HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Toronto Travellers Home

Hostel | 588 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1H5

50.9% Overall Rating

272 out of 486 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/09/2013)

Karolina Sadlocha thinks…

"Is the worst hostel on the world! Is dirty, any reception, any staff!!!! is terrible! bad smelling!!! if u dont get drank, dont stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Read all Toronto Travellers Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.33

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Grange Hotel
35.81 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 78.9% 40 reviews
University Apartment
13.60 USD

Hostel 48.9% 114 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
41.70 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Chinatown Travelers Home
13.60 USD

Hostel 55.5% 297 reviews
Planet Traveler
28.10 USD

Hostel 92.7% 152 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.86 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.29 USD

Hostel 80.8% 35 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
19.94 USD

Hostel 87.4% 675 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
50.9%

Overall Rating

272 out of 486 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Toronto Travellers Home'

Atmosphere
40.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
44.8%
Value
58.4%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 305 of 346 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bulat Ziganshin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2010 Bulat would recommend this property

Liked: Very conveniently located in the center of downtown.

Disliked: Our room was located in the basement and it was very damp in it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy access

Disliked: lack of elevator

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2010

Liked: the location is great. right in kensington market and china town you can easily walk everywhere downtown. also great: international phone calls for 25 cent per call.

Disliked: first of all it was hard to find because there was no sign saying that it is the travellers home. then the manager wasn't even there when i arrived and i had to wait about an hour to be let in. some rooms (including mine) are located in the basement without a window. the rooms are small and i had lots of hair and dust in my room. the bathrooms and kitchen were dirty as well. all in all i was glad i just had to spend the nights there.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Despite the MANY problems I experienced, which generally made it an unpleasant experience, the room I ended up with was clean, a good size and with a good bed etc. The location is also excellent.

Disliked: The service! When I arrived in the room I discovered the tv wasn't working and since I had booked (and was paying for) a room with a tv, I suggested they could fix it or reduce the rates. The guy I spoke to was entirely inflexible, unreasonable and down-right rude. I have travelled a lot over the last few years and despite staying in some questionable hostels, I have never encountered such rude behaviour. He was insulting, rude and I really have never been spoken to in that manner before at a place where I am paying them money! I would have walked out only I had already wasted enough time being moved from building to building and standing like a lemon as the staff stopped me mid-sentence to talk on the phone. I am considering putting in an official complaint, but as I wasn't bothered once I had paid, I generally enjoyed my stay.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Charlesworth

Alone

Events / festivals

21 July 2010

Liked: It was fairly easy to get to the centre of town. Also, the owners managed to find an adapter plug to lend me, and on one occasion they were clueless in a helpful way (because they forgot to add tax on the bill and then said it didn't matter as it was their mistake).

Disliked: My room was in the basement, so it had no natural light and being 5'10", I could not stand upright in the corridor outside it: there were quite a few basement rooms. It was also a complete tip: apart from the aforementioned wildlife, there was a huge tangle of electrical cables on one wall, a hole in one of the other walls (at the top, near where I'd heard the rodent-like noise, so I was afraid I was going to get some unwanted animal visitors), the clothes hooks fell off the wall when I tried to hang clothes on them and the aircon grille had apprently fallen off and been stuck back on with masking tape. The pubes everywhere in the bathrooms were quite revolting. Also, the location was convenient, but I wasn't sure it was safe as there was evidence of low-level crime about: the outside wall of the hostel had graffiti on it, one of the digits of the house number was missing and the reason I woke up in the middle of the night was that there was a drunken row going on outside.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Matt Minshall

Alone

Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: It is what it is, a small dive place to lay your head at night. During the day you're out and about anyway. At least the AC was cool, and the beds weren't horrible.

Disliked: The toilet was against the wall, you either sat sideways or backwards haha. The staff didn't really speak English, and many guests didn't have a room when they showed up

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Miren Pastor

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2010 Miren would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Miren left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: very small room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010

Liked: Free/fast Internet

Disliked: room/toilets are not clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 July 2010

Liked: The hostel at 588 Dundas street is a very good location. It's in Chinatown and very close to Kensington Market, so it's easy to get cheap and delicious food and very convenient to downtown. The hostel close to York University has bigger rooms, and it is in a quiet residential neighborhood.

Disliked: The owner is crazy for money. It's very dishonest of them to use a hostel situated in a good location to attract customers for their other hostels or apartments. They did not respect their customer's privacy. One day when I went back to my room, I found the door of the room was open. How terrifying it was! The room at 588 Dundas street was extremely small, and it has no window, no air conditioning, nor fridge as they advertised. But it was clean and had no bad smell. The room at the apartment near York University was bigger, but it was basically an empty with a bed, a tiny table, a tiny TV, and a bathroom. There was even no tissue or a trash can in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fue facil de encontrar y nos llevaron a otra propiedad cercana, tambien de ellos. La Srita que nos atiende es muy amable aunque es dificil de entender su ingles pero siempre esta al pendiente de nuestras necesidades.Esta super bien comunicada!!!!!

Disliked: la cocina esta sucia pero eso depende de los usuarios hasta cierto punto.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ALISON HARTE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 July 2010 ALISON would recommend this property

Liked: you get what you pay for - good location in china town and next to kensington market

Disliked: open plan small room for two with toilet and shower in roon

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2010

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: What a tip! This place is DISGUSTING! Being regular travellers, we have never stayed in anything so dire! We arrived at Toronto Aiport and were picked up by one of the employees of the hostel. En route, the driver pulled over on the highway and told us that we would have to stay in a different hostel, 30 minutes outside the city centre. We had little option but to take it. The "hostel" was situated on the campus of York University, with no amenities nearby. Upon entering the building, the smell nearly knocked us out! Upstairs, the bedding was smelly and dirty and "never changed", according to the proprietor. We insisted that he change the sheets and duvet. Under the bed were empty cans and chip packets and a condom. What a hole! In the other room, there were no towels and the second bed was a mattress on the floor. The bathroom was filthy, with hairs everywhere. When we finally got some "clean" towels and bed linen, they were filled with pubic hairs. There was also no Wifi connection. The next morning, the driver arrived to bring us to the original accommodation in downtown Toronto...i.e. the Toronto Travellers Hostel. First he tried to persuade us to stay on the campus for the additional nights, but we refused. Upon arrival at the Travellers Home, we were shown to our rooms, which were connected and shared one bathroom (we booked 2 bathrooms for 2 rooms). The floor was covered with hair, the bathroom was filthy and mould was growing all across the ceiling. The rubbish bins in the hall were unemptied and the smell was unbearable. When we complained to the driver, he informed us that the owner was unavailable and refused to offer a discount on the price. He eventually gave us a measly $19 off our bill. We felt very pressurised to pay. When we asked for a receipt, he promised to give us one but never returned with it once he got the cash. At this stage, our situation was so unbearable, we decided we had enough and left. A cab driver told us later that this is one of the most dangerous areas in the city, renowned for drug dealing. Stay here at your own peril but be warned...it's really really bad!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carlos jose nascimento

With my spouse / partner

02 July 2010 carlos jose would recommend this property

Liked: clean, well locate and ship..if you want a ship place to sleep, close totoronto downtown is here..but if you want a real hotel find other

Disliked: carlos jose left no negative feedback.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

28 June 2010

Liked: Nothing good. Ruined the restfulness of our stay. We should have couchsurfed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 June 2010

Liked: Location is close to downtown, and the place is inexpensive. However - you get what you pay for, including bed bugs....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff and great location. definately worth the price!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 June 2010

Liked: We stayed at a secluded property whch was not safe at all. No office or reception services, no room service or cleaning of room, cob webs everywhere, bad smell everywhere in stairs etc.No cloak room or facility to store luggage for few hours so we actually had to pay for the room for extra hours because of late flight timings. Staff was helpful. We were charged tax extra although we were not told about this at the time of booking.Overall not a good experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can't ask for a better location, or a better price. Its small, and not the cleanest, but if your just looking for a place to rest your head its great. Not only is it in the heart of Chinatown, Its right next to Kensington market. It's not a typical hostel, so dont plan on hanging out in a common room and meeting people. But, if you need a cheap stay, and plan on spending all day out and about sight-seeing, its worth it. Oh, and dont let the outside scare you off, the locks on the doors work!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you think that Toronto is about Chinatown and Kensington market, then you can't stay in a better place than this. $35 for ensuite, tv, wireless, comfortable bed (I've stayed in three different rooms, and they have all been comfortable), clean bedding. Just bring your own towel and you're all set.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

B. Elmensouri

11 June 2010 B. would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the private room with own shower/restroom. The beds were larger and the room was cleaner than expected. It was near 2 streetcarstops and close to everything downtown. Didn't like that we got ants but the nice lady that runs the place quickly took care of that and we never saw them again. The shower/toilet does not have a door but a curtain, so not a lot of privacy but you get use to that. They do have wifi but you have to get outside the room to use it. All in all a good place to stay if you're looking for a clean room for a budget price!

Disliked: B. left no negative feedback.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Carina Pereira

01 June 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Carina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very accommodating host - Wendy. Thank you. Will definitely be back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 May 2010

Liked: It was in a great location and the owners were very nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Toronto hostels