HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Toronto Travellers Home

Hostel | 588 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1H5

49.6% Overall Rating

276 out of 493 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

LI LIAN CHONG thinks…

"the management tries their best to provide the best room available to you. the worker is also very accommodative. the room did not have a fan nor air cond and we asked if we could be provided a fan…"

Read all Toronto Travellers Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 46.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Grange Hotel
45.54 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 74.7% 43 reviews
University Apartment
27.60 USD

Hostel 46.4% 131 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
46.00 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Chinatown Travelers Home
32.20 USD

Hostel 56.8% 307 reviews
Planet Traveler
28.52 USD

Hostel 92.2% 187 reviews
kaisar Guest House
50.60 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 27 reviews
Urban Living Suites
78.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.68 USD

Hostel 82.1% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
49.6%

Overall Rating

276 out of 493 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Toronto Travellers Home'

Atmosphere
40.0%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
40.8%
Cleanliness
44.8%
Staff
45.6%
Value
55.2%
Safety
53.6%
Refine your results Showing 308 of 352 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthew Edwards

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value. A private room for 2 for the price of a single dorm bed elsewhere. Location is great, close to market area and 20 min walk from downtown. Felt safe in and around the hostel. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Limited cooking facilities - not many utensils. Rooms very small. Staff not always available if you need anything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Upgraded my room as the one I booked was not available (single no bathroom -> with bathroom). About 7 sq m room with double bed, 2 small tables, bench, phone, small TV, small fridge, window, cloth hanger bar and portable heater. Microwave and sink on every floor, kitchen in basement. Long distance for 50 cents. Could not hear my neighbor play guitar. Feels like a (very) cheap hotel more than a hostel. Staff cooperative, fixed Internet problem fast.

Disliked: Everything look old and due for replacement. Overall the place does not look clean (cracks on floor, fixed hole in wall...) but no sanitary issue (no mice, no mold...). If on room facing street, may hear streetcar if you're a light sleeper. Room on the small side. No closet and no cloth hangers. Seems run by family therefore rarely there may be no staff on the place. Some staff do not speak good English.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012

Liked: 20min walk from downtown

Disliked: For the price, you know that you don't have to expect that much, but the MOUSE REMEDY under the bed....really???????? disgusting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! walking distance to EVERYTHING. Breakfast in Kensington, back for a shower, then off to the city. Bus got into Toronto around 9:30..they let us check in early for no extra cost. En-suite was convenient. Beds were clean. Felt safe the whole time. Host spoke english very well and was welcoming (although we did wake her up on arrival). very quiet/ no street noise.

Disliked: Paper thin walls, lack of color in room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the heart of Chinatown and Kensington, on the tramlne. Clean beds, friendly staff, rigged up 'ensuite' in most rooms now. The front room is big and comfy, but all rooms have tv and a desk, even if that makes floorspace a bit tight.

Disliked: I like it. I've stayed there many times now.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location in Toronto. Nice to have free wi-fi and cable TV in the room.

Disliked: The toilet was IN the room with me.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 October 2011

Liked: Duoble private ensuite= very small room (3x3m) where is bed, small cabin for shower and toilet next to bed, no wall between!!!

Disliked: Duoble private ensuite= very small room (3x3m) where is bed, small cabin for shower and toilet next to bed, no wall between!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Wray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: location, nice staff, free wifi, fridge and microwave to warm up take out. convinience to go everywhere.

Disliked: compare with the price and location, there is nothing to say here. Actually staff is very helpful and good english.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011

Liked: the location next to kensington market, part of the staff

Disliked: it was too expansive for what you got, the mice and cockroaches, the broken kitchen, the dirty bathroom, the dirty fridge, the leaky windows

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dorian Benezet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 October 2011 Dorian would recommend this property

Liked: quieter, compared to others hostels i've done !

Disliked: less contact with the resident of the hostel, it's more like an hotel !!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

19 September 2011

Liked: Location, good facilities: refridgerator, AC, ensuite.

Disliked: There was a rat in my room and I had to leave early

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 September 2011

Liked: Decent location, very cheap, room was as described (budget private triple). Free WiFi

Disliked: Having to move to another hostel, very dirty, no hot water. Rat poison under the bed. Other travellers talked about bed bugs. You get what you pay for.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Steven Davidson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, did the job for a cheap stay in Toronto. A 1-2 minute walk to the Kensington Market which is loaded with amazing food, shops, entertainment, and restaurants. About a 10 minute walk West from St. Patrick Subway Station (University Line). Bedding was obviously cleaned and folded on our beds. We had an air conditioning unit which was nice. Building seemed pretty secure and clean. Noticed no bugs or rodents.

Disliked: For the price I can't complain about the imperfections we experienced. If you want to complain then you obviously shouldn't be staying in cheap hostels expecting the Ritz. For those who are concerned below are my comments on the negatives of the property which really don't phase me for the price. We went to check in and we were told we are actually staying in another building around the corner which we didn't think was a big deal, rather a bonus because it was in a quieter location. The kitchen area was not clean and was kind of gross but that isn't a concern to me because I don't cook when I'm away. The bathroom had some black mold however you can tell they continually try and clean it, it faintly comes back. The beds were extremely hard which would be expected for a bed in China Town. If you have never visited Asia you will probably not like the beds.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jorge Fernandez

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

05 September 2011 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The WORST hotel that I've been in my life. We arrived 2.a.m and the lady at the reception told us that the person that has to go with us to another apartment that it's an hour by car left and it's sleeping. So we can choose or sleep in the street or take the reception room (people knoking in the door during the night, calling to the phone...).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julie Lanusse

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

04 September 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Internet!

Disliked: There was a mouse in the room!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011

Liked: the property was clean

Disliked: noisy all the time, and you had to pay everything, even to leave your bag one hour after your departure,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was really close and convenient to where I needed to be, there was reliable, free wifi and transportation services offered. It was quiet and I felt safe. It has a nice 'at home' atmosphere.

Disliked: The owners didn't speak great english which made communication difficult,

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011

Liked: free internet good location

Disliked: restroom and showers in the bedroom (like bed in restroom) pretty disgusting. kitchen out of order no common room no parking bad english! no charme :(

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, everywhere was in walking distance. Having fridge and tv in the room was very good.

Disliked: The kitchen was not up to standards, ovens broken, not enough dishes or silverware. Ceilings are very low in areas. No common area so lack of atmosphere in the house.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Guoxuan Wang

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

21 August 2011 Guoxuan would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really a good place for those who love to travel in Toronto and stay for a short while. The staff was very hospitable, responsible and helpful in all aspects. The atmosphere was also very clean and tidy for people to have a good stay. Some facilities were very useful and accessible. Enjoyed my stay and conversations with other customers and the staff. Thank you so much! :)

Disliked: Well, it was not a good place for people to cook food and save money in that area. That's all.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011

Liked: cheap

Disliked: woke up with bed bug bites, very upset about that :-/

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Torsten Hofmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 August 2011 Torsten would recommend this property

Liked: it was a really friendly stuff here! Rooms are small, but its enough for sleeping!

Disliked: nothin

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

xin yang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: only ok for those travellers

Disliked: no bed!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a good location accesible to all places ,stores etc

Disliked: toilet and bathroom very small no place to stand for a person

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've stayed at 31 garage St. near to Ontario Art Meseum very nice and cosy place.

Disliked: Cons: there wasn't any iron at this place :(


See all Toronto hostels