HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Montreal Central

Hostel | 1586 St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3Z3

92.2% Overall Rating

317 out of 323 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

"Staff are amazing & the events they offered were great!! By far the nicest hostel I've stayed in so far!!"

Read all Montreal Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The new tax-rates are as follow: 3.5% Montreal (lodging) 5% Canada (federal) 9.5% Quebec (provincial)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Visitel
20.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Arena Palace
16.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 46.5% 11 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
31.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel
14.02 USD

Hostel 91.2% 210 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
69.82 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.4% 42 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
50.13 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
M-Montreal
19.68 USD

Hostel 96.8% 89 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
13.43 USD

Hostel 77.9% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

317 out of 323 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montreal Central'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 272 of 313 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Navelot

21 June 2010 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice, the hostel really clean. Their breakfast is pretty good too. I highly recommend that place. I went to many hostels and I would say that that one was one of the best I stayed.

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Lundmark

16 June 2010 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Montreal Central was by far my favourite hostel during my travels across Canada. It had the least amount of rules yet had the least amount of problems. Plus I met some really cool people which made my stay in Montreal all the more exciting. I'll definitely stay there again, if/when I return to Montreal, I seriously have no complaints at all.

Disliked: Elisabeth left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private double room, all very clean. Free breakfast was very simple, but nice. It's almost inside Montreal's bus station, which makes it a perfect location on the one hand, but a little noisy sometimes on the other. I would recommend it for a short stay though...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Henri Groux-Holt

10 June 2010 Henri would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Even partied with some of them! The free breakfast was great. Awesome location. Met many cool people. Would definitely return.

Disliked: Henri left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kensuke Nishimura

08 June 2010 Kensuke would recommend this property

Liked: Maybe they can make the breakfast better and have the room for eating in which we can have the breakfast more comfortable.

Disliked: Kensuke left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Krystle Talbot

07 June 2010 Krystle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful. Joshua and Simon, I'm looking at you guys! The rooms are always clean, and the dorms have an ensuite bathroom, which is always nice (and a bit of a rarity). The noise in the lobby can be a bit much later in the evening, especially if people decide to get their karaoke on. Clean towels, clean bedsheets, lockers in the hallways and in the rooms. Great value for money.

Disliked: Krystle left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gabor RUSZKAI

07 June 2010 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, clean, spotless room and bathroom, splendid athmosphere for young people.HOWEVER!!!IT IS CLOSE TO THE GRAYHOUND BUS STATION SOME 5 (!) METERS, AND VERY LOUD AT NIGHT, ALL BUSES RUN THEIR ENGINES near`the windows OVERNIGHT, SO IF U ARE SENSITIVE TO NOISE, AVOID IT!!! We complained, so they gave us earplugs, but to no avail.We`left after the first night, there are plenty of other similar hotels nearby.

Disliked: Gabor left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Witecki

06 June 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, loved the wifi in the room, very professional staff, free breakfast was excellent, everything was clean. The best hostel i stayed in during this trip. Super close to the bus station and metro, although the area is a little shady.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and nice facilities, kitchen was very small, internet and wifi was awesome. Staff was very nice and helpful. A little expensive and a pity that you couldn't buy and drink your own alcohol in the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it looked like a regular hotel, not a hostel. it was so clean and so close to the Metro!! the breakfast wasn't really that great but it was better than nothing. the staff were all very helpful. the free internet was a big big big help!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This may be the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. The food was great, the staff was incredible and the rooms and bathrooms were much nicer than most hostels. The location is very good. Right next to a metro station and easy walking distance to nightlife on St. Denis and the Old Port. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to go to Montreal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremely friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very convenient! Very friendly staff, the room was clean, the breakfast was great! Good location as well! So I'll definitely recommend it to someone else!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josée Roy

19 May 2010 Josée would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel in a central location. Amazing staff and the best breakfast I've ever had in a hostel. True Canadian hospitality, loved it!

Disliked: Josée left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent Chen

14 May 2010 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Surprisingly good services for the price. Room were new and immaculate with fridges and microwaves... something most hostels don't both with, Kinda small hostel though

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the better hostels that I have stayed at. Everything was just really organized and made a lot of sense. The staff was really helpful and friendly. It was only a 20 min walk to Vieux Montréal which is nice. I would definitely come back here!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Andrews

11 May 2010 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant - very clean, very nice!

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Ayres

06 May 2010 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Rhys left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Andreas Møller-Johansen

26 April 2010 David Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that we had towels and sheets similar to hotel standard, unlike other hostels were you get used linen and towels left behind by others.

Disliked: David Andreas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

senad handanagic

15 April 2010 senad would recommend this property

Liked: great location, ultra friendly staff, good breakfest, every day clear sheats and towels. I recomend!

Disliked: senad left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice show at night in the living room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff! Very helpful, very friendly staff who offered great recommendations for things to do, places to go, and where to eat. They were helpful by taking the time to circle on maps different things to do and how to get there. They took a genuine interest in the activities that you did and took the time to connect with you and talk to you about how your day went. The "lounge" area was always bustling with people, live music, and even a home cooked dinner for all of the guests. Great place to meet new people and have a good time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sonja-Liv Rannem

04 April 2010 Sonja-Liv would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. I would describe it as a hostel set up with hotel quality and comfort. The free breakfast was awesome, staff were very helpful and friendly and the location could not have been better because it's right beside the bus station and 3 metro lines. Also, they had different activities organized like live music and karaoke. Very nice touch! Thank you!

Disliked: Sonja-Liv left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Paparella

24 March 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: great set-up with all necessities...30secs from the bus station and short walk from downtown only...very cool chilled atmosphere...would definitely recommend to others to stay...

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Grundel

19 March 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Central to Montreal with easy access to most places either by walking or by taking the Metro. Cafe Campus with Joshua is a must do if you want to party and meet people.Directions to the hostel from the Trudeau Airport would have been nice, $19 on the Aerobus that takes you to the Bus Station which is next door to the hostel. I paid $40 taxi fare from the airport.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.