HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Toronto hostels

Reviews of Toronto Travellers Home

Hostel | 588 Dundas Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5T 1H5

50.9% Overall Rating

272 out of 486 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/09/2013)

Karolina Sadlocha thinks…

"Is the worst hostel on the world! Is dirty, any reception, any staff!!!! is terrible! bad smelling!!! if u dont get drank, dont stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Read all Toronto Travellers Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.52

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Toronto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Toronto

Grange Hotel
35.96 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 78.1% 39 reviews
University Apartment
13.66 USD

Hostel 47.8% 113 reviews
Alexandra Hotel
41.88 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Chinatown Travelers Home
13.66 USD

Hostel 55.5% 297 reviews
Planet Traveler
28.23 USD

Hostel 91.9% 150 reviews
kaisar Guest House
50.08 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 26 reviews
University of Toronto Residences - New College
26.40 USD

Hostel 80.8% 35 reviews
Canadiana Backpackers Inn
20.03 USD

Hostel 87.4% 675 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
50.9%

Overall Rating

272 out of 486 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Toronto Travellers Home'

Atmosphere
40.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
44.0%
Cleanliness
45.6%
Staff
44.8%
Value
58.4%
Safety
57.6%
Refine your results Showing 305 of 346 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2012

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: Es war dreckig. Die Duschen/ WCs waren eklig. Die Zimmer waren dreckig. Wir bekamen ein winziges Zimmer im Keller mit einem winzigen Fenster. Wir wurden gezwungen unsere Schuhe beim Betreten auszuziehen, sodass wir auf dem dreckigen Boden laufen mussten! Das Personal war unkompetent - sie konnten kaum Englisch und der "Manager" war nie da. Es war selten jemand da, der da arbeitet! Furchtbares "Hostel" !!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: none

Disliked: - no towel in the room - no proper english speaking stuff / the hostel is in Chinatown which is fine, owner is Chinese and all information is in English and Chinese - no proper reception / if you need extra service, you need to CALL !! the manager (if you are a foreign traveller and have a foreign mobile, it costs lots) - TV not adjusted properly, you could barely watch (grey white) and no remote control - I booked single room, there was NO window / actually it was a room from "emergence exit" area - extremelly loud stream of water (if somebody in other room showered, all hostel could hear it) - dont recommend it at all, sorry !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 October 2012

Liked: Quiet and clean

Disliked: On the 4th night of my 7 night stay I was surprised to receive a written request to change rooms for the convenience of the management.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012

Liked: /

Disliked: I would like to comment on this hostel although we actually did not stay there ... Indeed, although we had booked a month before - and this was our first night after landing in Canada at 10am and driving all the way to Toronto - they just refused to give us a room. Apparently the hostel was full (and we were not alone in that situation as another group of 4 persons was also waiting in front of the hostel, trying to find a solution ...). The owner had just left a girl - who apparently did not work there - in the hostel and that girl was of no help. They refunded our 3 euros deposit but did not offer to call any other hostel or anything. It has to be mentioned that it was the Toronto International Film Festival - we had no idea at the time - and every hotels/hostels were fully booked. I spent 40€ trying to call with my mobile to finally find the last two beds in another hostel (twice the price of course... and only because of a last minute cancellation). So... I'm not saying this can never happen but at least when you overbook, have plan B for your guests or do something to help... Giving back 3 euros does not help when you just arrive in a city - exhausted.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

16 October 2012

Liked: It wasn't very expensive and nicely located near the Kensington Market.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean and there was very little for linens. The room was very small. The "ensuite" bathroom was a toilet and shower literally right in the small square room beside the bed. Awkward when it is a room for two people. There was only one person there that could speak any English but it was so limited that she wasn't able to answer any questions we had about the city.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

marguerite seux

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: room not clean, expensive, noisy... -> really BAD experience !!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

cassandra farias

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: Super convenient Chinatown and Kensington Market location

Disliked: Hand-written signs everywhere

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Neil O'Reilly

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

07 September 2012

Liked: Don't understand the concept of booking. Didn't have the room available that I booked and were just throwing us in whatever room was available.

Disliked: Not having the room we booked available.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012

Liked: Look, for twenty somewhat bucks a night, it can't be beat. It's situated at a pretty convenient location in toronto and you're surrounded by cheap resturants (chinatown, natch).

Disliked: That being said, you get what you paid for. Upon arrival, I was immediately escorted to a different site and from what I gathered, it sounds like they overbooked. I was traveling by myself so I didn't have too difficult a time getting a different room but a couple that I ran across while checking in had to wait around for god knows how long. I received no key for the dorm room or the outside door meaning that the whole building was open 24/7. One of the staff questioned who I was and why I keep "coming and going from the building" while I was CHECKING OUT. So obviously, some security issues here. The whole place just gives off a grungy vibe and while not exactly dirty, it wasn't exactly the most pleasant. Overall, not the worst hostel I stayed at but you get what you paid for.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like others have said, they don't keep good track of bookings. We booked a room at Travellers Home but as it was full (we arrived late night), we were taken to a room at University Apartments instead down the block. The owner owns a bunch of hostels in the area, so generally you can expect that they will find you a space. I'd still recommend booking as it guarantees the price you will pay (note that tax is added to the price). The room we got at University Apartments was more than decent given the price, with clean bedsheets, TV, and closet. This is the cheapest option in Toronto, and you will get what you paid for, but all in all it was still a bargain given that Chinatown is central and walkable to everything...tourist sites, restaurants, nightlife, etc.

Disliked: If you're expecting a smooth check in process and want to guarantee a stay in a particular property (or find Chinatown a bit sketchy, which it is a little at night), then pay the extra $$ to stay elsewhere. But if you've stayed in cheap guesthouses in Asia and have some flexibility (and can sacrifice a little to save a lot in this pricey city), then you'll surely be ok staying here.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, friendly people from all over the world. For me, it's a bed and a roof for 20$ and that's it. But you can find way better for a couple bucks more.

Disliked: No common room. I also saw a lot of people book and then not getting a room because it's full. No kitchen, nothing to do there.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 August 2012

Liked: It's location

Disliked: It was dirty, I wasn't given a fresh towel and there was no toilet paper in the room

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ernesto Aguayo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

28 August 2012

Liked: nothing!

Disliked: the hostel was too dirty and with bad smells! when we arrived there the reception was closed and 30 minutes later a chinese girl came and told us that the hostel was full and we had to moved to another hostel! definitely my worst experience in chinatown

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 August 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: the place was overbooked and the lady directed to 31 Grange Ave which is Toronto Chinatown Traveler Home. The lady gave me a room with a shared bathroom even though i booked for a ensuite, and told me take it or leave it. I complained a bit and she gave me $5 back for the downgrade. My room looked like a dungeon with 2 beds even though i booked private. Later on the night the lady knock on my door and asked that there will be a girl sleeping in that bed but that girl changed her mind because she didnt want to share a room with a complete stranger especially with a guy. I felt sorry for her for booking in this overbooked place. The place has no communication with the booking sites so people beware. I was lucky i booked one night and able to get a room, but i rather go elsewhere. This place is dirty and stink. Dont go there, dont book there or u might end up homeless. The review is pretty much for Chinatown Traveler Home. Same owner, so u know what i mean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LEAH MCMAHON

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2012 LEAH would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very conveniently located in central Toronto very easy to walk every where. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the place was very clean. one of the best hostels ive stayed in.

Disliked: LEAH left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YONGSU SHIN

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2012 YONGSU would recommend this property

Liked: thank you

Disliked: no

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything and the air con was good as well as the internet connection

Disliked: The room was beyond tiny. None of the staff could speak English properly. The shower was barely ever hot. You can't use the kitchen and you have to pay for towels and soap and everything like that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NO MICE NO MOLD. anyway, its a nice place, it's clean and perfect if you just need a room to leave your stuff and sleep. the lady is super kind and the location is good, altough its in Chinatown. what's surprising, they have a wifi which works pretty nice.

Disliked: the bathroom is ridiculously small, but since it doesnt take more than 15 minutes to take a shower, I guess you can survive it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012

Liked: Great location, cheap food around Chinatown

Disliked: Washroom without door

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Field

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome - it's in Chinatown and within walking distance of the downtown core. This place is excellent value for money. Our private room was small but had everything we needed, including a tv and fridge. You could also use a phone for making international calls for only 50 cents per call, regardless of the call length. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we felt that the building was safe and secure; there security cameras in the hallways.

Disliked: The room was pretty hot and there wasn't any air conditioning or fan. This probably wouldn't be a problem in the winter, but we were here in August and it wasn't too easy to sleep. The private ensuite might not be to everyone's taste as it isn't in a separate room, just a curtain across the center of the room. However, you could also use the shared bathroom in the basement, and we didn't mind.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Chinatown, walking distance from most attractions in the city. The place was very quiet, the room had air conditioning which was a good surprise. If you are only looking for a cheap place just to stay in Toronto overnight, I would totally recommand this one.

Disliked: The room was not clean, but for such a price you cannot expect much. No toilet tissue and no soap, better know it before you come

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Denver Marchiori

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Denver would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the price!

Disliked: Did not really disliked anything! It was clean and cheap... so, it's ok!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matthew Edwards

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value. A private room for 2 for the price of a single dorm bed elsewhere. Location is great, close to market area and 20 min walk from downtown. Felt safe in and around the hostel. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Limited cooking facilities - not many utensils. Rooms very small. Staff not always available if you need anything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Upgraded my room as the one I booked was not available (single no bathroom -> with bathroom). About 7 sq m room with double bed, 2 small tables, bench, phone, small TV, small fridge, window, cloth hanger bar and portable heater. Microwave and sink on every floor, kitchen in basement. Long distance for 50 cents. Could not hear my neighbor play guitar. Feels like a (very) cheap hotel more than a hostel. Staff cooperative, fixed Internet problem fast.

Disliked: Everything look old and due for replacement. Overall the place does not look clean (cracks on floor, fixed hole in wall...) but no sanitary issue (no mice, no mold...). If on room facing street, may hear streetcar if you're a light sleeper. Room on the small side. No closet and no cloth hangers. Seems run by family therefore rarely there may be no staff on the place. Some staff do not speak good English.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012

Liked: 20min walk from downtown

Disliked: For the price, you know that you don't have to expect that much, but the MOUSE REMEDY under the bed....really???????? disgusting.


See all Toronto hostels