We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of HI - Toronto

Hostel | 76 Church Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5C 2G1

85.3% Overall Rating

456 out of 505 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

Graeme Taylor thinks…

"Very central location, plenty of bathrooms so never had to wait, good common area, brilliant breakfasts for the price."

Read all HI - Toronto reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

1. Prices you see are Hostelling International member ones. If you don’t have a membership card, an additional fee of $5 per night, per person, will be charged upon arrival. 2. The mandatory provincial and federal taxes (13%) will be applied at check-in. Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

St. Lawrence Residences and Suites
45.39 USD

Apartment 61.0% 12 reviews
central hotel
34.05 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 59.6% 7 reviews
Toronto Garden Inn Bed&Breakfast
75.66 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 6 reviews
Neill-Wycik Summer Hotel
26.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.2% 175 reviews
Downtowner Inn Toronto
52.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.1% 410 reviews
House on McGill
39.72 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 11 reviews
Comfy GuestHouse and Suites
34.05 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 22 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
16.65 USD

Hostel 89.5% 735 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

456 out of 505 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Toronto'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 355 of 430 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: facilities were good, laundry, common space, patio and close to train station

Disliked: I got bitten by bed bugs. The staff during breakfast were rude and unhelpful. My breakfast was half an hour late and I was blamed for not listening when they called my name, but I was waiting patiently the whole time. not a problem to be late but I was made to feel bad about asking.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

emily atkin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

18 August 2014 emily would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and the facilities are good. The bedding and towel are a great touch

Disliked: There was often a very long wait to see someone at reception

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zaneta Takacova

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Zaneta would recommend this property

Liked: The cooked breakfast ;)

Disliked: Absolutely terrible wi-fi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael graham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 michael would recommend this property

Liked: good staff and events

Disliked: not alot was good allround

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yimei Bing

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Yimei would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom is very clean and it has a good location

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, safe and large locker room

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, staff were fantastic. Even the visitors were friendly

Disliked: I can't think of anything I didn't like about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JONATHAN SCANLAN

Alone

City break

15 July 2014 JONATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, nice atmosphere and the Cavern was really cool! Thanks to all the staff for making my stay so pleasant (Rachel, Yu, Laura, Bruna and everyone else I met!) The activities were also great- $55 as HI member for day tour to NF! I hope to visit again soon. Thank you so much!! :)

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location in the heart of Toronto, lovely neighbourhood. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: WiFi wasn't great, was rarely able to hold signal in my room on the 4th floor. Showers quite old could do with replacing (although the water was always hot). Didn't like the fact that the kitchen closed at 9pm. Wooden benches in the kitchen/dining area not comfortable and the tv was very basic with not much to offer. I think because of the poor WiFi the common area with the sofas was always very busy and you were lucky if you found a plug socket with somewhere to sit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They offer so many activities for you to do! The downstairs bar is great. The staff is friendly, beer is a bit pricey though. Everything was wonderful my stay was enjoyable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jessica nichol

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Cavern! I stay with HI for Toronto Pride ever year and love the friendly environment. The rooftop patio has a beautiful view and the staff is always great!

Disliked: It could use a good cleaning

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free meal vouchers for the pub downstairs

Disliked: There were no lockers in the room so your gear wasn't very secure. There was no information or suggestions on what to do around town. It also cost me close to 30% more than the amount I thought I had to pay from my hostel bookers confirmation!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norbert Braier

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 July 2014 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: all was perfekt, sorry from german I have long way to comeback.... staff was verry frendly... The Town Toronto and all his peaples was perfekt for event Worldpride 2014 Many greetings for staff and another guests...Norbert Braier, Nienburg, Germany

Disliked: Norbert left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Lockers in room; luggage room for when you have already checked out. - Very secure, magnetic cards to enter the door just passed the reception, and also to take the elevator and enter your room. - Clean. - Employees helpful. - Non smoking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Positive welcoming atmosphere. Great patio.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Chessum

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: A nice, clean hostel that is within walking distance to the sights of Toronto. I stayed in a 6 bed female dorm with an ensuite, which was spacious & clean, but slightly dated. Staff were friendly & helpful. Swipe cards were needed to get past reception & into each room, so the hostel felt safe & secure. Each guest also gets a voucher to use in The Cavern for a free meal (breakfast, lunch or dinner) for every night they stay at the hostel, which is a great touch, but when I tried to get my free breakfast, I was told there was an hour wait for food even though they had only been open for 30 minutes, so I didn't use my vouchers in the end! Overall, good value & a good base in Toronto for sightseeing.

Disliked: The communal areas were pleasant enough, but not quite as big or spacious as other HI hostels that I have stayed in. My main negative is that there seems to be some form of entertainment/live music in the hostel bar every night of the week, which is probably fine for most people, but the music could be really loud - I could hear it well past midnight even on the third floor one night, so it disrupted my sleep a bit.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The underground food and drinks place is great. They serve breakfast, lunch, dinner, open almost 24/7, food is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yan Jiang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Yan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent and clean! Culture atmosphere, I strongly recommend it to the world .

Disliked: No hot pot in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kashyap Todi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Kashyap would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere and service as expected.

Disliked: It would be nice to have a more filling breakfast :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the restaurant and bar, good vibes and good food

Disliked: Not being able to drink alcohol anywhere other than the bar

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Cartwright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Our first hostel we have stayed in in Canada and it has surpassed our expectations! The location is ideal with the Cathedral as a reference point in the city. The staff were exceptionally helpful. The discovery package is a great idea for members to get the best out of Toronto with minimum hassle. Additionally the food voucher per night of stay is a nice touch - very tasty breakfast and dinner here :). All in all, very happy a with our stay!

Disliked: Nothing at all, I think all aspects have been thought out thoroughly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Prost

Alone

Business / conference

25 April 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: central location, friendly and helpful stuff, quiet atmosphere

Disliked: water in the shower was only luke warm (maybe beacause others were using it at the same time)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, quiet and close to everything.

Disliked: -


See all Toronto hostels