HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Toronto Travellers Home

Hostel | 588 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1H5

50.9% Overall Rating

272 out of 486 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/09/2013)

Karolina Sadlocha thinks…

"Is the worst hostel on the world! Is dirty, any reception, any staff!!!! is terrible! bad smelling!!! if u dont get drank, dont stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Read all Toronto Travellers Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.40

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Grange Hotel
35.86 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 78.9% 40 reviews
University Apartment
13.62 USD

Hostel 47.8% 113 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
41.77 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Chinatown Travelers Home
13.62 USD

Hostel 55.5% 297 reviews
Planet Traveler
28.15 USD

Hostel 92.0% 151 reviews
kaisar Guest House
49.94 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.33 USD

Hostel 80.8% 35 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
19.97 USD

Hostel 87.4% 675 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
50.9%

Overall Rating

272 out of 486 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Toronto Travellers Home'

Atmosphere
40.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
44.8%
Value
58.4%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 305 of 346 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

04 July 2011

Liked: The girl at the reception was very friendly and helpful, she helped me switch rooms 3 times in 4 nights..

Disliked: rooms, cleanessless...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011

Liked: don't like it.

Disliked: the room is not the same as described.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, got a double instead of the booked budget private room, relatively clean, TV, washing machine and fridge provided, internet worked just fine, good location. Friendly staff and clean, despite what a lot of people say on this website. It was definitely much better than what I expected for this price.

Disliked: Did't see anything wrong

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: WiFi, TV, Location, Price

Disliked: Kichen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After living in China for 6 years, it was nice to stay in an authentic Chinese hostel experience and practice my Mandarin. Besides, it's cheap, conveniently located, and clean. I would stay here again.

Disliked: It's no Ritz Carlton. Our ensuite didn't have a sink, so we used the shower tap and drain (but at least we had an ensuite). We knew what to expect given our experience in China, and it was actually better, but people used to Western standards might not feel the same way.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: upon arrival, they were not expecting us at all, and declared they hadn't received our 10% deposit...they made a big deal about it and demanded more money which of course we refused and eventually they backed up of course...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

01 May 2011

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: I have never seen such a small room. Shower and WC was in the room but without any doors or sth which can separates it from the rest of the room, which means you have no privacy, so go there only with really close friend.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff. I stuffed the toilet bowl with too much tissue and it got clogged. The staff helped me to deal with this problem without any complaints.

Disliked: The cleanliness. The blanket has a weird odour. Besides that, the bathroom is extremely small. The distance between the toilet bowl and door is only 4cm.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011

Liked: None

Disliked: Because it is disgusting

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011

Liked: Probably the location.

Disliked: Extremely dirty room, expecially bathroom. The receptionist could not speak English at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, got a double instead of the booked triple shared room, relatively clean, TV and fridge provided, internet worked just fine, good location

Disliked: in my case ensuite meant that toilet and shower were actually in the SAME room, separated with only a curtain - did not really like that in a shared room... from the top floor it was a long way to get to the electric kettle, separate wash rooms in the basement no real common area where one could sit, eat, meet people

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marianne Chevalier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2011 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: Emplacement super

Disliked: Les chambres sont ultra petites, les toilettes sont dans la chambre, sans porte, donc, aucune intimité!

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011

Liked: WARNING WARNING WARNING: WORST PLACE EVER see below: 1st: I had to go to another place 2nd: It was not clean 3rd: I saw a mouse in my room 4th: A lot of dead insects on the windows beside the bed 5th: Mold in the bathroom 6th: When we complained they cut Internet to "punish us" 7th: They speak in Chinese in front of you and laugh at your face 8th: Bed shits never change 9th: I got no key for my room so I had to wait every day that somebody will open the door 10th: They tried to charge me to pay more than the real price 11th: Different price for the same room and same bed ($12, $17, $20) it's depend who you are 12th: THE WORST PLACE EVER

Disliked: WARNING WARNING WARNING: WORST PLACE EVER see below: 1st: I had to go to another place 2nd: It was not clean 3rd: I saw a mouse in my room 4th: A lot of dead insects on the windows beside the bed 5th: Mold in the bathroom 6th: When we complained they cut Internet to "punish us" 7th: They speak in Chinese in front of you and laugh at your face 8th: Bed shits never change 9th: I got no key for my room so I had to wait every day that somebody will open the door 10th: They tried to charge me to pay more than the real price 11th: Different price for the same room and same bed ($12, $17, $20) it's depend who you are 12th: THE WORST PLACE EVER

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sandra Ulrich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: after telling the housekeeper, that there is rotten food in the fridge she removed it and said "now its ok" while the room was still stinking.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: The dorm was in the basement without daylight and really dirty. Even though it was cheap I wouldn´t go there again.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 March 2011

Liked: Nothing I like on this place

Disliked: Lots pls see above

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 March 2011

Liked: The location wasokay. We had a TV and Internet.

Disliked: It was dirty, the staff was unfriendly and unhelpful, was always in her PJ's, our toilit was 2 cm away from the wall so that you couldn't sit on in, we had to go to stores bathrooms, the lines were dirty the matresses were hard and unconfortable, it always smelled like shit (in the floors) we had to take of our shoes and to put on old flop flops.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anouk TOURLIERE

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2011 Anouk would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, helpful and friendly staff (they acutally do speak English pretty good, despite what a lot of people say on this website), clean, good wireless, pretty comfy beds... It's definitely much nicer than what I expected for this price!

Disliked: There are kitchens but no pans or stuff to cook. It just lacks a kind of living room to relax and meet people, but for a short stay, really, it's a highly good enough place to sleep in!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011

Liked: Easily affordable

Disliked: Dirty bed linen in a run down area of town.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Camiel van Hoorn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Camiel would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap and was on a really good location in chinatown. But is was funny, we had a 3 bed dorm with a double bed and a single bed above each other. The shower and toilet were in the room without a door. I was with a friend only, the room was far to small for 3 people.

Disliked: The toilet in the room. and it was very small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 January 2011

Liked: the price

Disliked: the outside of the property was just nasty... and the staff didnt know how to speak english

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thanks again. This is the 2nd time we've stayed in this hostel and it's great value! The hostel was right in the heart of Chinatown (a budget travellers' paradise in any part of the world). Rooms are very clean. If you're looking for a quite location (without the binge drinkin', young backpackers) it's a great place. The staff is genuinely friendly, but depending on which staff member you get, their english may make communications difficult (you're on the road, deal with it).

Disliked: If you're sharing a ensuite bathroom with a partner, make sure you two are VERY comfortable with each other. There's no enclosure for the toilet, which means NO privacy. However, there is a public toilet in the hallways.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap and relatively clean and meets the purpose

Disliked: Not much stuff in the kitchen

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Laura Brown

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 January 2011

Liked: Half decent location. That's it.

Disliked: The "staff" were unhelpful and rude. We booked a 4 bed private with an ensuite and showed up and they first of all, ignored us for 20 minutes while she talked on the phone and then told us they only had a room with 1 queen size available. No point in reserving a room ahead of time with these guys apparently. We came back after dinner and they begrudgingly kicked some guy out of his room for my other two friends - the floor was soaked and they claim they changed the sheets but definitely did not. Staff barely spoke English and were clearly making fun of us with their friends - they even went so far as to yell at us for asking what was going on while we were waiting for our second room. Found a vile and used cotton swabs under my bed. I have travelled all over Asia and Europe and this is by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed at. Worth it to spend the extra money and stay at a hotel to avoid this disaster.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: none


See all Toronto hostels