HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of M-Montreal

Hostel | 1245 Rue St Andre, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3T1

95.8% Overall Rating

63 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

David Weimann thinks…

"This is one of the best hostels I have ever been! The location is awesome, especially the pub in the basement and it is very close to the fun areas of Montreal.. There is a pool table and they have…"

Read all M-Montreal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the mandatory taxes of Quebec and Canada are NOT included in the rate. Add 19.52% to your balance due.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Le Saint-Andre
65.49 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.4% 40 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
80.95 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
31.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Arena Palace
16.37 USD

Hotel 1 star 49.2% 9 reviews
Gîte Le Simone Bed and Breakfast
48.21 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 20 reviews
Hôtel Célébrité Montréal
15.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.7% 57 reviews
Hotel Visitel
27.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Montreal Central
18.18 USD

Hostel 91.1% 304 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

63 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'M-Montreal'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 63 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good facilities. Bathroom in room. So only sharing with six

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Weimann

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever been! The location is awesome, especially the pub in the basement and it is very close to the fun areas of Montreal.. There is a pool table and they have events every evening. The staff is not just friendly… it is absolutely amazing. They take a lot of time for each and every customer to make them feel at home. Rooms are clean and we got new towels every day. All rooms have an own bathroom.

Disliked: Honestly, nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abdulaziz Althagafi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 March 2014 Abdulaziz would recommend this property

Liked: There is plasma TV in the 4bed dorm I stayed at! And the M-bar is a great place to meet other travelers!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very professional, full of activities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joerg Michel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Joerg would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, friendly staff, good location

Disliked: breakfast could be offered longer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxwell Lemelin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 March 2014 Maxwell would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, great atmosphere and the bar is huge and really cool. Montreal is one of the greatest cities in the world, especially its nightlife and this hostel couldn't be in a better location. Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: Maxwell left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really well planned facilities, super friendly and helpful staff and a great location!

Disliked: No dislikes! Only small detail that wasn't the best was that the kitchen is quite small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved M-Montreal! The staff is very nice and their rooms were SO CLEAN! I was in the 8 mixed dorm and it did not feel crowded at all. We also had a private bathroom that was fairly large and also spotless. The location is also very convenient- near a subway. It took a little walking to get to certain places and night activities, but it is simple if you rent a city bike located around the corner of the hostel. There is a fun little bar in the basement of the hostel that offers a variety of activities- the comedy show was HILARIOUS. The best thing about this hostel is the breakfast... it has been 5 months and I still crave those croissants.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff was as friendly as any hostel staff I've ever met. The rooms were also new and clean and the hostel was very well organized to meet the needs of travelers.

Disliked: It's good to know in advance that tax is not included in the price like most hostels around the world and that various taxes add about 20%. This is the case will all hostels in Canada so just factor it in. More annoying than the "total price" not including taxes was the scam to scrape another few dollars in the exchange rate. I don't know if this is done by the hostel or the booking site but we all know what the exchange rates are while we're traveling so it's better to list a price that's a few dollars higher at booking than to scam us at the check in desk.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really central, the staff were super friendly and helpful, the rooms were really comfortable and clean and the bar downstairs open every day definitely made it a super fun hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Jaimovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, good parties, comfortable, good breakfast, great location, Internet works perfectly.

Disliked: Anything! Everything was ok. The only thing that I would recommend is to implement a hostel linen programs by reusing towels and not changing them everyday unless the guest request it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love that it is located in the best part of town with convenient parking! My second time staying here and will always stay here when Im in Montreal. Great service great place great everything!

Disliked: What's not to like!?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominique Poulin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very nice and helpfull, facilities are very good and clean, defenetly worth the money

Disliked: There are some wierd people hanging outside at night.. And the hostell is right near the gay area so if you're not into that stuff...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Simon Dyball

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location, great staff and breakfast.

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, near metro station Berri UQAM where you can reach most places from. The staff was friendly and helpful, they recommended stuff to do and restaurants to eat at and such. The breakfast was good and they hosted nice events on the evenings in the bar like hostel comedy night.

Disliked: Way too cold inside. I was almost constantly freezing and had to "steal" a blanket from an empty bed to be able to sleep. No reading lights at the beds so you can't really read anything when the ceilinglight is off. The cleaning isn't very clean, there was moldy food in the fridge and old clothes where in the clotheshangers which no one knew who they belong (two entire room rotations happened during my stay and the clothes are still there). Slow internet at times but it probably can't be helped. There should be some possibility for some "midnight food", like fruits you could buy in case you got hungry late at night but are too tired to walk to McDonalds or don't want to eat fast food or restaurant right before bed. The pillows were too small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern rooms and bathrooms...even hairdryers in some of the girls dorms! Activities every night and staff were excellent. We even partied with them some nights! It was the first time i had stayed in a hostel and it was more like a shared hotel! Fresh towels each day was amazing.

Disliked: Breakfast on offer wasnt really much but then it was free!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, really clean and modern. Beds are very comfortable and the bathroom attached to my 8 person dorm was great. Breakfast is really good too

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Greg Kansky

Alone

City break

25 June 2013 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very good.

Disliked: I little pricey for such a large dorm room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Schepis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean rooms and a great location.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people. The location is excellent, close to the subway station, restaurants and shoppers. Great common area for socializing. breakfast is provided.

Disliked: Room is a bit small. There sink in bathroom is really tiny, and there is no place to put stuff while taking shower.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ignacio Spiousas

Alone

Business / conference

11 June 2013 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: I've been in several hostels in my life and I can say that this is a good one. The rooms and the bathrooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast is reasonable. It also has a nice and cheap bar downstairs.

Disliked: First, the area is not too nice. It's surrounded by a junkie area of Montreal. Even if nothing happened to me, I didn't feel very safe coming with my laptop at 1 am. Second, the fridge it's too small. I know it can sound like a detail but when you lose 20 dls of food because someone took your food out to put them (because the fridge was incedibly fool) it turns important. Third and final. The staff it's friendly but not too helpful. The times I asked for help I didn't receive a nice response. Nor when I had to throw my food away nor when I asked them to make the receipt under the name of my University so I could get refunded. In the first case he said it was not their responsability and that was nothing that they could do and in the second he said that he couldn't "falsify" a document (when actually it's my university who is paying, like when you go to a hotel covered by a company).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a good place

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is almost a luxury type of a hostel - super clean, great facilities and most important - great staff! Would def stay there again. The bar at the basement is really handy for meeting people :)

Disliked: This might sounds harsh but I didn't like the fact there is no age limit for the hostel - I noticed older people (over 40, or 50) and I saw a kid as well (like 10 yr old). That was a bit odd since it's a rather party place...