HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Things to Note

Our daily rates reflect prices for members of Hostelling International. Non-members are more than welcome to stay - add an additional $5.00 per person per night in shared rooms at check in and $20.00 per private room, per night.

A 13% government tax is applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival. If you do not have a member card, no worries you may purchase one upon check-in. Room rates include towels and linens.

From May 1st 2016, breakfast will be $5.65 per person/ per meal.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 21-30 of 85 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The breakfasts in the morning were phenomenal and the staff were lovely. The beds were comfortable and the lighting in the rooms was excellent.

Disliked: The music was played a bit too loud, it was hard to hear other people down in The Cavern, as well as in the lounge area on the first floor. I also was concerned there were no mats for when stepping out the shower, seemed a bit of a health risk to be honest.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for writing! We've been putting a lot of hard work into the breakfast, so we're so happy to hear that it's paying off.

While the cavern is our place for live music and louder conversations at night, we're happy to adjust the volume to the music on the first floor common room and really want guests to feel comfortable striking up conversation with each other! Just come on by and let us know at the front desk! We love feedback.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the property's location as it is within walking distance to Toronto's main, and best, attractions. The four-bed dorm was cosy but I liked the ability to have our own ensuite. The breakfast was great in the morning and all front desk staff I spoke to were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: There wasn't much of a social atmosphere here - every time I walked past the common area everyone had their heads in their computers and there was no interaction. I also thought the price was a little steep for a hostel, but I guess Toronto is a big city so that's what you get!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there - and thank you for your feedback. In the era of technology, it is indeed becoming harder and harder to get people to disconnect and get some more quality time meeting new people and socializing. We do our part: we put on great free (or fairly inexpensive) daytime events, and we have a bar in our hostel that hosts live acts most nights of the week. As we need if for guests to participate and get knowing each other! We hope you participated while you were here! Cheers.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Excellent location, clean, friendly, love the lounge and would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: There was nothing we disliked about the property...our stay was excellent!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfectly positioned for exploring downtown Toronto, good facilities, friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast included, and just generally well run.

Disliked: Bathroom (in a 4 bed dorm) was a bit outdated, although was perfectly adequate.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good breakfast, clean, nice staff.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I liked the lounge space in the basement.

Disliked: The tiny bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, pleasant staff, loved the free yoga on Tuesday night, good breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Friendly hostel, very well serviced in terms of bathrooms etc, breakfast was also great, lots of activities to do

Disliked: Room was a bit cramped, probably wouldn't have been a problem except I had a large suitcase!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: excellent breakfast. good location.bathrooms inside each room.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The facilities, staff, location, breakfast everthing ware great.

Disliked: The Wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability