We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of HI - Niagara Falls

Hostel | 4549 Cataract Avenue, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada L2E 3M2

85.1% Overall Rating

153 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2015)

"Facilities complete, with complementary hairdryer and towel use. Big common area indoors and outdoors, bikes for rent"

Read all HI - Niagara Falls reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: Hostelling International is a non-profit membership based organization. Non-members will be asked to pay a small non-membership fee per night upon check-in (around $4 per night).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Niagara Falls?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Niagara Falls

Ellis House Bed & Breakfast
96.29 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 3 reviews
Mahren House
38.52 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 8 reviews
Angel's Hideaway Bed and Breakfast
38.52 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Scottish Inn
84.73 USD

Guesthouse 78.1% 9 reviews
Niagara Lodge
69.33 USD

Hostel 60.0% 9 reviews
Three Diamond Inn
26.96 USD

Guesthouse 69.1% 23 reviews
Comfort Inn
65.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

153 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Niagara Falls'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 127 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities complete, with complementary hairdryer and towel use. Big common area indoors and outdoors, bikes for rent

Disliked: Staff didn't really carry or encourage the traveller vibe but were very knowledgeable when asked specific information

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 April 2015

Liked: Niagara falls is so expensive if you need to travel alone lowest cost of a hotel room is $100 with taxes and parking. I paid $55 for a private room at this hostel which included parking, wifi and breakfast. Close to falls if driving. Close to bus and train if needed. Wifi worked well. Quiet. Private room on main floor has a/c and heating.

Disliked: Roaches! I got a private room on the upper floor , room looked decent until i looked out the open window and saw roaches when i went to close the window I realized there were roaches on the inside of the window and all over the curtains. I asked for a new room, which he did provide with no hassle, and he gave me what appeared to be a more updated room on the main floor. This room looked much cleaner and I did get a decent sleep. However when I woke up there was a roach crawling on my floor. No hostel is perfectly clean and I am not sure if it is an infestation or not cause I only went in two rooms but considering I've been to 3rd world countries that had less of a bug problem than a hostel in Canada I think there may be an issue. I guess I hold Canada to a higher standard. Because of all the roaches I saw I decided not to eat breakfast here as I was thinking maybe they don't clean throughly here. This hostel is literally in an abandoned part of town. It looks like they set up shop before tourism in Niagara falls became a big thing and when all other businesses shutdown to be near the strips this hostel stayed. All the houses and business around here are empty and have boarded up window. I honestly don't really care but if I was coming here to party and had to come back to this area at night i'd be creeped out. I didn't see any sketchy people around though its just deserted. I guess they liked the location as its so close to the bus and rail system. My window faced the main entrance to the outside and my latch on my window was broken. So didn't feel as safe as I would have liked to

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Darshan grewal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2015 Darshan would recommend this property

Liked: Home away from away . Nice place to sit and relax and be to yourself.

Disliked: Can't think of anything. .may be some group evening activity to bring all guest to mingle

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Orla Doyle

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 Orla would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms, great recreation room in the basement. The hostel is really close to the bus Station so if you have heavy bags this is great! Rooms had enough space, lockers and control of your own heating/air con which was convenient.

Disliked: I'm not sure how they organize online bookings as they didn't seem to have all the information that other hostels I have booked through this site had. They were firstly trying to charge me almost double what I was notified of by email. They had no record of my deposit, after showing my confirmation email to them 3 times I was told that it was their mistake as I was being charged for a different room and should have stated my room type. I would have thought this was specified in my original booking as it was in my confirmation email. Once this was sorted they also offered to email my receipt. He didn't have my email address hitch I thought unusual. I wrote it down for him but have yet to receive it 24 hours later. I'm sure this was either a misunderstanding but it was hugely inconvenient as it took 20 mins to check in and pay the correct price. We asked about transport to the falls (as nothing is posted on info boards) and were told it had ended for the night. We walked the 30 mins to the falls and the public transport passed us twice. Not very helpful information! Nice hostel but just needs to be a little more efficient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is prime and the atmosphere is so welcoming!

Disliked: Nothing really.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elziabeth Wallace

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2014 Elziabeth would recommend this property

Liked: My stay here was great. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about different activities around the area and look eating. The guy at the front desk when I checked in gave me great info on local trails to hike and the best way to check out the falls. He even knew where the best parking deals were. They have lots of neat activities going on and also rent bikes. There is a bike tour on Sundays, I wish I had had the time to do it. Rooms are clean and linens provided on your bed with plugs, shelves and lamps for each bunk (in the 6 bed dorm I was in). The free breakfast is decent. Overall, it was a great place to stay.

Disliked: The location could be a challenge if you don't have a car. It worked out great for me since I had one, but it is a decent 30 min walk to the falls and to the trails. The good news is they rent bikes so as long as you have some time on your hands you should be okay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plugs and lamp and wall table beside every single bunk bed. This always wins with me. Homey, nice wooden warm feel. This is nice for me and has more character than the HIs that are huge dorms with a million floors and a bit lacking in warmth. Warm smaller atmosphere made it nice to meet some great people I spent a beautiful evening with at the hostels barbecue. Very nice staff.

Disliked: Located in a place that is somewhat deserted in the immediate 15-min walk vicinity. You can do the walk each day to the main area and stay out all day or get a bus ticket.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ronel Spies

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Ronel would recommend this property

Liked: location close to the bus station

Disliked: Ronel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Russell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, and great outdoor area. Clean rooms and bathrooms

Disliked: No many plug sockets in the rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff moved anther guest yet to arrive so the three of us would have the quad bunk room to ourselves.

Disliked: A little sketchy looking from the outside; neighborhood

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located very close to the bus station for easy arrival an departure. Good friendly staff to help reccomend all there is to see other than the falls. Large kitchen to prepare meals. If you like walking its an easy 35-40 walk down to the fall along the river with some nice views.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was not many people so it was relax and spacious

Disliked: we had a swearing roommate...bad luck

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hannah wood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, will organised

Disliked: hannah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Brazdova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: typical, friendly international hostel

Disliked: location is very close to bus station but to Niagara Falls it takes about 35 min walk

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a lot I liked about the property. The colors, the game room, the beautiful room we stayed in. The kitchen was a great size and I really enjoyed that there was a dining room right next door. There was a great sense of community throughout the hostel. All in all, I had a lovely stay.

Disliked: It was nothing personal with the hostel, but the town of Niagara itself freaked me out a bit. But other than that the hostel itself was amazing. Maybe look into slightly updating the basement because it seemed like it's been slightly out of use for a while. But overall a great place.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012

Liked: Nothing wearily, maybe because its close to the train station

Disliked: It was low season, but the whole building could use a spring cleaning, 6 bed dorms are to small and very noisy beds Bathrooms could use a bit of renovation Chalkboard still with things to do from last summer (need an update) Worst HI hostel ever stayed in

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

lynette wheatley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

02 October 2012 lynette would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were kind and knowledgeable of the area always willing to help and the facilities catered for all needs Free breakfast was lovely The rooms were affordable and really spacious

Disliked: lynette left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Breen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best 3 days ever, staff here are the best hostel staff I have met in my travels, we had the BBQ out first night which was great value , then we did the wine tour organised by the staff, brilliant! Then we did the pub crawl, top class, it you stay in niagra you cannot stay anywhere else but this place, big thanks to Ben and Miriam on reception great job guys and Adam who did the BBQ and wine tour really cool guy, oh and Kathleen who cleaned the rooms, your all the best

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was included

Disliked: Dirt under the beds, rooms are a bit small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean and fun atmosphere, comfy beds.

Disliked: The neighborhood became pretty vacant at night, which at first was a little alarming when arriving late at night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MASATOSHI TAKEI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 MASATOSHI would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast (pan cake,fruit,orange juice) But if you get up late,maybe nothing.

Disliked: There are no supermarkets nearby here. Room is not so big.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and free breaky

Disliked: was just a little bit far out of the main town but an easy enough and nice walk to the falls

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011

Liked: close to railway and bus station

Disliked: too far from the falls and no good organization

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Sieber

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast

Disliked: surrounding

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Keen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: close to bus stop

Disliked: the whole area of niagra, the buildings and the hostel are ugly, it was a poor layout and not very clean or well kept, over priced for facilities on offer