HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Auberge de jeunesse Maeva Québec

Guesthouse | 671, rue St-François, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada QC G1K 2Z8

80.7% Overall Rating

63 out of 73 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/08/2014)

"Très bonne ambiance, comme a la maison! proche du centre ville, il faut neanmoins marcher un petit peu pour atteindre le centre historique (environs 1 km)."

Read all Auberge de jeunesse Maeva Québec reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.83
  • Towel USD 0.92

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Taxes not included in the rates shown online

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quebec City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quebec City

La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel
21.08 USD

Hostel 64.8% 192 reviews
Auberge l'Autre Jardin
66.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Auberge Internationale de Québec Hi-Québec
28.43 USD

Hostel 91.3% 352 reviews
Auberge du Quartier
31.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.3% 55 reviews
Auberge Amerik
41.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.6% 10 reviews
Auberge Michel Doyon
32.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.1% 68 reviews
Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay
18.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.6% 21 reviews
Econolodge - Montmorency Falls / Quebec City
69.69 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

63 out of 73 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Auberge de jeunesse Maeva Québec'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 69 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pierre Poujade

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014

Liked: It is close to the stairs to go up the old city

Disliked: The bathroom/toilets were absolutely disgusting. They aren't cleaned daily despite what the description says. The toilet reeked of old urine (the kind of smell you get after neglecting it for a few days), the garbage can was full of used toilet paper, the walls had stains on them, the shower had orange/pink fungi all over. The shower "mat" was an old soaked towel thrown on the floor that was probably white at some point but was now grey. Again, this is when we checked in in the afternoon, not after everyone took their shower the next day. The bathroom door was very thin and it was a pleasure to hear every guests' noises as they relieved themselves through the night and morning. There is nothing quite like being woken up by the sound of urine flowing and flatulences in the morning. The "lobby" (read stairs) had a very musty smell, the kind you get from water damage moisture. The reception was never open. The rooms were very noisy; every time someone went in or out of the hostel, the main door would slam hard (it had a spring to make it close itself behind guests) and shake the thin walls waking us up several times through the night. Then in the morning, the kitchen (which is one floor up, directly on top of the room) would also make a lot of noise from the guests walking around and dragging the chairs on the floor to sit downand stand up. Speaking of the "kitchen", it has half a fridge allocated to the 32 guests' food storage, one single table with 8 chairs, 4 hot burners and a derelict filthy countertop. Everyone had to queue in the morning while waiting for one of the 8 spots to become free and sit at the table to eat. Same thing after eating, we had to queue up for the only sink available to clean our dishes. The internet was unusable with 800+ ms ping and near 0 speeds. We tried both networks (videotron4041 and maeva) with similar results. The lockers are ridiculously narrow and we had trouble fitting my 25L Jansport backpack. The guests carrying bigger backpacks (the kind you take on a longer trip) couldn't fit theirs in the lockers at all. Saying that it is "a few steps away from the old port market and St Paul galleries" is a gross overstatement. We had to walk 1.2km/0.75mils/20 minutes to get to said market. All in all, I would never recommend this property to anyone and am very surprised it is listed on hostel bookers with an 80+% rating. There are much better hostels in the area around the same price that will make your stay so much more enjoyable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and owner were very nice, BBQ outside is a cool thing

Disliked: Atmophere/fun was OK, it's just that the common room (kitchen) is quite small and lacks any kind of game and closes at 11:30.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Très bonne ambiance, comme a la maison! proche du centre ville, il faut neanmoins marcher un petit peu pour atteindre le centre historique (environs 1 km).

Disliked: réservez tot car ca se remplis vite!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good facilities, good location, relaxed atmosphere :-)

Disliked: Nothing... its not flashy but its comfortable and cosy :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Perdomo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how welcoming the staff is. They were very helpful with information about Quebec City and its surroundings. I felt at home as I met other travelers with whom I spent my time during my sojourn. Due to this, I extended my stay at the hostel. I strongly encourage travelers to stay at this hostel while in Quebec City!

Disliked: Nothing, I had a marvelous time there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jessica Coote

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: Very friendly staff, always willing to go out of their way to help you! And having your pancakes made in the morning is a bonus.

Disliked: Not the cleanest hostel I have stayed at. Blankets are not washed between customers, sheets are tho. Limited bathrooms. Building old and in need of a few repairs, but the staff & price made up for it :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: Close to cheap eats, bars, bus, old town & supermarket. Great breakfast, wifi, clean, awesome staff & good vibes. What more could you ask for!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wesley Baimbridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great little hostel. Clean, comfortable and helpful staff!

Disliked: Wesley left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap price around the old town.

Disliked: Old facility and nosiness of the place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jarran McNamara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Jarran would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff. Good location.

Disliked: Jarran left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014

Liked: Cheap, good location, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: It feels a bit dirty and old.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and enviroment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very quiet and clean, but also cozy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great to stay at. it's basic and about a 10 minute walk from old town but we had a car and there is no parking in old town and we could park for free in the hostel street all weekend so it was perfect fr us. As i said basic and good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2014

Liked: Clean nice and friendly staff

Disliked: Not much going on in hostel, not to must socialising

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothée Bernard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Timothée would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what I was looking for.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thibault Hire

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

30 December 2013 Thibault would recommend this property

Liked: Roberto, the host is really attentionned and nice guy ! there is a nice atmosphere on the hostel ! I really enjoy my stay here.

Disliked: parking off

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuri Nagahori

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Yuri would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is perfect!! Funny and kind He made desert as well at night. And customers are also very friendly.

Disliked: Notjing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the train and bus station, good supermarket nearby, small breakfast included, free WiFi, free Computer (one), huge TV + DVDs to watch; staff was very friendly and helpful; no closure time for the kitchen/common room if you are quiet and clean up afterwards, what is great! There is a freezer for guests, too. You can walk to the river and to Old Québec, a bus station for the #800 to the Montmorency Falls is around the corner! The church Saint Roch is nearby. The rooms have a table and chairs in it.. There is now soap provided in the bath room.

Disliked: towels are not included (but you can rent one for 1 Dollar what is a fair price); common room, kitchen, fridge are a bit to small for 60 beds, but after high saison it is no problem; the street is not really nice but the parallel street is a popular main street. The bed was pretty soft and you cannot sit on the lower one. There is no individual light.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013

Liked: Very cheap and very nice location .also had free breakfast .

Disliked: Window was broken. And very not quite at night time. Feel not safety .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location to all amenities. Close to Train and Bus Station. Very friendly and clean. Walking distance to beautiful old town Quebec. Excellent place for back packers and tourists etc to stay.

Disliked: Nothing about the property as such however it was not possible to get a bus from the Airport to the city. I had to get a taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we got the room upgraded.

Disliked: front desk person was fun and cheerful.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good enough. Pretty cheap!

Disliked: The staff cleaned up a garbage bin, but he didn't clean the floors of bathroom and our room. It not too dirty, so I accepted, but if he cleaned up I would have been glad.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Jia Liang Ting

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 October 2013 James Jia Liang would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and well-located. Could park on the streets (only on weekends) and then stroll to the downtown/attractions area.

Disliked: it was small. but for the price paid, it was reasonable.