HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of La Belle Planete Backpacker Hostel Downtown Quebec Quebec Hostel

386 du pont, Downtown Quebec, Quebec, Canada

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 53%

Location 79%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 62%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Dryer
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Internet café
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 1.63USD
  • Towel 1.63USD

Important Information

Please note: check-in time is from 16h00 to 21h00

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quebec?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 53%

Location 79%

Safety 66%

Staff 66%

Value 62%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Closeness to old city

Disliked: Narrow stairs No tvNo regular breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: no comment

Disliked: The beds were squeaky and very uncomfortable. The owner wasn't overly friendly. It was not very clean. It was definitely overpriced for what you get. For a few dollars more we could have stayed in a hotel with our own bathroom and better beds.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The atmosphere was great and I met a lot of nice people! the price was also good for a dorm bed.

Disliked: The plastic bed. The fact that I wasnt given a key, it felt less secure wheb its only a door code.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: the price is the only reason i chould choice this duty room.

Disliked: owner is rule abviously.the room i stayed was really mess. washroom as well.i only stay there 5hours a night ,cuz i could not even get in sleep there.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness, helpfulness of the staff, Atmosphere and character, Credit card is not accepted.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We were in a rush to book and read the reviews after we had already paid. I have to admit, people made La Belle Planete sound horrible and we were worried. It was the opposite! Friendly work staff and amazing location. Very upfront with expectations and made staying easy. Cool atmosphere and nice people. Got exactly what should be expected from a hostel for a great rate during one of the busiest weekends of the year in Quebec. If you're expecting the Château Frontenac, go stay there.

Disliked: Beds were pretty stiff, hours for communal kitchen and cafe were hard to work with (if they were even followed by the staff). One of our rooms had a free included breakfast but the cafe wouldn't open until almost lunch time each day. Not a big deal. The owners dog might seem scary to some people, but I also think too many people expect all dogs to want to be touched. Me and Skippy crossed paths several times and had no problems, we just kept to ourselves.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: We found the staff to be both friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: My main complaint would be that the showers were cold and in the middle of a very cold winter I think that's unacceptable for any accommodation. It wasn't even limited hot water there just was no hot water for showering.Furthermore we were asked to leave our boots in the entrance way downstairs because of the salt which makes sense. However when we wanted to go back outside we had to walk through a puddle in the hallway to get at our boots, therefore our socks were soaking wet. I think this system of leaving your boots somewhere definitely needs some improvement, a shelf and a quick drying rug for example.The last thing I'd like to mention is the dog who tried to bite me. Personally I just don't think it's a good idea to have an anxious and aggressive dog in a place with so many strangers.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Dirty kitchen, dirty bathrooms. Steep and narrow stairs to climb.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The rooms were small. The beds were squeaking. Our Room was Looking Out to the street and very Loud. The owner was supposed to take us to the Airport in morning, but he never showed up.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location that's all...

Disliked: The presence of a pub just across the street. Drunken people made so many noise during the night it was almost impossible to sleep...

Check Availability