HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Montreal Central

Hostel | 1586 St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3Z3

91.1% Overall Rating

299 out of 304 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2013)

"I loved the staff and the activities at the other hostel were awesome such a great way to meet people! Beds were comfortable and pretty quiet when you move! The location was epic was so central easy to walk everywhere…"

Read all Montreal Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The new tax-rates are as follow: 3.5% Montreal (lodging) 5% Canada (federal) 9.5% Quebec (provincial)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Visitel
27.22 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Arena Palace
13.61 USD

Hotel 1 star 49.2% 9 reviews
Gîte Le Simone Bed and Breakfast
48.09 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 20 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
31.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel
16.33 USD

Hostel 86.4% 198 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
65.33 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.4% 40 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
80.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
M-Montreal
22.67 USD

Hostel 95.8% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

299 out of 304 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montreal Central'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 258 of 294 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was extremely impressed by Montreal Central. From the warm welcome to clean rooms and bedding to a fantastic breakfast, it exceeded my expectations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicola Hopper

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2010 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: Rooms were quite small Kitchen was tiny - lucky our group was the only ones trying to use it Tables for eating - not really practical

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

prospero arena

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2010 prospero would recommend this property

Liked: bed too small for two people and bus too near

Disliked: prospero left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Chetcuti

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 August 2010 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: the stsaff are soo brilliant special thanks to josh and alex for their help... truly amazing peoplei cannot fault a thing

Disliked: nothing everything was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was excellent and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. They offered free internet and there was even a television and a microwave in our dorm room! Overall this place was fantastic and we had the best time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are fantastic - friendly, welcoming, very helpful and provide a great atmostphere.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANNETTE LEWIS

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

05 July 2010 ANNETTE would recommend this property

Liked: Great mix of hotel facilities:own room, ensuite shower/whb,wc, fridge, air conditioning, tv, room cleaned daily and a friendly hostel atmosphere. Welcoming to a wide age range:18-over 60 when I was there. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and one night during our stay organised a free meal. Seemed to be an activity on most nights.Very close to long distance bus station and by the metro. Within easy walking distance of most venues for Jazz Festival.

Disliked: The kitchen used by residents and staff was shared so there was no access before 10am as staff needed to use it to prepare and clear up breakfast. Facilities were too crowded for number of people using kitchen and sink was small particularly in early evening. As my daughter could not eat breakfast on offer due to a food allergy we had to negotiate some limited access which was allowed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Niels Oesterreich

26 June 2010 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast in the lobby, good location in the very city centre, very helpful and friendly stuff

Disliked: Niels left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matilda Agren

22 June 2010 Matilda would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely wonderful hostel!! Most important: the great staff, who were so much fun and so helpful, and made my too short stay in Montreal a memorable one.The hostel is kind of small and , which I like, because it makes it easier to interact with other guests. Nice hang out area in the lobby with bar/kitchen. And I understand why it got top-ranked "cleanest hostel" - someone cleaned our bathroom everyday!! Hotel standard. And when you, like me, don't like to drag your laptop around when you are backpacking, the free internet on the hostel computers are highly appreciated!Also, the location is great in the down town area with nice cafées/bars close by. And just next to the bus station - makes it easy to quickly change your travel plans..good for a last-minute person..I will definetly stay here when I come back!

Disliked: Matilda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Navelot

21 June 2010 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice, the hostel really clean. Their breakfast is pretty good too. I highly recommend that place. I went to many hostels and I would say that that one was one of the best I stayed.

Disliked: Marie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Lundmark

16 June 2010 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Montreal Central was by far my favourite hostel during my travels across Canada. It had the least amount of rules yet had the least amount of problems. Plus I met some really cool people which made my stay in Montreal all the more exciting. I'll definitely stay there again, if/when I return to Montreal, I seriously have no complaints at all.

Disliked: Elisabeth left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a private double room, all very clean. Free breakfast was very simple, but nice. It's almost inside Montreal's bus station, which makes it a perfect location on the one hand, but a little noisy sometimes on the other. I would recommend it for a short stay though...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Henri Groux-Holt

10 June 2010 Henri would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Even partied with some of them! The free breakfast was great. Awesome location. Met many cool people. Would definitely return.

Disliked: Henri left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kensuke Nishimura

08 June 2010 Kensuke would recommend this property

Liked: Maybe they can make the breakfast better and have the room for eating in which we can have the breakfast more comfortable.

Disliked: Kensuke left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Krystle Talbot

07 June 2010 Krystle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful. Joshua and Simon, I'm looking at you guys! The rooms are always clean, and the dorms have an ensuite bathroom, which is always nice (and a bit of a rarity). The noise in the lobby can be a bit much later in the evening, especially if people decide to get their karaoke on. Clean towels, clean bedsheets, lockers in the hallways and in the rooms. Great value for money.

Disliked: Krystle left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gabor RUSZKAI

07 June 2010 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, clean, spotless room and bathroom, splendid athmosphere for young people.HOWEVER!!!IT IS CLOSE TO THE GRAYHOUND BUS STATION SOME 5 (!) METERS, AND VERY LOUD AT NIGHT, ALL BUSES RUN THEIR ENGINES near`the windows OVERNIGHT, SO IF U ARE SENSITIVE TO NOISE, AVOID IT!!! We complained, so they gave us earplugs, but to no avail.We`left after the first night, there are plenty of other similar hotels nearby.

Disliked: Gabor left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Witecki

06 June 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, loved the wifi in the room, very professional staff, free breakfast was excellent, everything was clean. The best hostel i stayed in during this trip. Super close to the bus station and metro, although the area is a little shady.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and nice facilities, kitchen was very small, internet and wifi was awesome. Staff was very nice and helpful. A little expensive and a pity that you couldn't buy and drink your own alcohol in the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it looked like a regular hotel, not a hostel. it was so clean and so close to the Metro!! the breakfast wasn't really that great but it was better than nothing. the staff were all very helpful. the free internet was a big big big help!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This may be the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. The food was great, the staff was incredible and the rooms and bathrooms were much nicer than most hostels. The location is very good. Right next to a metro station and easy walking distance to nightlife on St. Denis and the Old Port. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to go to Montreal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremely friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was very convenient! Very friendly staff, the room was clean, the breakfast was great! Good location as well! So I'll definitely recommend it to someone else!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josée Roy

19 May 2010 Josée would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel in a central location. Amazing staff and the best breakfast I've ever had in a hostel. True Canadian hospitality, loved it!

Disliked: Josée left no negative feedback.