We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

90.5% Overall Rating

443 out of 492 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2015)

"The staff are very helpful and friendly. They will kindly take their time to help you out. Amazing live music at night!"

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $5 per night in shared accommodation or $20 per night in private accommodation) Please note: Rates quoted on this site are for HI MEMBERS AND DO NOT INCLUDE GOVERNMENT TAXES.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
27.65 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
35.56 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 59.6% 7 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
79.01 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
27.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.9% 172 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
55.31 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
41.48 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
31.21 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
17.38 USD

Hostel 89.5% 717 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

443 out of 492 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 345 of 417 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jessica nichol

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Cavern! I stay with HI for Toronto Pride ever year and love the friendly environment. The rooftop patio has a beautiful view and the staff is always great!

Disliked: It could use a good cleaning

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free meal vouchers for the pub downstairs

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room so your gear wasn't very secure. There was no information or suggestions on what to do around town. It also cost me close to 30% more than the amount I thought I had to pay from my hostel bookers confirmation!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Braier

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2014 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: all was perfekt, sorry from german I have long way to comeback.... staff was verry frendly... The Town Toronto and all his peaples was perfekt for event Worldpride 2014 Many greetings for staff and another guests...Norbert Braier, Nienburg, Germany

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Lockers in room; luggage room for when you have already checked out. - Very secure, magnetic cards to enter the door just passed the reception, and also to take the elevator and enter your room. - Clean. - Employees helpful. - Non smoking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Positive welcoming atmosphere. Great patio.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Chessum

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: A nice, clean hostel that is within walking distance to the sights of Toronto. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm with an ensuite, which was spacious & clean, but slightly dated. Staff were friendly & helpful. Swipe cards were needed to get past reception & into each room, so the hostel felt safe & secure. Each guest also gets a voucher to use in The Cavern for a free meal (breakfast, lunch or dinner) for every night they stay at the hostel, which is a great touch, but when I tried to get my free breakfast, I was told there was an hour wait for food even though they had only been open for 30 minutes, so I didn't use my vouchers in the end! Overall, good value & a good base in Toronto for sightseeing.

Disliked: The communal areas were pleasant enough, but not quite as big or spacious as other HI hostels that I have stayed in. My main negative is that there seems to be some form of entertainment/live music in the hostel bar every night of the week, which is probably fine for most people, but the music could be really loud - I could hear it well past midnight even on the third floor one night, so it disrupted my sleep a bit.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The underground food and drinks place is great. They serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, open almost 24/7, food is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yan Jiang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Yan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent and clean! Culture atmosphere, I strongly recommend it to the world .

Disliked: No hot pot in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kashyap Todi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Kashyap would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and service as expected.

Disliked: It would be nice to have a more filling breakfast :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the restaurant and bar, good vibes and good food

Disliked: Not being able to drink alcohol anywhere other than the bar

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Cartwright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Our first hostel we have stayed in in Canada and it has surpassed our expectations! The location is ideal with the Cathedral as a reference point in the city. The staff were exceptionally helpful. The discovery package is a great idea for members to get the best out of Toronto with minimum hassle. Additionally the food voucher per night of stay is a nice touch - very tasty breakfast and dinner here :). All in all, very happy a with our stay!

Disliked: Nothing at all, I think all aspects have been thought out thoroughly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Prost

Alone

Business / conference

25 April 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: central location, friendly and helpful stuff, quiet atmosphere

Disliked: water in the shower was only luke warm (maybe beacause others were using it at the same time)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, quiet and close to everything.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvia Drake-Gill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2014 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I paid in cash which automatically entered me into a draw to win a free nights stay and I won which was a great bonus. Would highly recommend, especially for those travelling alone as there's a bar downstairs and everyone is super friendly. I'm going back to Toronto next week and looking forward to staying there again.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact that it had a bar and Kerioke

Disliked: There should have been free coffee available all day everyday.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gesiel Araujo

Alone

City break

14 April 2014 Gesiel would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very good

Disliked: Breakfast delays too much

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Philip Battison

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals

07 April 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable and nice place to relax

Disliked: Found some old bread by the window of our hostel room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great food in the cafe - breakfast included in price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Brown

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 March 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time! Met some cool people and the staff was friendly. Everything I expect and more from a hostel!

Disliked: The heating of the rooms; it was either really hot or really cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Malley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: The meal vouchers were great. Big breakfasts or dinners to choose from. Great location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Not sure why but i didnt find it as easy as most places i have stayed to meet new people. Was not a major issue as i did meet some great people after a few days. That comes down to luck of the draw with regards to who is staying there more though i guess. All in all it was a top notch hostel that i would recommend to anyone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

C Shields

Alone

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2014 C would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant and helpful. The restaurant was great too, esp the Mountie burger.

Disliked: It was in Toronto. In February. That of course cannot be helped. There was nothing to dislike really about the property.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Cavern was pretty cool; the entire hostel had a nice vibe.

Disliked: Awkwardness regarding when is the appropriate time to switch off the lights in the room (it was a 10 person room but at 11pm there were still people who were actively up and in the room but others were in bed/almost sleeping).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Loved the atmosphere of the entire place. Convenience of the pub and grille downstairs. Free Wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels