HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Montreal Central

Hostel | 1586 St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3Z3

91.1% Overall Rating

299 out of 304 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/12/2013)

"I loved the staff and the activities at the other hostel were awesome such a great way to meet people! Beds were comfortable and pretty quiet when you move! The location was epic was so central easy to walk everywhere…"

Read all Montreal Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The new tax-rates are as follow: 3.5% Montreal (lodging) 5% Canada (federal) 9.5% Quebec (provincial)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Visitel
27.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Arena Palace
13.60 USD

Hotel 1 star 49.2% 9 reviews
Gîte Le Simone Bed and Breakfast
48.05 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 20 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
31.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 86.4% 198 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
65.27 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.4% 40 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
80.68 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
M-Montreal
22.65 USD

Hostel 95.8% 64 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

299 out of 304 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montreal Central'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 258 of 294 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really made the place very friendly and helpful. Also ots of events in the evening, Rockability a must.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and helpful staff, the organized events are great fun, good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Workman

Alone

Events / festivals

07 February 2013 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel and stay there every time I visit Montreal. It is affordable, convenient, and the staff is always friendly. They have a new secondary hostel with a bar. There are always interesting and fun activities going on. I even won a beer when I bet the correct score for the hockey game on my trip. The breakfast is terrific.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel! Location was perfect: 2 minute walk from where the airport bus shuttle stops and a 2 minute walk from a metro station that's a major hub with two lines. Felt safe as a 20 something woman walking back from metro after dark. 4 bed dorm was clean and included 4 lockers. Each bed also had its out extension cord with 2 outlets and a small reading light, which was wonderfully convenient. Ensuite bathroom good with plenty of hot water in shower. My room was in basement, which worried me until I saw it: it still got plenty of light and didn't feel like a basement room. Was also next door to a little communal lounge with attached bathroom. The bar upstairs is nice, quite friendly and fun and had wonderful live music the night I hung out there. I ended up going to my room to sleep halfway through the act, and couldn't hear the music at all from there. Workers friendly and welcoming, able to give good advice on how to get places, where to go, etc. Variety of guests too; all of my roommates were friendly. Free breakfast was all-you-can-eat a la carte with a selection of pastries and hard boiled eggs. Not fancy but decent and definitely filling. All in all, it far exceeded my expectations, especially considering it's one of the most budget friendly Montreal options! If I'm ever back in Montreal, I will definitely stay here! I know this review sounds a bit over the top, and that this is the first review I've left on hostelbookers but I promise I'm a real person and not being compensated for writing it. ;)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

May Chan

Alone

City break

03 December 2012 May would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place! The location is great, as described and the staff is awesome. Joshua who checked me in was fantastic! Gave me lots of information on the city and was extremely helpful with the check-in. Also it is so nice that the hostel also does free dinner on Fridays with a band, and I think there were other events on other days of the week. One of the best of many hostels I've stayed in!

Disliked: Everything was great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashley Kennedy

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

20 November 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: -tasteful decor, modern, very comfortable, very friendly staff, nice breakfast, good value

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff!! Very knd, caring and helpful! My train ticket was canceled and at front desk helped me to arange everything needed for bus reservation... Breakfast was good, rooms have telephone, tv, private bathroom, really good value for money and main subway station is one block away!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that's close to everything.

Disliked: in this aera there are a lots of homeless pepole

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and Helpful Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room. I was glad I did--the atmosphere was very fun--but I like to sleep at night. Great activities, good breakfast, very clean. As I said it was a very fun hostel. Live music nights, free dinner nights, etc. Great central location--the airport bus drops off and picks up right around the corner at the metro station. A little expensive, but overall I was happy with my experience.

Disliked: A little expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vishnu Suresh

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Vishnu would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best place around for backpacking people

Disliked: Vishnu left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

timothy guest

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very good location.. great staff and good atmosphere.. cant complain about anything!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012

Liked: very close to bus station, very friendly staff

Disliked: it's rather a hostel for people who come to party in Montreal, not many actually travelled. Kitchen turned into a bar at 9pm already. Rooms are very small, 6 bed dorms only contained 4 lockers and had hardly enough space for everybody's luggage. Aircon (that is needed) directly at one person's bed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location next to metro stop and a street with restaurants and bars.

Disliked: Staff knew very little about the city and their own hostel. Lousy breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Faith Dorleans

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2012 Faith would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and breaksfast was included as part of the daily rate.

Disliked: The phone in my room wansn't working I had to go downstairs in the tv lounge when I needed to make a call.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not only was the hostel in a great location, but the staff was extremely helpful, going out of their way to give suggestions, and directions. The room was immaculate, and I was baffled to see we got maid service! Could not have been more pleased!

Disliked: Breakfast was bland, but it was free, so I'm not going to complain about it!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the bus terminal. Very convenient for travellers arriving in Montreal by bus to reach the hostel. The breakfast was nice and food is plentiful.

Disliked: The 6-bedded dorm I stayed in has only 4 lockers. And out of these 4, 2 lockers were apparently locked for some reason unexplained to guests staying in the room. So 6 guests for only 2 available lockers, so whoever is the luckiest or earliest gets the locker! The hostel should have enough number of lockers for the number of beds in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linnea Berglund

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Linnea would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever!!! Free meal, live music, awesome staff, great location + everything else you could want and need from a hostel. If you're going to Montreal and want to have a good time (who doesn't) this is The place!!

Disliked: Linnea left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great, place is really clean, close to main attractions and night life. Best place in Montreal!

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Catherine Breen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: It is so close to the main bus station on Berri it's perfect! Clean, more like a hotel with clean towels provided every day! Very friendly, welcoming staff, supermarkets and metro station nearby

Disliked: Needs some female only dorms. Kitchen is very small, but not overly busy so it was ok. Free breakfast is great- of you can eat wheat! Nothing gluten free!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JUELLES CHESTER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

21 June 2012 JUELLES would recommend this property

Liked: This was a GREAT HOSTEL! Amazing location, breakfast was great (waffles!), free linen and towels, wifi reaches the room, insanely nice staff. The room was also really nice, there was a fridge and a desk to share.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, every night there was something going on at the hostel so a great way of meeting other travellers. The breakfast that is included was fantastic!

Disliked: The amount of tax you had to pay on arrival. There is no mention of this in any of the paperwork and it was an extra $6 pp per night! Also it said free parking but this isn't correct, we had to pay another $12 for overnight parking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Personnel très sympathique, bon petit-déjeuner,emplacement très pratique à deux pas de la station Berry-UQAM, terrasse agréable...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

darren stevens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 darren would recommend this property

Liked: everything! staff were cool really friendly and couldnt do enough to help and i extended my stay by another 4 nights! great vibe!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, friendly staff and great location!

Disliked: Basically nothing