HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of York University Home

Hostel | 389 Murray Ross Pky, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M3J 1A1

53.3% Overall Rating

66 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2013)

"Travelling solo, I appreciate the room rate for one is the lowest. Good value for what you pay. University residence, not a full service hotel so you're given independence. Friendly staff"

Read all York University Home reviews

Facilities

  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE REMAINING BALANCE IS TO BE PAID IN CASH ON ARRIVAL. IT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO LET US KNOW WHAT TIME YOU WILL BE HERE. Please COUNT ALL CHILDREN WHEN YOU BOOK THE ROOMS. IF YOU CAN NOT COME HERE ON TIME, PLEASE DO LET US KNOW. YOUR BOOKING IS CONFIRMED by the agency for us. PRINT OUT AND SHOW THE HOUSE MANAGER.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Global Guest House of Toronto
35.36 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 9 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
25.96 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
Planet Traveler
27.75 USD

Hostel 93.3% 199 reviews
Urban Living Suites
76.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Deluxe Inn
17.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 72.6% 5 reviews
Toronto Travellers Home
34.01 USD

Hostel 49.6% 493 reviews
Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
53.3%

Overall Rating

66 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'York University Home'

Atmosphere
46.4%
Location
54.4%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
49.6%
Staff
59.2%
Value
59.2%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 105 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 November 2013

Liked: Very close to York University.

Disliked: Shower head was on the verge of breaking, no toilet paper or soap.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 August 2013

Liked: The only thing that was sreally good for me was the location.

Disliked: I have listed all these things in my description of the property above.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travelling solo, I appreciate the room rate for one is the lowest. Good value for what you pay. University residence, not a full service hotel so you're given independence. Friendly staff

Disliked: Far from downtown Toronto

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Diane Reibling

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 January 2013 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the area where it was,easy axcess to hwy 400 and 401.I liked the upgrade they gave me

Disliked: I disliked the parking,had to live early to not get a parking ticket.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Neil Edelman

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Bus stop out front. Quiet in December. No hassle.

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice and clean. There was also internet service.

Disliked: It was rather far from Toronto.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping

27 October 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dangerous, dirty, expensive, and very unfriendly people. I stayed 2 nights (paid for 14) and had to leave because of the loud noise at 3 and 4 am. They offered me no refund and no apology for the noise. They didn't care as soon a they had my money.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012

Liked: The accommodation was cheap, other than that nothing.

Disliked: The room was dirty, there were hairs all over the bedding which smelled. The bathroom had a funny smell. The walls had yellow stains/splaters on them. The floor of the shower was grimy and I did not dare get in without wearing flip flops. The room was dusty with lots of cobwebs. There were two broken TVs in our room and a fridge which broke in the night and flooded the room with dirty water. The floor was tiled and so became very slippy. We tried to find a mop or clothes to dry the floor but all utensils were dirty. The kitchen was directly outside our room, which was also dirty. People were cooking late at night and as there was at least a two inch gap under the door we could hear them clearly and smell the food. The house we stayed in was clearly not a hostel but rather a place where foreign students live, with a spare room or two.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Neil O'Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012

Liked: The site manager was a nice guy. Tried to help us as much as he could. Also got a better room than we booked. Very secure for storing bags.

Disliked: Bad location, Not very clean and organised on arrival without the right bed sheets available. Site owned by the same guy as the toronto traveller's home and getting a better room than we booked seemed like good fortune rather than anything else. Didn't have the room we booked available in the traveller's home(double bed instead of twin room).

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

26 August 2012

Liked: near the bus and university if u need it

Disliked: very rude, had to change rooms 2 times. booked a dorm and the final room i arrived in had one double bed. two travellers arrived in the same dorm as me later and had to wait until 10.30pm for the manager bring in two mattresses so they could sleep on the floor after hastling him on the phone. bad organisational skills and couldnt help me with any info i wanted to know about toronto like busses or taxi. had to wait at door for mins before i was taken to my room down the street in his car. he then yelled at me for shutting his van door wrong said i could have broken the handle. he was stressed and racist about his boss but he shouldnt take that out on his customers. i wouldnt stay here again

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Creighton

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 August 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for your money and friendly staff!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

12 August 2012

Liked: wifi

Disliked: rumori notturni , pulizia, mancanza totale di appendiabiti

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

10 August 2012

Liked: Niegboroughs

Disliked: Management style interior care of property lack of care in preperation of ourv stay

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012

Liked: i got my own room with a toilet and basin

Disliked: Whole room was filthy, had a tv in room that didnt work, bar fridge that was full of mold, no toilet paper, kitchen was growing mold and didnt know where the shower was. Call for 3 days before i arrived to inform them of when i would be checking in as they ask but no answer till i got to the place and rang them over 5 times. They also walked into my room a few times because they forgot when i was checking out so they were checking if i was still there

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 July 2012

Liked: the people helped me out

Disliked: There was no room ready for me & no-one to meet me

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Wolf Schmutterer

Alone

City break

04 July 2012

Liked: This was my message to Hostelbookers: How much more must I suffer before I can cancel a Hostelbookers reservation free of charge because of a fraudulent offer? I booked the "York University Home" in Toronto for 3 nights. It looked like a typical student accomodation which is rented out to other guests in summer. I especially picked the York because it is located in the suburbs as there is no free parking downtown. On the arrival date I arrived at the given address by car at 5 p.m. No one was there, just 3 mobile nos. by the manager to call. He explained me that my room has not been cleaned yet (though check-in started at noon) and he is not willing to do so in the near future. The only way is to go downtown to another address. This is marked as "University Apartment, 16 Willison Square, Toronto, ON M5T 1E8, Canada" on Google Maps. That's in Chinatown where I was dispatched, according to TomTom 18.9 km off my original place @ York. Do I really have to accept this location change??? Part 2 below.

Disliked: Part 2: The new place is a 4 sqm cell without windows or ventilation smelling accordingly. The offer says "aircondition". I was not given the minimum service of a towel. The bathroom door can't be locked. All in all: this place is inacceptable. And the parking bill practically doubles the price compared to the York. Furthermore: the "final price" I was supposed to pay of 67.50 Can$ was increased by 13% tax. As usual in America taxes are not included in the price calculation, as usual the manager (or Hostelbookers) forgets this to mention in the offer, even this is mandatory when you are doing business in Europe. The VAT is 13% in Ontario - just tell customers the real price they have to pay. So I was 18.9 kms away from the original place, which leads to further parking costs in an hole which really has nothing to do with the description whatsoever paying an increased price. There is absolutely nothing true about this offer. After the 2nd night I changed places and threw away the 3rd night. Hostelbookers reimbursed me only the deposit. STAY AWAY!!!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2012

Liked: Le prix et la fraîcheur de la chambre étaient corrects

Disliked: La chambre été vraiment sale, la couette et le matelat dégageait une forte odeur de transpiration et les pièces communes n'étaient pas du tout entretenues ni par les autre habitant, ni par le personnel donc tout l'appartement avait une forte odeur bien désagréable. Le quartier n'était pas rassurant. Et le fait d'être logé dans un sous sol n'ai pas plaisant.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012

Liked: separate shower

Disliked: was dirty, staff rarely seen and not able to speak English, money was charged on credit card although I transferred it into te owner's account

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 June 2012

Liked: decent building and good location if you have business to do at york university.

Disliked: every blanket and sheet had numerous stains. the floors were very dirty. uncomfortable and sterile vibe in general as compared to other hostels ive been to. Owner charged me a little more than quoted on the site.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Mary Cathleen Patolot

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 April 2012 Mary Cathleen would recommend this property

Liked: location is good

Disliked: bed sheet and blankets are old that seems like dirty. curtain was dirty. fridge was bit dirty. bed bottoms are bit dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yunuskhan pathan

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 April 2012 yunuskhan would recommend this property

Liked: it's good and clean house

Disliked: the location is far from city

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's alright and convenient

Disliked: To many rooms for 1 house.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to campus so if that's what you need most and are on a tight budget, I would recommend this place. Security seems pretty good.

Disliked: It's perhaps not the cleanest (stained sheets, unswept floor), it's a bit odd when you open your front door and it's the washroom you have to walk through to get to the room, be aware that he'll charge you tax on the room rate (even though it's not stated on the hostel website when booking) and the walls are very thin so depending on who's staying there (two nights were good but on the weekend lots of loud music and some girl screaming late at night doing who knows what with her equally loud boyfriend). But what it comes down to is you get what you pay for, if you want something fancy and nice then you'll have to spend the extra money to get it:)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 November 2011

Liked: Good security

Disliked: Very far out of the way; some channels on cable were unwatchable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 November 2011

Liked: The neighborhood

Disliked: Dirtyness


See all Toronto hostels