HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ottawa hostels

Reviews of A Voyageurs's Guest House and B&B

Guesthouse | 95 Arlington Avenue, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1R 5S4

70.3% Overall Rating

52 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/12/2013)

Kaveh Mousavand thinks…

"The landlady here is very kind and hospitable. Once you step in the Guest House, you will easily realize that she wants to do her best in order to provide you with a good accommodation. And she is…"

Read all A Voyageurs's Guest House and B&B reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ottawa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ottawa

Ottawa Apartment Suite Hotel
115.01 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
HI-Ottawa Jail Hostel
26.68 USD

Hostel 83.7% 429 reviews
The Barefoot Hostel
34.04 USD

Hostel 93.6% 80 reviews
Candy Residence
57.96 USD

Apartment 83.1% 13 reviews
ByWard Blue Inn
59.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 3 reviews
Days Inn Ottawa Downtown
29.90 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Ottawa Backpackers Inn
24.01 USD

Hostel 82.5% 289 reviews
Australis Guest House
72.68 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

52 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'A Voyageurs's Guest House and B&B'

Atmosphere
60.0%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 55 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kaveh Mousavand

Alone

Business / conference

09 December 2013 Kaveh would recommend this property

Liked: The landlady here is very kind and hospitable. Once you step in the Guest House, you will easily realize that she wants to do her best in order to provide you with a good accommodation. And she is really good at doing so.

Disliked: Kaveh left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Bed was very comfy. Tasty breakfast.

Disliked: A couple of things I would have considered important were left out of the hostel's description. I was bluntly told "it's not three o clock yet" when I went to check in. First of all, there was no check in time listed in the description at all at the time of my booking, or anywhere on my booking reference. I presumed it was the standard time of 2pm like most places. I know an hours difference only seems small but it can have quite an affect on your days plans. Secondly, they don't accept debit as a form of payment. I really think this should mentioned in the description so travellers can be prepared before they check in. Finally the breakfast is veggie. Didn't bother me at all personally but I know more than a few that would be peeved to only find this out after they've already booked. Only small things I know but things I really think are important to know before booking. Also, I couldn't pick up the wifi from my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Weiss

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Neera is the nicest host you can find! She's friendly and very considerate, and just loves making people feel loved--she's really motherly & modest. The location of this place is great, right behind the Greyhound terminal, and just a close walk to Chinatown & the city.

Disliked: The room we had (we had our own room) was a little small, but thank God, we've got lots of closet space.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the host is incredibly friendly and really takes personally care of you; for example, she'll be asking what you want to have for breakfast. It is close to Bank Street, which has many nice restaurants

Disliked: it is a bit rundown.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and the owner is very friendly and helpful. She gave us information about local places to eat when we arrived at 9pm and bus information when we wanted to go to a museum the other side of the river. It is good value for money.

Disliked: I would normally prefer an ensuite bathroom but having a shared bathroom was not really a problem here and it was as advertised. The walls are very thin but when we were there it was very quiet and again, this did not present a problem. It would be nice to have facilities to make hot drinks in your room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location to the Greyhound Station is second to none. Its very close to town and especially the Natural history museum. The lady who looks after you is very kind and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Peter Musters

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012

Liked: The breakfast was perfect and smells ery good.

Disliked: The room was very small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012

Liked: Voyageurs'Guest house est bien située au niveau de la ville d'Ottawa, mais elle est située près d'un dépôt de bus qui démarrent vers 6 h 30 du matin et que l'on entend bien. La personne qui accueille est très gentille et serviable, il n'y a pas de problème de ce côté là Elle fait tout pour vous rendre service comme elle peut. les chambres sont petites la literie est propre Il ne faudrait pas beaucoup de choses pour que cette maison soit bien et que l'on puisse la recommander car il faut préciser que c'est très simple et qu'il ne faut pas être délicat quant au décor.

Disliked: L'état des moquettes 'sales" et le mobilier (de récupération). L'état de la pièce du petit déjeuner, chaises tâchées, etc.. Il faudrait mettre du mobilier facilement nettoyable. Mettre au sol autre matériau que la moquette

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Was a little dumpy; furniture appeared second hand and outdated. Rooms were gloomy. Television did not work well.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quiet, with TV I had my own bathroom. The host provided a very delicious breakfast in the morning, and was very friendly

Disliked: I arrived there at about 8pm, and found no one to answer the door. I walked around the area to a local supermarket for 40 mins, and when I returned she was there. Might have been good if she had left a note or something....

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Natalie Pozniak

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very very friendly, the breakfast very good (Omelette, scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, toast, tea, coffee, muffins...) and the bathroom very clean. We were allowed to use the kitchen (water!) and microwave in the dining room. The lady was always helpful and eager to ensure that we enjoy our stay. By bus it is only 15 minutes to Parliament Hill/Rideau Centre (approximately 40min walk).

Disliked: As soon as we arrived we had to change the room and pay a higher price because the original bed was too short for my boyfriend (~1.86m). The new room was very small though. Moreover, the walls are pretty thin so that you can hear exactly what other guests are watching on TV or talking about. Additionally, the heating system is very noisy (especially when you're trying to sleep at 4am).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was very delicious!

Disliked: The size of the room was a bit tiny.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady owner was the nicest host your could wish for, she knew our name upon arrival and was very friendly, helpful and polite. The breakfast she made was brilliant and very filling, the room was comfortable and the ensuite was great. Location of the b&b was great - a very easy walk to the city centre and we were able to park the car free of charge by the house.

Disliked: It was a bit noisy - we could hear the people above and next door talking and walking around, also when water ran in the bathroom above it was very loud.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful lady who runs the B+B Choice of breakfast (eggs, oatmeal, toast etc) 2 minute walk from bus station

Disliked: 25 minute walk to main attractions No communal area except breakfast room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near bus station

Disliked: that they added ontario tax and that wasnt written on hostel bookers profile. we had to pay more than it was said.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Safety,location,information-believe previous reviews on here to be fictitious.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011

Liked: do not stay there

Disliked: mothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a good location.

Disliked: No English breakfast, ie NO BACON.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lady that runs the places is very suite and accommodating

Disliked: Nothing in particular

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Fox

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The hostess was very lovely and her hospitality was amazing. Other then the kids didn't know anyone else was in the house! Amazing location. walked to all the museum locations. it is in the middle of everything!

Disliked: There was nothing there i disliked

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

NOSAYABA OSAZUWA-PETERS

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 August 2010 NOSAYABA would recommend this property

Liked: The Manager was absolutely great, an elderly lady who to me has been the most courteous hotel manager I have ever met! She makes sure the place is clean, and she is on top of every situation that comes up. She is so genuine, warm and friendly, and her disposition is so great that even when the internet connect was down for some hours, it was easy to bear with her. I definitely rate this place, and would love to be back here again!

Disliked: Maybe too quiet!!! I read someone saying that it's a noisy place, and I wonder how on earth that person could say that. At Voyageur's Guest House,most hours of the day you could almost hear a pin drop! How can that not be quiet enough?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gigl

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2010 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful lady, who is looking that everything is good.

Disliked: Next to the central bus station - the room next to the street is noisy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my partner stayed here as we are backpacking around north america it was a last minute booking but was a good price as it was a long w.e. We were the only ones staying there at this time so was very quiet. The place seemed to be under maintenance but was still keeped very tidy. The owner was very nice and helped with directions when needed. Its about a 15min walk from downtown and was in a very quiet safe neiboughood. i would recommend A Voyaguers's Guest to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

07 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great personal service from the manager. Air conditioning a bonus, as was the individualized breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Ottawa hostels