HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Montreal Central

Hostel | 1586 St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3Z3

92.2% Overall Rating

310 out of 316 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

"Free Breakfast, fridge in room, close to Gay Village, close to downtown, air-conditioning."

Read all Montreal Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The new tax-rates are as follow: 3.5% Montreal (lodging) 5% Canada (federal) 9.5% Quebec (provincial)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Visitel
27.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Arena Palace
18.34 USD

Hotel 1 star 49.2% 9 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
32.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel
17.73 USD

Hostel 88.3% 205 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
71.53 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.4% 42 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
137.55 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
M-Montreal
24.75 USD

Hostel 97.1% 82 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
18.34 USD

Hostel 84.1% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

311 out of 317 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montreal Central'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 308 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Laura Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hotel like hostel in perfect location next to bus station

Disliked: not great facilities. doesn't have laundry or good kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the hostel is very nice from the beginning on because you are welcomed in a very friendly way by the always helpful staff. The rooms are basic, but offer everything you need and are very clean. The breakfast is really good and offers something for everybody.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

31 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Josue

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Bainbridge

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: European looking building from the outside with a modern twist on the inside. It's also just around the corner from the Metro, and within spitting distance of the Greyhound. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and it draws and eclectic group of guests.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A excellent Hostel with very helpful and friendly staff. It is located right next to the bus terminal which is great! The hostel has 3 computers you can use free of charge and wi fi. There was an activity every evening (pub crawl etc) however there was no hassle if you said no and in the common area it was very easy to meet and talk to people. The breakfast is very good too!

Disliked: The rooms are very small but more than sufficient with air con and ensuite bathroom!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Business / conference

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: every things

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claude Tremblay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Claude would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and very clean

Disliked: Claude left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nice to have a bathroom in the room, and my bed had a light so that was really good

Disliked: need more power points in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PAUL OSTROFF

Alone

13 August 2010 PAUL would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at hostels all over the world. Many of these hostels have been great,but none have been better than this awesome place. A whole staff dedicated to assuring you of a super stay in every way,and at all times.I cannot say enough about how wonderful a stay I had here,and would recommend this place to anyone.IMHO-there exists no better hostel anywhere.

Disliked: PAUL left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was extremely impressed by Montreal Central. From the warm welcome to clean rooms and bedding to a fantastic breakfast, it exceeded my expectations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicola Hopper

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2010 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: Rooms were quite small Kitchen was tiny - lucky our group was the only ones trying to use it Tables for eating - not really practical

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

prospero arena

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2010 prospero would recommend this property

Liked: bed too small for two people and bus too near

Disliked: prospero left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Chetcuti

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 August 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: the stsaff are soo brilliant special thanks to josh and alex for their help... truly amazing peoplei cannot fault a thing

Disliked: nothing everything was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was excellent and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. They offered free internet and there was even a television and a microwave in our dorm room! Overall this place was fantastic and we had the best time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are fantastic - friendly, welcoming, very helpful and provide a great atmostphere.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANNETTE LEWIS

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

05 July 2010 ANNETTE would recommend this property

Liked: Great mix of hotel facilities:own room, ensuite shower/whb,wc, fridge, air conditioning, tv, room cleaned daily and a friendly hostel atmosphere. Welcoming to a wide age range:18-over 60 when I was there. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and one night during our stay organised a free meal. Seemed to be an activity on most nights.Very close to long distance bus station and by the metro. Within easy walking distance of most venues for Jazz Festival.

Disliked: The kitchen used by residents and staff was shared so there was no access before 10am as staff needed to use it to prepare and clear up breakfast. Facilities were too crowded for number of people using kitchen and sink was small particularly in early evening. As my daughter could not eat breakfast on offer due to a food allergy we had to negotiate some limited access which was allowed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Niels Oesterreich

26 June 2010 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast in the lobby, good location in the very city centre, very helpful and friendly stuff

Disliked: Niels left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matilda Agren

22 June 2010 Matilda would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely wonderful hostel!! Most important: the great staff, who were so much fun and so helpful, and made my too short stay in Montreal a memorable one.The hostel is kind of small and , which I like, because it makes it easier to interact with other guests. Nice hang out area in the lobby with bar/kitchen. And I understand why it got top-ranked "cleanest hostel" - someone cleaned our bathroom everyday!! Hotel standard. And when you, like me, don't like to drag your laptop around when you are backpacking, the free internet on the hostel computers are highly appreciated!Also, the location is great in the down town area with nice cafées/bars close by. And just next to the bus station - makes it easy to quickly change your travel plans..good for a last-minute person..I will definetly stay here when I come back!

Disliked: Matilda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Navelot

21 June 2010 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice, the hostel really clean. Their breakfast is pretty good too. I highly recommend that place. I went to many hostels and I would say that that one was one of the best I stayed.

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Lundmark

16 June 2010 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Montreal Central was by far my favourite hostel during my travels across Canada. It had the least amount of rules yet had the least amount of problems. Plus I met some really cool people which made my stay in Montreal all the more exciting. I'll definitely stay there again, if/when I return to Montreal, I seriously have no complaints at all.

Disliked: Elisabeth left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private double room, all very clean. Free breakfast was very simple, but nice. It's almost inside Montreal's bus station, which makes it a perfect location on the one hand, but a little noisy sometimes on the other. I would recommend it for a short stay though...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Henri Groux-Holt

10 June 2010 Henri would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Even partied with some of them! The free breakfast was great. Awesome location. Met many cool people. Would definitely return.

Disliked: Henri left no negative feedback.