HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Niagara Falls Hostel Niagara Falls Hostel

4549 Cataract Ave., Niagara Falls, Niagara Falls, Canada

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 92%

Location 80%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please note: 13% Tax is applied at check-n time.
A government photo ID is required to check-in.

Rates quoted assume guests are members of Hostelling International (HI). Non-members can buy a membership card onsite or pay an additional fee of $5 per night, per person (shared room) or $10 (private room).
Opening hours: 8am to Midnight. (June until October 31st)
8am to 10 pm (November - April)

For reservations of more than 4 days, the hostel requires a deposit of 50% in order to confirm the booking. The hostel will contact directly the guest in order to make arrangements using a valid credit card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Niagara Falls?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 92%

Location 80%

Safety 92%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Super welcoming and friendly staff,very helpful,clean,cosy and comfy hostal (rooms,bathroom,kitchen area,etc). Nicely located 25 minutes walking from the falls away from the «city» but close to greyhound station and train station and to a street with shops,pubs and bars.

Disliked: Very slow Internet

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Nice kitchen. Liked that it is close to stations. Helpful staff.

Disliked: The window in the women's dorm is way too small. Small room got very stuffy with six people. Window fan would do wonders to get air moving....

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Staff super friendly. It was so cozy that made me feel like home. Even though there was not a lot of people because it was winter.

Disliked: The location is near the bus station but not that close to the falls. But I guess in the summer it's also a busy area.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: staff, room, bed, breakfast, wifi

Disliked: bathroom was not the best

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location great

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Facilities complete, with complementary hairdryer and towel use. Big common area indoors and outdoors, bikes for rent

Disliked: Staff didn't really carry or encourage the traveller vibe but were very knowledgeable when asked specific information

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Niagara falls is so expensive if you need to travel alone lowest cost of a hotel room is $100 with taxes and parking. I paid $55 for a private room at this hostel which included parking, wifi and breakfast. Close to falls if driving. Close to bus and train if needed. Wifi worked well. Quiet. Private room on main floor has a/c and heating.

Disliked: Roaches! I got a private room on the upper floor , room looked decent until i looked out the open window and saw roaches when i went to close the window I realized there were roaches on the inside of the window and all over the curtains. I asked for a new room, which he did provide with no hassle, and he gave me what appeared to be a more updated room on the main floor. This room looked much cleaner and I did get a decent sleep. However when I woke up there was a roach crawling on my floor. No hostel is perfectly clean and I am not sure if it is an infestation or not cause I only went in two rooms but considering I've been to 3rd world countries that had less of a bug problem than a hostel in Canada I think there may be an issue. I guess I hold Canada to a higher standard. Because of all the roaches I saw I decided not to eat breakfast here as I was thinking maybe they don't clean throughly here. This hostel is literally in an abandoned part of town. It looks like they set up shop before tourism in Niagara falls became a big thing and when all other businesses shutdown to be near the strips this hostel stayed. All the houses and business around here are empty and have boarded up window. I honestly don't really care but if I was coming here to party and had to come back to this area at night i'd be creeped out. I didn't see any sketchy people around though its just deserted. I guess they liked the location as its so close to the bus and rail system.My window faced the main entrance to the outside and my latch on my window was broken. So didn't feel as safe as I would have liked to

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean rooms and bathrooms, great recreation room in the basement. The hostel is really close to the bus Station so if you have heavy bags this is great! Rooms had enough space, lockers and control of your own heating/air con which was convenient.

Disliked: I'm not sure how they organize online bookings as they didn't seem to have all the information that other hostels I have booked through this site had. They were firstly trying to charge me almost double what I was notified of by email. They had no record of my deposit, after showing my confirmation email to them 3 times I was told that it was their mistake as I was being charged for a different room and should have stated my room type. I would have thought this was specified in my original booking as it was in my confirmation email. Once this was sorted they also offered to email my receipt. He didn't have my email address hitch I thought unusual. I wrote it down for him but have yet to receive it 24 hours later. I'm sure this was either a misunderstanding but it was hugely inconvenient as it took 20 mins to check in and pay the correct price. We asked about transport to the falls (as nothing is posted on info boards) and were told it had ended for the night. We walked the 30 mins to the falls and the public transport passed us twice. Not very helpful information! Nice hostel but just needs to be a little more efficient.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Home away from away . Nice place to sit and relax and be to yourself.

Disliked: Can't think of anything. .may be some group evening activity to bring all guest to mingle

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location is prime and the atmosphere is so welcoming!

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability