HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Toronto Travellers Home

Hostel | 588 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1H5

50.9% Overall Rating

272 out of 486 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/09/2013)

Karolina Sadlocha thinks…

"Is the worst hostel on the world! Is dirty, any reception, any staff!!!! is terrible! bad smelling!!! if u dont get drank, dont stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Read all Toronto Travellers Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.37

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Grange Hotel
35.84 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 77.7% 41 reviews
University Apartment
13.61 USD

Hostel 50.4% 115 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
41.74 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Chinatown Travelers Home
13.61 USD

Hostel 55.5% 297 reviews
Planet Traveler
28.13 USD

Hostel 93.1% 153 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.90 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.31 USD

Hostel 80.8% 35 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
19.96 USD

Hostel 87.4% 675 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
50.9%

Overall Rating

272 out of 486 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Toronto Travellers Home'

Atmosphere
40.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
44.8%
Value
58.4%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 305 of 346 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zhao Cai

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 December 2010 Zhao would recommend this property

Liked: central located in downtown Toronto within Chinatown area, zero access to Asian food.Fabulaous!

Disliked: room somewhat small, and setting's bit lousy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: df

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: df

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best of this hostel. Situated in downtown Toronto, close to everything! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I loved the privacy. I stayed in the top floor room it was almost like having my own appartment (without the kitchen, but with fridge and microwave facilities). bathroom and hot water too! Laundry also available downstairs...and if you dont have a towel, its also available! Cosy, at home feeling with the basics for a fair price!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthias Huthmair

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 November 2010 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and clean

Disliked: no common room to meet other travellers

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

mathieu dulauroy

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2010

Liked: To have Private room

Disliked: a lot of things like staff, that you have to open the door on toilet for your legs (it's cool for the other) , dirty under the beds, ...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was downtown. There was cable and wifi. That's about it.

Disliked: It was not what was expected. You can't even close the door whilst using the washroom it's so small. They rush you out at exactly 12:00. We paid for 4 beds and got 3. It looks horrendous on the outside the doorbell is an old cordless phone receiver. There was not one other traveler that we saw. It was just very sketchy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt very comfy and homelike. We had cable, refridgerator, microwave and shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Crawford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010

Liked: Was close to everything, really good location for people without a car.

Disliked: Room was too small, just enough room for a bed the shower and the toilet and also nothing to cook in eg pots and pans or eat with so you need all your own stuff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melina Freitas

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa

15 October 2010 Melina would recommend this property

Liked: i like the staff

Disliked: Melina left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Julien Duez

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

11 October 2010

Liked: Clean and very well located.

Disliked: First, they "forgot" my reservation. There was no room for us! But when the woman on the reception saws that I wasn't ok to let go and find another place to stay, she decided to give us the room of someone else. His mistake? This poor guy wasn't arrived yet, so he lost his reservation... The room for 2 was so small that I felt like sleeping in a closet. And they're lying about internet connexion. No one can connect a single pc to the Hostel's wifi network. It just doesn't work.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the affordable price

Disliked: the fact that the TV cable wasn't working

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was clean and it had a TV and a fridge

Disliked: the walls were quite thin , so we could hear people's talking from next rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010

Liked: good location

Disliked: does not have a reception hall. so if we need any help there isn't anybody around

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2010

Liked: I stayed one night at this hostel with my girlfriend, cuz we both wanted to save some money. At first we hesitated to make a reservation, but this hostel is one of the cheapest ones in Toronto. What are you expecting from the cheapest hostel? You get what you pay for. In the end, we both were satisfied with the facility. It was worth of the money we paid. Don't expect too much. Just enjoy what you pay for. (Sounds sarcastic, but it's true.) I hope you guys enjoy Toronto as my girlfriend and I did.

Disliked: At that night, I was going to ask if there was another bathroom to take a shower, but when I went to the office, the staff was not there. I just waited till the one who was taking a shower at the momonet finished. LOL..

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: Dirty, no english-speaking stuff. Rooms were double-booked and they wanted to give us a room in the basement with blood on the wall without bathroom for the same price.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

09 September 2010

Liked: Nothing. My worst experience in a hostel EVER!

Disliked: Where do I start? First of all, our room that I booked WEEKS ahead and confirmed MORE THAN ONCE before arriving wasn't available at the time of arrival. Very disappointing when arriving after an 8h international flight and a jetlag. The hostel was booked out. They offered us to stay in a room in the basement that looked like a lumber-room. The ceiling was so low that I could't stand up straight, and there was blood on the wall; the "high speed Internet, free of charge, wireless and wired" didn't work at all, neither wireless nor wired; the all-chinese staff doesn't speak A WORD of English; the whole place smells like mold and rotten garbage (no kidding!); and the rooms are so small that you can't really turn around in it, not to mention having a big luggage; as I said: my worst experience in a hostel that I had so far. And the prices for THIS kind of service are ridiculous.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010

Liked: Reasonable price

Disliked: the room

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010

Liked: nothing, i didn't even see the property that was in the adress on the hostelbooker site.

Disliked: everything.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Mina Soleiman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all the staff dont speak english, very unorganized

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Elena Tur

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010

Liked: Location, free WiFi

Disliked: Small rooms, not very clean, staff speaks poor English

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location - in China Town, so very central and easy to walk everywhere or catch the street car.A good shower with plenty of hot water.Washing machines a great help.

Disliked: No sink in room - just toilet and shower but not a huge problem for me. Overall the room was clean but hadn't been given a thorough clean on skirtings and door frames etc in a while.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Richard Hull

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Business / conference

02 August 2010

Liked: Excellent location right in the heart of Chinatown. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Wireless internet access didn't work; rather smelly introduction to the hostel because the tiny entrance hall is crammed with people's shoes; "en-suite" actually means having the toilet and shower unit in the same tiny room; some of the staff were very noisy late at night; I saw a LOT of cockroach powder on the floor of someone else's basement room - a good hostel should not need to sprinkle so much roach powder; I was a bit worried about fire safety as my room also had one of the fire exit doors and I think the 'room' used to actually be the corridor to the fire exit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and the staff were very friendly. For the price we paid, I would recommend it.

Disliked: The stairs were small and cramped to climb. The internet only worked half the time we were there due to network problems. The private bathroom consisted of a toilet and shower in the room itself, not cut off.


See all Toronto hostels