We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Toronto Travellers Home

Hostel | 588 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1H5

49.6% Overall Rating

276 out of 493 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

LI LIAN CHONG thinks…

"the management tries their best to provide the best room available to you. the worker is also very accommodative. the room did not have a fan nor air cond and we asked if we could be provided a fan…"

Read all Toronto Travellers Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Grange Hotel
39.83 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
University Apartment
26.85 USD

Hostel 48.0% 133 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
35.80 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Chinatown Travelers Home
31.33 USD

Hostel 59.0% 308 reviews
Planet Traveler
27.75 USD

Hostel 93.5% 200 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.23 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
Urban Living Suites
76.08 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
University of Toronto Residences - New College
25.96 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
49.6%

Overall Rating

276 out of 493 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Toronto Travellers Home'

Atmosphere
40.0%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
40.8%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
45.6%
Value
55.2%
Safety
53.6%
Refine your results Showing 308 of 352 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap and relatively clean and meets the purpose

Disliked: Not much stuff in the kitchen

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laura Brown

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 January 2011

Liked: Half decent location. That's it.

Disliked: The "staff" were unhelpful and rude. We booked a 4 bed private with an ensuite and showed up and they first of all, ignored us for 20 minutes while she talked on the phone and then told us they only had a room with 1 queen size available. No point in reserving a room ahead of time with these guys apparently. We came back after dinner and they begrudgingly kicked some guy out of his room for my other two friends - the floor was soaked and they claim they changed the sheets but definitely did not. Staff barely spoke English and were clearly making fun of us with their friends - they even went so far as to yell at us for asking what was going on while we were waiting for our second room. Found a vile and used cotton swabs under my bed. I have travelled all over Asia and Europe and this is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Worth it to spend the extra money and stay at a hotel to avoid this disaster.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: none

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zhao Cai

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

25 December 2010 Zhao would recommend this property

Liked: central located in downtown Toronto within Chinatown area, zero access to Asian food.Fabulaous!

Disliked: room somewhat small, and setting's bit lousy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: df

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place nice staff free wifi local call clean rooms i like it thank you

Disliked: df

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best of this hostel. Situated in downtown Toronto, close to everything! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I loved the privacy. I stayed in the top floor room it was almost like having my own appartment (without the kitchen, but with fridge and microwave facilities). bathroom and hot water too! Laundry also available downstairs...and if you dont have a towel, its also available! Cosy, at home feeling with the basics for a fair price!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free wifi

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthias Huthmair

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 November 2010 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and clean

Disliked: no common room to meet other travellers

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

mathieu dulauroy

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2010

Liked: To have Private room

Disliked: a lot of things like staff, that you have to open the door on toilet for your legs (it's cool for the other) , dirty under the beds, ...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was downtown. There was cable and wifi. That's about it.

Disliked: It was not what was expected. You can't even close the door whilst using the washroom it's so small. They rush you out at exactly 12:00. We paid for 4 beds and got 3. It looks horrendous on the outside the doorbell is an old cordless phone receiver. There was not one other traveler that we saw. It was just very sketchy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt very comfy and homelike. We had cable, refridgerator, microwave and shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Crawford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2010

Liked: Was close to everything, really good location for people without a car.

Disliked: Room was too small, just enough room for a bed the shower and the toilet and also nothing to cook in eg pots and pans or eat with so you need all your own stuff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melina Freitas

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa

15 October 2010 Melina would recommend this property

Liked: i like the staff

Disliked: Melina left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Julien Duez

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

11 October 2010

Liked: Clean and very well located.

Disliked: First, they "forgot" my reservation. There was no room for us! But when the woman on the reception saws that I wasn't ok to let go and find another place to stay, she decided to give us the room of someone else. His mistake? This poor guy wasn't arrived yet, so he lost his reservation... The room for 2 was so small that I felt like sleeping in a closet. And they're lying about internet connexion. No one can connect a single pc to the Hostel's wifi network. It just doesn't work.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the affordable price

Disliked: the fact that the TV cable wasn't working

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was clean and it had a TV and a fridge

Disliked: the walls were quite thin , so we could hear people's talking from next rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010

Liked: good location

Disliked: does not have a reception hall. so if we need any help there isn't anybody around

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2010

Liked: I stayed one night at this hostel with my girlfriend, cuz we both wanted to save some money. At first we hesitated to make a reservation, but this hostel is one of the cheapest ones in Toronto. What are you expecting from the cheapest hostel? You get what you pay for. In the end, we both were satisfied with the facility. It was worth of the money we paid. Don't expect too much. Just enjoy what you pay for. (Sounds sarcastic, but it's true.) I hope you guys enjoy Toronto as my girlfriend and I did.

Disliked: At that night, I was going to ask if there was another bathroom to take a shower, but when I went to the office, the staff was not there. I just waited till the one who was taking a shower at the momonet finished. LOL..

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: Dirty, no english-speaking stuff. Rooms were double-booked and they wanted to give us a room in the basement with blood on the wall without bathroom for the same price.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

09 September 2010

Liked: Nothing. My worst experience in a hostel EVER!

Disliked: Where do I start? First of all, our room that I booked WEEKS ahead and confirmed MORE THAN ONCE before arriving wasn't available at the time of arrival. Very disappointing when arriving after an 8h international flight and a jetlag. The hostel was booked out. They offered us to stay in a room in the basement that looked like a lumber-room. The ceiling was so low that I could't stand up straight, and there was blood on the wall; the "high speed Internet, free of charge, wireless and wired" didn't work at all, neither wireless nor wired; the all-chinese staff doesn't speak A WORD of English; the whole place smells like mold and rotten garbage (no kidding!); and the rooms are so small that you can't really turn around in it, not to mention having a big luggage; as I said: my worst experience in a hostel that I had so far. And the prices for THIS kind of service are ridiculous.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010

Liked: Reasonable price

Disliked: the room

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010

Liked: nothing, i didn't even see the property that was in the adress on the hostelbooker site.

Disliked: everything.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Mina Soleiman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all the staff dont speak english, very unorganized

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Elena Tur

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010

Liked: Location, free WiFi

Disliked: Small rooms, not very clean, staff speaks poor English


See all Toronto hostels