HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Things to Note

Our daily rates reflect prices for members of Hostelling International. Non-members are more than welcome to stay - add an additional $5.00 per person per night in shared rooms at check in and $20.00 per private room, per night.

A 13% government tax is applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival. If you do not have a member card, no worries you may purchase one upon check-in. Room rates include towels and linens.

From May 1st 2016, breakfast will be $5.65 per person/ per meal.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 84 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Great Breakfast, perfect location in the city center

Disliked: It has a bar downstairs, so don't expect much sleep.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the feedback. FREE earplugs are also available at the reception for those trying to muffle the sounds from inside or outside the room. Indeed, our bar, The Cavern, is starting to become an important player in the Toronto music venue scene, and we are really proud! Although we have live acts most nights of the week, these events only run until max. 1:30 am. Safe travels and we hope to see you again sometime soon!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good location, very friendly staff

Disliked: was not that clean, hair all over floor and bathroom

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. Our team works very hard to keep a clean hostel, but we do agree sometimes, due to the high volume of usage, that rooms might need an extra attention. We clean our rooms daily and set up regular deep cleans but we also have housekeepers on site from 8am until midnight every single day - if you ever encounter any area that is not up to the standards HI is known for, please let us know and we will be more than happy to address it right away. Safe travels

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Well organized.

Disliked: One of the bathroom was out of service and residents were not informed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for your feedback! We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Maintenance issues sometimes arise before we are able to give notice to our guests that a service will be out of order, and we work really hard to make sure those are back up and running in a timely manner. Hopefully you found one of the other 3 bathrooms available to your room to be functioning well. We wish you safe travels and that you will return in the near future for an improved experience.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Great location, free breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: Staff weren't always very friendly, wifi didn't work in dorms, the bar in the basement had really loud live bands most nights. Pack headphones.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and a good amount of space.

Disliked: That guests can't come up to rooms during the day.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello and thank you for your feedback. HI Toronto does not have lock out times for its rooms, so we are a little confused by what you mean when you say "That guests can't come up to rooms during the day." Our guests are welcome to come and go as they please any hours of the day - we just ask guests to be considerate to other guests during late times. Safe travels.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is very good located, it has all the facilities you need when you're travelling. Clean, warm and really precious. The girls and boys working there are just lovely!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly. They will kindly take their time to help you out.Amazing live music at night!

Disliked: The only thing I dislike is the limited choice of movie to watch in the lounge, but that's just for my on personal interest lol

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Nice and quiet place.

Disliked: No!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The staff were outstanding. Everything was very clean and organized. Showers were hot and food was fantastic. Great job eveyone!I perfomred on the VIa Rail train from Edmonton to Toronto and back. Offerings were opposite ends of the scale. And I enjoyed the swanky train and the practical hostel equally.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We love hosting people like you, always great stories to hear about! We wish you all the best in your adventures and that you will be back soon (maybe to play at our very own Cavern Bar?) Cheers!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa

Liked: The breakfeast!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability