HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Montreal Central Montreal Hostel

1586 St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec, Montreal, Canada

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

All prices are subject to government tax of 14%.

24 hour cancellation policy: Our cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to arrival date. To cancel your reservation, you must do so at least 24 hours prior to arrival date (via our web site, by email or phone) without any charge. For later cancellations and ‘no shows’ we will charge one night on your credit card.

Hostel policies: We require a valid credit card for all guests. You may be required to show a passport or proof of onward travel to maintain the focus of providing a safe environment for young travelers.

Only +18.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 51-38 of 38 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked that this hostel was very clean and that it offers free towels and linen. The breakfast is good and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Unfortunately the place is like an anonymous hotel without any character. It's good for one or two nights because of the price and the location but I wouldn't stay there for a longer time.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: I love this hostel and stay there every time I visit Montreal. It is affordable, convenient, and the staff is always friendly. They have a new secondary hostel with a bar. There are always interesting and fun activities going on. I even won a beer when I bet the correct score for the hockey game on my trip. The breakfast is terrific.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Perfect place! The location is great, as described and the staff is awesome. Joshua who checked me in was fantastic! Gave me lots of information on the city and was extremely helpful with the check-in. Also it is so nice that the hostel also does free dinner on Fridays with a band, and I think there were other events on other days of the week. One of the best of many hostels I've stayed in!

Disliked: Everything was great!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Work / volunteering

Liked: -tasteful decor, modern, very comfortable, very friendly staff, nice breakfast, good value

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing staff!! Very knd, caring and helpful! My train ticket was canceled and at front desk helped me to arange everything needed for bus reservation... Breakfast was good, rooms have telephone, tv, private bathroom, really good value for money and main subway station is one block away!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent hostel! Location was perfect: 2 minute walk from where the airport bus shuttle stops and a 2 minute walk from a metro station that's a major hub with two lines. Felt safe as a 20 something woman walking back from metro after dark. 4 bed dorm was clean and included 4 lockers. Each bed also had its out extension cord with 2 outlets and a small reading light, which was wonderfully convenient. Ensuite bathroom good with plenty of hot water in shower. My room was in basement, which worried me until I saw it: it still got plenty of light and didn't feel like a basement room. Was also next door to a little communal lounge with attached bathroom.The bar upstairs is nice, quite friendly and fun and had wonderful live music the night I hung out there. I ended up going to my room to sleep halfway through the act, and couldn't hear the music at all from there. Workers friendly and welcoming, able to give good advice on how to get places, where to go, etc. Variety of guests too; all of my roommates were friendly.Free breakfast was all-you-can-eat a la carte with a selection of pastries and hard boiled eggs. Not fancy but decent and definitely filling.All in all, it far exceeded my expectations, especially considering it's one of the most budget friendly Montreal options! If I'm ever back in Montreal, I will definitely stay here!I know this review sounds a bit over the top, and that this is the first review I've left on hostelbookers but I promise I'm a real person and not being compensated for writing it. ;)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: that's close to everything.

Disliked: in this aera there are a lots of homeless pepole

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pleasant and Helpful Staff

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It's the best place around for backpacking people

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed in a private room. I was glad I did--the atmosphere was very fun--but I like to sleep at night.Great activities, good breakfast, very clean. As I said it was a very fun hostel. Live music nights, free dinner nights, etc. Great central location--the airport bus drops off and picks up right around the corner at the metro station.A little expensive, but overall I was happy with my experience.

Disliked: A little expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability