clean and all of the staff seemed to know and enjoy their work. It really is a very nice place to spend a night or two in Toronto!!!

Disliked: However...I brought my seventeen year old son, who had only ever stayed in hotels and B and B's and I wanted him to "experience" a hostel. Well unfortunately his experience included having water balloons tossed into his bed in the middle of the night. It was good clean fun but I am very concerned that these boys knocked first and then came back OPENED THE DOOR TO OUR LOCKED ROOM and tossed balloons in his bed. A little disconcerning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all the time very helpful.

Disliked: The music was a little bit to loud in the lounge/livingroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice friendly enviroment, staff happy to help. clean!

Disliked: nothing


See all Toronto hostels