HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto

Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

1. Prices you see are Hostelling International member ones. If you don’t have a membership card, an additional fee of $5 per night, per person, will be charged upon arrival. 2. The mandatory provincial and federal taxes (13%) will be applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 94 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well organized.

Disliked: One of the bathroom was out of service and residents were not informed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for your feedback! We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Maintenance issues sometimes arise before we are able to give notice to our guests that a service will be out of order, and we work really hard to make sure those are back up and running in a timely manner. Hopefully you found one of the other 3 bathrooms available to your room to be functioning well. We wish you safe travels and that you will return in the near future for an improved experience.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, free breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: Staff weren't always very friendly, wifi didn't work in dorms, the bar in the basement had really loud live bands most nights. Pack headphones.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and a good amount of space.

Disliked: That guests can't come up to rooms during the day.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for your feedback. HI Toronto does not have lock out times for its rooms, so we are a little confused by what you mean when you say "That guests can't come up to rooms during the day." Our guests are welcome to come and go as they please any hours of the day - we just ask guests to be considerate to other guests during late times. Safe travels.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is very good located, it has all the facilities you need when you're travelling. Clean, warm and really precious. The girls and boys working there are just lovely!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly. They will kindly take their time to help you out.Amazing live music at night!

Disliked: The only thing I dislike is the limited choice of movie to watch in the lounge, but that's just for my on personal interest lol

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Nice and quiet place.

Disliked: No!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff were outstanding. Everything was very clean and organized. Showers were hot and food was fantastic. Great job eveyone!I perfomred on the VIa Rail train from Edmonton to Toronto and back. Offerings were opposite ends of the scale. And I enjoyed the swanky train and the practical hostel equally.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We love hosting people like you, always great stories to hear about! We wish you all the best in your adventures and that you will be back soon (maybe to play at our very own Cavern Bar?) Cheers!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa

Liked: The breakfeast!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The breakfasts in the morning were phenomenal and the staff were lovely. The beds were comfortable and the lighting in the rooms was excellent.

Disliked: The music was played a bit too loud, it was hard to hear other people down in The Cavern, as well as in the lounge area on the first floor. I also was concerned there were no mats for when stepping out the shower, seemed a bit of a health risk to be honest.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for writing! We've been putting a lot of hard work into the breakfast, so we're so happy to hear that it's paying off.

While the cavern is our place for live music and louder conversations at night, we're happy to adjust the volume to the music on the first floor common room and really want guests to feel comfortable striking up conversation with each other! Just come on by and let us know at the front desk! We love feedback.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the property's location as it is within walking distance to Toronto's main, and best, attractions. The four-bed dorm was cosy but I liked the ability to have our own ensuite. The breakfast was great in the morning and all front desk staff I spoke to were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: There wasn't much of a social atmosphere here - every time I walked past the common area everyone had their heads in their computers and there was no interaction. I also thought the price was a little steep for a hostel, but I guess Toronto is a big city so that's what you get!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello there - and thank you for your feedback. In the era of technology, it is indeed becoming harder and harder to get people to disconnect and get some more quality time meeting new people and socializing. We do our part: we put on great free (or fairly inexpensive) daytime events, and we have a bar in our hostel that hosts live acts most nights of the week. As we need if for guests to participate and get knowing each other! We hope you participated while you were here! Cheers.

Check Availability