HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of ACBB Hostel Niagara

Hostel | 5741 McGrail Ave., Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada L2G 3R4

91.8% Overall Rating

270 out of 302 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

"Everything! Without it our time in Niagara wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable. Right from the start the staff were extremely welcoming and cheerful, even though we were only staying one night and had come from…"

Read all ACBB Hostel Niagara reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Niagara Falls?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Niagara Falls

Scottish Inn
54.97 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 7 reviews
Canuck Inn and Suites
32.10 USD

Hotel 76.1% 50 reviews
Angel's Hideaway Bed and Breakfast
45.85 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mahren House
45.85 USD

Guesthouse 97.6% 6 reviews
Ellis House Bed & Breakfast
105.46 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 3 reviews
Backpacker's International Hostel & Inn
27.51 USD

Hostel 85.4% 143 reviews
HI - Niagara Falls
22.70 USD

Hostel 84.0% 163 reviews
Niagara Lodge
73.36 USD

Hostel 59.3% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

270 out of 302 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ACBB Hostel Niagara'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 192 of 199 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Without it our time in Niagara wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable. Right from the start the staff were extremely welcoming and cheerful, even though we were only staying one night and had come from Toronto. They gave excellent advice as regards activities and Patrick's legendary map-drawing skills did not disappoint. They also arranged taxis to send a groups of us to a restaurant/pub a bit further out of town in order to get something to eat in the evening, which was great and saved us from having to get fast food/something tacky on Clifton Hell. The beds were really comfy, and the next morning Shelley put on an amazing breakfast with fresh fruit and pastries which set us up perfectly for the day. ACBB's great reputation is richly deserved.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Nina Price

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Patrick and Shelly were very helpful and the nicest people we met on our entire trip. The location is perfect. Less than 10 minute walk to the falls, restaurants, and bars.

Disliked: They are doing renovations to convert to solar power which I applaud, but it made them not have electricity most hours of the day and none of the amenities we chose the hostel for.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosemary Levert

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2014 Rosemary would recommend this property

Liked: Personal and friendly owners. Patrick and Shelley were welcoming and chatted with us about the area and gave us wonderful advise on things to enjoy off the beaten path. We took all his recommendations and had an amazing time, especially the hike from Niagra Glen towards the Whirlpool alongside the waters edge. Private, clean, good breakfast!

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people and great place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: so close to all the action but in enough of a quiet place to have parking if you want it and get a good night's sleep if you want it!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and great location. Good price too. Definitely recommend to stay here.

Disliked: You can hear a lot of noises outside of your room (e.g. people walking around) but it wasn't that big of a deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Gilbert

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice helpful and friendly people. Great breakfast and really a very good location

Disliked: Would have liked a toaster (being ossies)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the falls.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very near the falls and the center of the town.

Disliked: The bathroom is a little far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUNYONG PARK

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 JUNYONG would recommend this property

Liked: Actaully it has perfect location to see the Niagara Falls. And the manager of this hostel is very humorous and other staffs are really kind. Actually it is very hard to say what is negative things in ths hostel. Why you hesitate? Just choose it!

Disliked: Umm.. Maybe not..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Partridge

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is excellent a short walk to The Falls and all local restaurants and shopping.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, environment, staff. Facilities are great by hostel standards and while you don't have the luxury of AC in the summer, you'll feel comfortable, safe, and welcome. We really enjoyed our stay there! (Ethos: Have been to dozens of hostels in Europe.)

Disliked: Lack of temperature control got to us a bit in the hot humid days of summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Martin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed it many hostels around the world but the owners here are the friendliest I have ever come across. They show you that although the town of Niagara Falls itself is a bit tacky, there is a huge amount to do in the local area. NEXT TIME 3 DAYS! Superb breakfast and great value for money.

Disliked: Outside looks a bit run down but is nice on the inside. There was two noisy and inconsiderate girls who woke us up but the owner dealt with them exceptionally.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Klinger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable rooms and the best staff! We received a warm welcoming and great travel advice, so that we extended our stay. The staff is very caring and offers their help. They also organise that the travellers who stay at the hostel meet each other.

Disliked: Nothing!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: It was poorly built, the shower leaked everywhere. The printer didn't work. It was well overpriced.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a real travellers heart is yearning for during the journey, even staying at a place for two days, to feel like home! After visiting many hostels, you know exactly when you open the door if you will stay propper or not. In the case of ACBB, it could'nt be better. Good energie, the boss who is open and happy to welcome you, also the stuff people are sweet. A healthy breakfast, what I preciated a lot! It is rare to find a hostel where warmness and familyfeeling meets you... But totally possible, as I experienced in the ABCC hostel! Lisa*

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner Patrick and his friendly staff made my first ever hostel stay a great experience. He's a great person to talk to if you want inside information to what to see and do in the Niagara area. Breakfast was a sight to behold with a wide array of fruit, pastries, and yogurt. Patrick even invited me to come and have some breakfast there on the morning of the Niagara Falls Marathon (and take a shower after the marathon) even though I didn't stay at the hostel the night before. What motel or hotel is going to give you service like THAT? Ask to see the new marble tiled bathroom on the 3rd floor. You will think you're in a ritzy hotel bathroom! The rest of the place has some rough spots but renovations are on going. Location is just a couple of blocks from Clifton Hill and about a 10 minute walk to the falls. All-in-all an awesome place to crash after a long day of touring the area and beyond.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmophere and really friendly staff Really great breakfast

Disliked: Could not pay by credit card

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's only some 8-10 minutes from the falls and you can get very close to the hostel from downtown(train&bus station) by local bus too. The staff was very nice and friendly, Patrick and also Tim gave me good tips on where to go and what to do. The hostel might not look so great on the outside, but inside is good. They have free breakfast and the bathroom was clean and the sinks outside it were just magnificient. I got a free "upgrade" from mixed dorm to girls only dorm too. :)

Disliked: There were no lockers in the dorm, but it still felt safe to leave my staff into the room. There were very few sockets in the room so charging the phone when everyone else wanted to do it too was complicated. I slept in the upper bunk and the bed didn't feel very stable sometimes and the mattress could've been better, I slept pretty okay anyway. There were some noisy people yelling late night downstairs, but later someone from the staff told them to shut up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free, fruit breakfast, the introductions and friendliness of the staff ...

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: STAY HERE! Cleanliness, staff and location is awesome! You wont regret it! The owners Patrick and Shelly are very kind and are helpful with whatever you may need. His assistants Axel, Dominic and Tim are great as well.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

João Paulo Valderramas José

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 João Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: People! No matter what country are you from! It seems like you're part of family!

Disliked: Nothing! I think everything was great!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location-only 5-10 minutes from the falls. Don't let the exterior put you off, the 6 bed dorm was roomier than other hostels I've stayed in and I slept well .Patrick the owner is also very helpful and gives good advice on how to get the most out of your time in Niagara.

Disliked: No lockers not a major problem, as it's safe but make sure your suitcase has a padlock for peace of mind. Some areas could do with a spring clean and a fresh coat of paint, but what the ACBB lacks in aesthetics it makes up for in charm and comfort.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and near the centre. The Host was very social and we were made to feel at home. It was the best hostel I stayed in over my trip to the area overall. Its probably worth mentioning that Niagara has more activities to offer than just the falls. Do your research and see if its better to stay for longer.

Disliked: I had no dislikes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NAI CHUAN LIN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 NAI CHUAN would recommend this property

Liked: just 10 mins walk to the Falls. The staff are all nice and helpful~

Disliked: There is too noise at midnight because the poor sound proof .