We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Auberge Chez Jean

Hostel | 4136 Henri Julien, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2W 2K3

82.7% Overall Rating

246 out of 327 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2013)

"This hostel as a very good atmosphere. Feels like home somehow. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. When i arrived Felix (staff) just took us to the mont royal and we could enjoy the amazing view over montreal.…"

Read all Auberge Chez Jean reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Stay Mont Royal
26.85 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Majestique Suites Montreal
57.73 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Plateau Mont Royal
17.45 USD

Hostel 80.8% 24 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
13.43 USD

Hostel 77.9% 16 reviews
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
35.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 183 reviews
Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel
14.02 USD

Hostel 91.2% 210 reviews
Montreal Central
17.89 USD

Hostel 91.9% 324 reviews
Hotel Visitel
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

246 out of 327 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Auberge Chez Jean'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 203 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014

Liked: The Australian guy working there was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Most of it. Way too crowded, they took more bookings than they had space for.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Boyd

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Giuseppe Marchese

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: Location, kind staff, chance to change accomodation, kitchen,

Disliked: maybe no reasonably bathrooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BÁRBARA RIGHETTI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 BÁRBARA would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff, really good environment.

Disliked: BÁRBARA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel as a very good atmosphere. Feels like home somehow. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. When i arrived Felix (staff) just took us to the mont royal and we could enjoy the amazing view over montreal. Although it is not located in the city centre, the hostel is in a real nice neighborhood.

Disliked: You can just stay on the balcony until 10 because the hostel had some problems with the neighbors. Still thats ok as Montreal has a pretty awesome nightlife!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Linane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, lovely staff, clean as a new penny and value for money!

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact they had proper bread, and they were even juicing oranges.

Disliked: Some of the mattresses are painful to sleep on, There were no lockers when there really should be, not just a room they lock.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, openminded and relaxed.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hosts and nice private double room with bathroom and shower conveniently located across the hall. Good breakfast with bread, milk, juice, cereal, fruit, jam, tea, coffee, etc. Good location with easy access to Metro.

Disliked: Nothing.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2012

Liked: One good thing was they were very lenient on check out times and breakfast was pretty much all day.

Disliked: This place was like staying in somebody's grandma's farmhouse basement. Dark, dingy, and cramped. Would not suggest this place to anyone who enjoys the smallest amount of privacy and/or bathrooms that don't smell like a urinal.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the easiest check in and out I have ever experienced at a hostel. Just got the key and shown around, boom! Friendly staff too, helped us sort out how to get around city and had some great suggestions for both Montreal and Quebec City! Very helpful and easy to talk to.

Disliked: Room wasn't entirely secure (two doors, one locked and the other didn't!), and they used every inch of space for beds; on the floor, on bunk beds, even outside! Made for walking around at night difficult!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the people were soo great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character, friendly staff. Great location on quiet residential street.

Disliked: Our room was really hot, but other than that not much to dislike!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. homely. close to train.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and breakfast.

Disliked: The lay-out of the hostel buiding is very inconvenient, but apparently that is the Quebecois style...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location close to the metro (only a few blocks away) and then once on the metro downtown was just 2 stops away! Everything was cozy. I arrived on a cold night and the room was warm, as well as the nice blanket my bed was provided with! In the morning there was a simple breakfast--totally unexpected but very appreciated!

Disliked: Nothing--one of the very best hostel experiences I have had. Of course, the people are what make a stay memorable or nightmarish or fun. I arrived when there were very few guests, and those who were there were interesting and pleasant. I have no complaints.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a more tranquil part of the city. You get what you pay for, yes i saw a mouse run through my room, but the other guests were kind and staff were excellent. Sheets clean. Free internet

Disliked: i like this hostel, but would not recommend it to my mother.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: This hostel was a big shock to us. Luckily we had opted for the 'private room'. Otherwise people were sleeping on mattresses on the floor, some even outside under the balcony! There was only one toilet and bathroom per floor, which could be housing up to at least 12 people and they were filthy. I didn't see anyone attempt to clean in the three days we spent there. The kitchens were dirty and a mess and the breakfast facilities were poorly laid out in a tiny kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Forby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Very open and kindley athmosphere. Very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christian MASSOT

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The place was quiet though there were a lot of people. Staff was friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very cool place architecturally like something out a Harry Potter film. The staff was helpful, all around a good experience.

Disliked: No complaints really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marissa Jenko

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: you definitely have to be an open minded person to stay in this hostel. there is a possibility that you will be sleeping in the lobby, or you could have a room. or you could have a "room" that is really a space in the lobby that is blocked off by some sheets hanging from the ceiling. that being said, i thought the place was great. it has a lot of character and everyone is very friendly. for the price, in montreal, it was fine for 2 nights. like i said be open minded!

Disliked: not much

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, nice location. 20min walk from downtown. The street going there is already full of bars, restaurants and shops. Bus station in same distance

Disliked: Bed's are all different and I had unluck. Just a couple of stapled matrasses on eachother.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere is good. fun place to meet people.

Disliked: too crowded.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 June 2011

Liked: The workers are nice. The hostel is like home. Bathroom is quite large.

Disliked: There is no key to enter the hostel and there is no looker either. I didn't get stolen anything but I was worried about security.