HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

Things to Note

Our daily rates reflect prices for members of Hostelling International. Non-members are more than welcome to stay - add an additional $5.00 per person per night in shared rooms at check in and $20.00 per private room, per night.

A 13% government tax is applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival. If you do not have a member card, no worries you may purchase one upon check-in. Room rates include towels and linens.

From May 1st 2016, breakfast will be $5.65 per person/ per meal.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 89%

Value 82%

Showing 101-85 of 85 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location, "to do" board

Disliked: Its a huge hostel

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nice staff, good location.

Disliked: That wasnt clean and the bathroom is a lil bit gross.


The property's response is

Hello there. Thank you for your comments. Our hostel is very busy and folks are coming in and out all the time, so we do also count on guests to be courteous to one another in helping us keep the place looking great. We wish you would have let us know about the bathroom while you were still with us, so we could have solved it for you right away. But we will inform our housekeeping team to make sure everything is great for all the customers. Safe travels!

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very nice and neat and tidy. Well kept and friendly. Good amount of activities.

Disliked: Lacking the "it" factor that some other, often cheaper and less well kept places have. Can't really complain though.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the staff here. They're all super friendly and really helpful. There's also a good, relaxed atmosphere. Facilities and rooms are clean and there's everything you could need in a hostel here.

Disliked: I thought it was a little pricey considering that the season is over. Otherwise, I was very happy with my stay!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Sara, and thank you for your comments. HI Toronto is so great that it has kept on busy until now, it's like summer has never left, even though the temperatures outside are getting closer and closer to zero. However, our great member discount is always available for those who have a membership card. For those who don't, don't freak out, you can register at the time of check in and get your member discount too!! Enjoy your travels

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice deals to see the city.

Disliked: Could've been cleaner. Does not have enough towels.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked everything about this hostel. is common in hostels cleanup is left out, and in Toronto HI hygiene of the place is very good. Surely point out to friends and relatives.

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Cavern Café in the basement, where you can have good breakfasts every morning, the patio.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the building was very secure and the staff were very friendly and helpful.I came to Toronto & left by VIA train and the location of the hostel was amazing. It was in walking distance of the train station which was very convenient for me.I would definitely stay at this hostel again and totally recommend it to my friends and family.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very central, nice and helpfull staff and a wonderful patio!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: everyone was awesome had a heap of fun and the people in my room were tops and respected your space and privacy. top three days in toronto bloody loved it.

Disliked: didnt have a pool :-)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability