HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Toronto Travellers Home

Hostel | 588 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1H5

49.6% Overall Rating

276 out of 493 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

LI LIAN CHONG thinks…

"the management tries their best to provide the best room available to you. the worker is also very accommodative. the room did not have a fan nor air cond and we asked if we could be provided a fan…"

Read all Toronto Travellers Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
42.96 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
Planet Traveler
27.75 USD

Hostel 93.3% 199 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
Urban Living Suites
76.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
University of Toronto Residences - New College
25.96 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
49.6%

Overall Rating

276 out of 493 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Toronto Travellers Home'

Atmosphere
40.0%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
40.8%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
45.6%
Value
55.2%
Safety
53.6%
Refine your results Showing 308 of 352 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katharina Noffke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

02 July 2014 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: the location in chinatown is really good

Disliked: not that clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LI LIAN CHONG

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 LI LIAN would recommend this property

Liked: the management tries their best to provide the best room available to you. the worker is also very accommodative. the room did not have a fan nor air cond and we asked if we could be provided a fan and they actually managed to place an AC in our room which made us very very satisfied and happy customers!

Disliked: they have a couple of locations and you could be relocated to a different location

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

07 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: beds were hard.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

08 April 2014

Liked: cheaper and service was good.

Disliked: Cleanliness and very cold..we were stayed cold night..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

TUOYU WU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 TUOYU would recommend this property

Liked: It is relatively clean and extremely convenient

Disliked: he furniture is obsolete and there is smell in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe

Disliked: It was not quiet. At night some people were talking in the corridor. I also heard banging of doors at night.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Karolina Sadlocha

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013

Liked: Is the worst hostel on the world! Is dirty, any reception, any staff!!!! is terrible! bad smelling!!! if u dont get drank, dont stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: i dont like anything!!!!

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013

Liked: Location was more or less good

Disliked: The room was incredibly dirty, including the matrass cover. There was no linnen, luckily I always travel with my own sleeping bag. Huge bugs, dirty shower curtain. Discovered that the permanent resident on the ground floor is a drug dealer, be prepared to meet some junks. Have not seen any staff except for the guy that I had to call to check me in. Not even worth one dollar, ended up staying 3 nights because other last minute options were too expensive. I've stayed in over 100 hostels woldwide, this is my first negative review, that's how bad it was.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013

Liked: Cheap accommodation.

Disliked: Street side room made it hard to sleep from the street noise.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

carmella jonathan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: the place was dirty and smelled bad. no staff on duty. roaches and bugs.

Disliked: everything.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 September 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything! You should not stay there!!! Bad neighbourhood, the building is disgusting. It smells like... It's sooo dirty. Honestly, you should book another hostel! As we arrived at the house, nobody was there. The door was locked and everything looked so dirty. And there was a phone and a note, that we have to call the owner. The phone was disgusting. But I took it to make the call. And suerprise - it didn't work. We gave up after an Hour and stayed in a hotel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Andrew DeMarco

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2013

Liked: I liked how cheap the place was $65 a person average for 3 nights is hard to beat. I also liked that there was cheap parking nearby so I could keep my car parked while visiting.

Disliked: It was far from a lot of the places I wanted to see in Toronto. Many were over an hours walk away. Also the place had a sketchy feel to it. My shower was non functional (completly collapsed) and was collapsed in such a way as to make using the toilet difficult. The sink leaked water onto the floor sometimes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient

Disliked: Almost nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2013

Liked: At least we got the room

Disliked: Dirty, DIRTY, dirty. Bugs ans hairs everywhere. "bathroom" way to small! - could Not close the door to the bathroom while using the toilet. Never seen such a hostel before.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: Located in Chinatown so the environment is not really good. However the hostel is fairly clean.

Disliked: Staff is not particularly friendly. The private washroom is extremely narrow. Sound insulation is not good.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Miltiadis Georgiopoulos

Alone

Business / conference

16 July 2013

Liked: Good location, value for money (really cheap). If you need something really cheap and can handle a dirty room and sometimes a tricky staff, you can book it.

Disliked: Dirty room (no cleaning from staff !!!), dirty linen (sheet, blanket) given only on demand and not always, no staff or uncooperative - deceptive staff some of the days

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in the heart of Toronto, close to many hubs for public transit. It was clean, the staff knew the area very well, and it was cheap! Toronto Traveller's Home is great for anyone looking to see Toronto on a budget!

Disliked: n/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and building were super clean and the location is great to get to different part of the city. Good accommodations for the price. Rebecca the daytime manager is also very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing really

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Crowley

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

26 February 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good value, great location.

Disliked: Everything was totally fine. No complaints.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to bus terminal, quiet

Disliked: looks a bit dodgy, there is no reception or personnel there to help you. somebody just comes when you show up. at the beginning, i kind of got scared, but it worked out fine at the end.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Falk

Alone

City break

05 February 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, in Chinatown and Kensington market.

Disliked: Not great soundproofing between the walls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Milczarczyk

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 January 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the room I was staying in don't let the bad reviews fool you this place is quite cozy

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

kalpesh kapadia

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2013 kalpesh would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really in downtown so it's walkable distance if you wanna hang around in downtown ... Easy to find the place ...

Disliked: Room is smaller then expected and showed on Internet ..

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice that it was located right in Chinatown. We had a triple private room with our own washroom and it seemed fairly clean. The staff we encountered seemed friendly. The free wifi was nice. You can't beat the price.

Disliked: It looks very dilapidated from the outside. When we arrived, we were told we were actually staying in another hostel a 5 minute walk away (on Willson Square), and it was also very run down / sketchy looking, but seemed fine on the inside. Our triple private room had beds and a folding table. Out of the 25+ hostels I've stayed in, in Europe and North America, I'd say this was the 2nd sketchiest looking hostel I've ever stayed at, but it was just overnight and I'd say you get what you pay for. If you literally just need a place to sleep in a convenient location for as cheap as possible, this place seemed ok for that.


See all Toronto hostels