HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Toronto Toronto

Hostel

76 Church St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Important Information

1. Prices you see are Hostelling International member ones. If you don’t have a membership card, an additional fee of $5 per night, per person, will be charged upon arrival. 2. The mandatory provincial and federal taxes (13%) will be applied at check-in.

Reservations of 9+ people will require full payment by credit card only **before** arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 88%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 91-94 of 94 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The property was centrally located, safe, clean, and provided a lot of activities forthe guests

Disliked: One toilet kept getting clogged on the 4th floor

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location is very centralnice and cosy common areas, especially the pub downstairs

Disliked: staff seems a little spiritlessthere is no privacy in the 10-bed room at all. is could be subdivided with a little (wooden) wall to make it more comfortable

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hey there, thank you for your feedback.
For those who are looking for more privacy, we would recommend not booking a 10 person shared room, but booking shared rooms of less people such as the 4 bed shared rooms, our deluxe rooms or even our double bed private rooms. :)
We hope to see you return soon. Safe travels!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Comfy beds, good bar, staff, facilities.

Disliked: Wifi didn't reach the bedrooms, advertised patio was off limits, construction going on in bathrooms which were old and not that clean, and some power points in room didn't work. Also they had a locker room for bag storage, but it was full so had to arrange with another traveller to share a locker, which wasn't ideal.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback.We will use it to work on more improvements,such as the one already happening in our bathroom! We apologize if the patio being closed was an inconvenience during your stay - usually in places with severe winters like Toronto, patios will be kept closed until its warmer Maybe come back for an awesome summer BBQ? :) We have lockers outside our locker room, any front desk is happy to help our guests find one that is available.We are happy you decided to extend your stay

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location n cleanliness are good!!! Price is reasonable!!!

Disliked: Internet network Wi-Fi is not good enough. Matches are too soft, beds will make noise when rolling around

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean rooms, bins emptied regularly, tidy rooms, good security, always someone on the desk to help, daily activities were good, chilled, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: table wasn't wiped clean from person before when I had breakfast ONCE. All I can think of. Enjoyed my stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Y.
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy your overall experience was awesome. We will use your comments to work on improvements. Safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The room are very clean. We have a bathroom in the bedroom. The staff is very nice and they propose lot of activities.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: - Fantastic location in the city, but still in a safe area.- Detailed free map.- Lots of good activities and tours; the Niagara Falls tour (with or without the CN Tower deal) is worth every cent and makes a brilliant day out.- Lots of seating and great facilities, which are still available after checking out.- Generally feels safe and comfortable, and it's easy to talk to others in the dorms.

Disliked: - It felt very safe until a girl in my dorm had something stolen. The problem is with selfish people, not the hostel, but I suggest making use of all the locker space, especially during the night.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your feedback. Although this was an isolate incident,we definitely agree with you. We have lockers available free of charge inside the rooms, outside the rooms AND a whole locker room full of spaces to secure belongings. Guests only need to lock them up with their own padlocks. Even still, we do also provide padlocks for rental or purchase at the front desk. So, there is no reason why anyone would prefer to leave their belongings unlocked and unattended rather than securing them!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: ALL OF THINGS

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location, "to do" board

Disliked: Its a huge hostel

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Nice staff, good location.

Disliked: That wasnt clean and the bathroom is a lil bit gross.


The property's response is

Hello there. Thank you for your comments. Our hostel is very busy and folks are coming in and out all the time, so we do also count on guests to be courteous to one another in helping us keep the place looking great. We wish you would have let us know about the bathroom while you were still with us, so we could have solved it for you right away. But we will inform our housekeeping team to make sure everything is great for all the customers. Safe travels!

Check Availability