HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Things to Note

Our daily rates reflect prices for members of Hostelling International. Non-members are more than welcome to stay - add an additional $5.00 per person per night in shared rooms at check in and $20.00 per private room, per night.

A 13% government tax is applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival. If you do not have a member card, no worries you may purchase one upon check-in. Room rates include towels and linens.

From May 1st 2016, breakfast will be $5.65 per person/ per meal.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 84%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 31-40 of 90 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cavern rock band in basement. Helpful employees.

Disliked: Only one coffee in morning.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for your feedback. Although the breakfast order comes with one drink per person, we have FREE coffee AND tea 24 hours in the hostel - you just have to help yourself. Stations can be found in the guest kitchen AND in the guest lobby as well - plenty of unlimited coffee for the aficionados! Safe travels.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: facilities were good, laundry, common space, patio and close to train station

Disliked: I got bitten by bed bugs. The staff during breakfast were rude and unhelpful. My breakfast was half an hour late and I was blamed for not listening when they called my name, but I was waiting patiently the whole time. not a problem to be late but I was made to feel bad about asking.


The property's response is

Thank you for your message.It's a shame none of our staff seem to have been alerted on the alleged issue.Every 2 weeks,we strip 3 of our rooms,clean it thoughtfully and have a local company inspect for any potential problems.We do this all year around.However,guests might have been affected on a bus ride or brought from other hostels,which is why we do this procedure regardless of having any complaints (as this site shows,we're top 3 best rated hostels,including cleanliness!).Safe travels.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The cooked breakfast ;)

Disliked: Absolutely terrible wi-fi

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good staff and events

Disliked: not alot was good allround

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the bathroom is very clean and it has a good location

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good bar, safe and large locker room

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The atmosphere, staff were fantastic. Even the visitors were friendly

Disliked: I can't think of anything I didn't like about this property.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location was great, nice atmosphere and the Cavern was really cool! Thanks to all the staff for making my stay so pleasant (Rachel, Yu, Laura, Bruna and everyone else I met!) The activities were also great- $55 as HI member for day tour to NF! I hope to visit again soon. Thank you so much!! :)

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They offer so many activities for you to do! The downstairs bar is great. The staff is friendly, beer is a bit pricey though. Everything was wonderful my stay was enjoyable!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. It looks like you took advantage of all the cool things we have to offer - and that is great! We are really happy you enjoyed them all. Safe travels and see you soon (hopefully!) :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was in a great location in the heart of Toronto, lovely neighbourhood. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: WiFi wasn't great, was rarely able to hold signal in my room on the 4th floor. Showers quite old could do with replacing (although the water was always hot). Didn't like the fact that the kitchen closed at 9pm. Wooden benches in the kitchen/dining area not comfortable and the tv was very basic with not much to offer. I think because of the poor WiFi the common area with the sofas was always very busy and you were lucky if you found a plug socket with somewhere to sit.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability