HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

91.4% Overall Rating

396 out of 444 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

William Brown thinks…

"Had a great time! Met some cool people and the staff was friendly. Everything I expect and more from a hostel!"

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
36.37 USD

Apartment 57.4% 11 reviews
Dundas Square Hotel
31.84 USD

Hotel 1 star 30.9% 5 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
36.38 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
31.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.0% 164 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
63.67 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
47.75 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
33.20 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 20 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
20.01 USD

Hostel 87.4% 675 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

396 out of 444 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 303 of 369 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Wade

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 August 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the building was very secure and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I came to Toronto & left by VIA train and the location of the hostel was amazing. It was in walking distance of the train station which was very convenient for me. I would definitely stay at this hostel again and totally recommend it to my friends and family.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, nice and helpfull staff and a wonderful patio!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Watt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2012 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: everyone was awesome had a heap of fun and the people in my room were tops and respected your space and privacy. top three days in toronto bloody loved it.

Disliked: didnt have a pool :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool and helpful staff, good common lobby and common kitchen. The cavern cafe was great too, not too expensive. They've got a nice patio on the 5th floor. The pub crawl was nice, even though Sunday isn't the best day to do that. I had a great time and I'd go to this hostel again as well. There was air-co in the room, but it didn't always cool the room so much, only the bed right in front of it. Good location, not far from downtown attractions.

Disliked: Climbing to the upper bunk was a bit challenging due to the two bunk beds being so close to each other. Also in the 8pers room there was little space for baggage so they were always on the way. One toilet/shower for 8 girls is also not very much. ;)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it's one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The roof terrace was probably the highlight though.

Disliked: Not a thing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marina sasaki

Alone

City break
Shopping

13 August 2012 marina would recommend this property

Liked: its nice location.there is church which is amazing in front of hostel when u wake up.its safty to walk at the night. and we can walk easy to CN tower, suger beach, supermarket and so on.

Disliked: litte bit expensive for breakfast. it cost 7.25$.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was in a kind of scary side of town, but once you get inside, it's not bad. The floors are kind of yucky and people can be loud both late and early, but it was overall not a bad place to stay for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Allen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent

Disliked: Air con in room was awful so the room was boiling hot!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: most of part, i liked them . there is a guy staff who is so kind *He probably from spain.

Disliked: one thing i really didnt like was one guy staff, too; he worked at late night, never smile. never answer i felt so bad. *if u work and get money, u should WORK. SERVICE!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ann Nicholls

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was in a great location. I had a clean bed, a hot breakfast and got to watch a thunderstorm come in from a cozy fifth floor outdoor patio. The bathrooms were well thought out and clean and all of the staff seemed to know and enjoy their work. It really is a very nice place to spend a night or two in Toronto!!!

Disliked: However...I brought my seventeen year old son, who had only ever stayed in hotels and B and B's and I wanted him to "experience" a hostel. Well unfortunately his experience included having water balloons tossed into his bed in the middle of the night. It was good clean fun but I am very concerned that these boys knocked first and then came back OPENED THE DOOR TO OUR LOCKED ROOM and tossed balloons in his bed. A little disconcerning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all the time very helpful.

Disliked: The music was a little bit to loud in the lounge/livingroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice friendly enviroment, staff happy to help. clean!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the late check-in-time

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Korpela

Alone

City break

28 June 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The patio is so cool and all the facilities seemed very nice!

Disliked: Scary elevator, stained towel

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean property with helpful staff. Easy walking distance to hop on hop off bus. Lockers in room were for personal items only - larger lockers outside of room. Recycling effort was good to see.

Disliked: Not much space for 4 peoples bags inside room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Holly Chen

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

21 June 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: People here are so friendly and kind. They are willing to help us when we face some problems. I liked them so much!

Disliked: The breakfast need to cost more. I stayed at other hostel and the room rate was usually included breakfast!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alix Paré

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012 Alix would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great (in the old part of the city). The staff was dynamic and helpfull. I enjoyed the pubcrawl and meeting new people. Thanks!

Disliked: Alix left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Benjamin Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location, helpful and courtious staff. Free food vouchers and well organized group events.

Disliked: Lackluster washroom accomotations, poor bar selection nearby, a decent walking distance to the CN Tower/Roger Centre.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location. It's easy to walk to all the places you want to visit. There were plenty of showers, I never had to queue. There are plenty of places to chill out and socialise.

Disliked: I stayed in 2 different rooms. The 8-bed mixed dorm I was in was really too small for 8 beds, it was more lie a 6 bed dorm. It was a real squeeze to get you bag in the gap to get dow to some of the beds. Wifi is a little intermittant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was here for a week and had a great time. There's a really good atmosphere so even if you're travelling alone it's easy to meet people. The hostel also organises activities which means your never short of something to do.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room I booked was full, I got a free upgrade.

Disliked: I paid in cash and initially the staff included credit card fee taken by hostelbookers.com... I got this fee back the next day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and atmosphere in Toronto HiHostel at Church Street. I felt safe there, and I didn't hesitate to leave my stuff there.

Disliked: The room was very small but it was still okay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily(Baizhi) Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Emily(Baizhi) would recommend this property

Liked: The really care about the details. That is great.

Disliked: One of the guy is not very good. I told him I have not taken the breakfast ticket but he did not believe in me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!! <3

Disliked: Nothing!!!


See all Toronto hostels