HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel

Hostel | 386 Rue du Pont, Quebec Downtown, G1K 6M7 Quebec City, Quebec, Canada G1K 6M7

64.5% Overall Rating

125 out of 194 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2014)

Alejandro Del Castillo Garza thinks…

"There were signs everywhere so people know how things work (the use of the kitchen, the hours for keeping silence, etc). In this way the atmosphere was very friendly and functional."

Read all La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.79
  • Breakfast USD 5.37

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: check-in time is from 16h00 to 21h00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Quebec City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Quebec City

Auberge de jeunesse Maeva Québec
21.48 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 74 reviews
Auberge l'Autre Jardin
64.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Auberge Internationale de Québec Hi-Québec
24.17 USD

Hostel 92.0% 353 reviews
Auberge du Quartier
34.91 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.3% 55 reviews
Auberge Amerik
40.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.8% 11 reviews
Auberge Michel Doyon
31.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.1% 68 reviews
Hotel Motel Le Chateauguay
17.68 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.6% 21 reviews
Econolodge - Montmorency Falls / Quebec City
68.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.5%

Overall Rating

125 out of 194 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Belle Planete Downtown Quebec Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
58.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
58.4%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 149 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Matti Blume

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Dirty kitchen, dirty bathrooms. Steep and narrow stairs to climb.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Nicole Soell

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The rooms were small. The beds were squeaking. Our Room was Looking Out to the street and very Loud. The owner was supposed to take us to the Airport in morning, but he never showed up.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Pierre-Arthur Groulier

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014

Liked: The location that's all...

Disliked: The presence of a pub just across the street. Drunken people made so many noise during the night it was almost impossible to sleep...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Alexandre Litty

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: "first arrived, first served" was the comment I received when I complained about not receiving what I had booked. Then don't put your rooms on hostel bookers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alejandro Del Castillo Garza

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 April 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: There were signs everywhere so people know how things work (the use of the kitchen, the hours for keeping silence, etc). In this way the atmosphere was very friendly and functional.

Disliked: Nothing at all

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014

Liked: The atmosphere and fact that it was cheap.

Disliked: Dirty, dog poo inside, people smoking inside the cafe. Nobody responded to 'emergency' phone number. Some information from staff was incorrect. Bad behaviour from other guests was not stopped by staff.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Mahoney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, really good people.

Disliked: Be careful of the dog! He growls a lot, and may even try to jump at you. He's small though, so he probably can't hurt you, but be careful!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tina Bazjako

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Near to centre sigtseengs

Disliked: Maybe more washroom

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013

Liked: It was OK, the bathroom facilities on my level were not good. Old building, run down, creaky

Disliked: Little yappy dog a little bit annoying

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2013

Liked: Sven was very helpful. He helped me to move hostels after the dog bit me. I got a full refund and moved to the HI in the old town which was a complete contrast. I am still concerned that the dog may have some disease but I was assured that the dog had recently had an operation and was healthy so I don't have to worry too much about the bite. La Belle Planete is located in the "local" area of Quebec and I met some nice local people in the local bar.

Disliked: The dog bit me! I found the dog on my bed one evening as well which concerned me as I am allergic to dogs. The hostel also has a Cafe and eatery connected where the dog runs around which I think is very unhygienic. The beds have a plastic covering them which I found insulting and this seems to indicate that they had a bed bug problem in the past. The owner seems to run the hostel for business rather than for the pleasure of meeting worldwide travellers!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel's locationis really good and stffs are good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, next to a grocery store, walking distance to bus and train station, nice staff, clean

Disliked: you just can check in at special times, pillows and mattresses are a bit hard, our dorm smelled a bit weird

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 February 2013

Liked: I liked that it was close to the bus station.

Disliked: There was no soap(to wash hands) in the upstairs bathroom. My roommate and I came home at night and the hostel was locked and no one had told us the code to enter the hostel entrance. We stood outside ringing the bell for 20 minutes before two disgruntled lodgers opened the door for us and seemed to be very angry at us. Was it our fault that no one told us the code? We should have been given this information at check in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luc landry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2012 luc would recommend this property

Liked: super location right in donwtown near the grocery the barbe ry super beer the staff is helpful they every corner of quebec city , free internet wifi and its quiet and clean the tourist season is finish but i meet good people at the bar donwstair good vibe ,the big submarin is good specially with the caribou shot

Disliked: The high season is over so its quiet during the weeks day

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The instalations are pretty good and they have cafeteria and free wifi

Disliked: The only thing ill recommend its that the pilows are a little bit hard but you can survive

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

song yeon jo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: This hostel is nearby bus terminal. It takes 5~7minutes on foot.

Disliked: If you use this hostel , you are prepared to pay cash. you don't cook beefsteak and have to hurry better than the other people. Because the kitchen is very small.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 October 2012

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: Not in "Old Quebec" . Staff a little "stand offish"

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a youthful feel and very laid back atmosphere

Disliked: The dog bites!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Charlotte Tol

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, cheap beers, roofterrace

Disliked: Matrasses and pillows are plastic covered, there's arconditioning in the room, but the heat coming from it stays in the rooms as well so it gets ven hotter. Noisy street at night

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

YONGSU SHIN

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 YONGSU would recommend this property

Liked: not bad

Disliked: YONGSU left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

nolwenn Poccardi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

13 July 2012 nolwenn would recommend this property

Liked: good location and atmosphere. The pillows and beds are really not confortable but for one night it's ok

Disliked: nolwenn left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2012

Liked: Shower rooms are clean and big enough. Rooms are clean.

Disliked: When checking in, A guy told me I needed to pay more than it was written in the confirmation email as they have 2 nights minimum policy and I only stay 1 night. I insisted because when I booked on the website, it didn't say about it, and the confirmation email clearly says how much I have to pay at checking in. Then another staff came and I didn't have to pay extra. I'm not sure if the guy tried to rip me off (because it's cash only) or he wasn't trained enough, but anyway don't pay more than it is confirmed in the email because really, you don't need to. There are only 2 shower rooms per floor (about 20 people each floor), so it was very busy in the morning. Wireless internet connection was terrible and it was almost unusable. Staffs weren't friendly at all as they looked they only do what they need to do, and they only stay between 3 PM and 11 PM, so there is nobody who can takes care of anything.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: La situation, il est très bien placé La personne qui vous accueille est très gentille et serviable, rien à dire; la literie est propre

Disliked: Le prix d'une chambre individuelle pour une auberge de jeunesse de routard sans trop déquipements (ultra simples) les sanitaires communs du 1er étage, un réduit avec douche, wc lavabo dans la douche) pas facile de se tourner (propreté limite). Pour recommander cet établissement il faudrait faire des améliorations de sanitaires, de la cuisine etc...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: J'ai trouvé le patron sympathique. L'auberge est proche de la gare et d'un centre commercial.

Disliked: J'ai très mal dormi: Ma chambre donnait sur la rue avec un bar et ses clients fidèles et bruyants !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.