We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Montreal Central

Hostel | 1586 St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3Z3

91.9% Overall Rating

318 out of 324 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

"Staff are amazing & the events they offered were great!! By far the nicest hostel I've stayed in so far!!"

Read all Montreal Central reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The new tax-rates are as follow: 3.5% Montreal (lodging) 5% Canada (federal) 9.5% Quebec (provincial)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Visitel
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Arena Palace
16.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 46.5% 11 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
31.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel
14.02 USD

Hostel 91.2% 210 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
64.45 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.4% 42 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
89.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
M-Montreal
19.68 USD

Hostel 96.8% 89 reviews
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
35.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

318 out of 324 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montreal Central'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 273 of 314 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Moira Wiermans

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2013

Liked: It's just behind the bus station and good value for money. Also, they serve a tasty breakfast with eggs, croissants and waffles with maple syrup.

Disliked: There is very little room to cook. Also it's very noisy, because people move in and out of the room all night (bc they're arriving from the bus station).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FRANK BASSI

Alone

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2013 FRANK would recommend this property

Liked: It was more like you are staying with friends or family than at a hostel. The atmosphere was GREAT!

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Brodie

Alone

Business / conference
City break

21 September 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Sheets and towels waiting for you on the bed.. How nice! Locked storage cupboards for after checkout was really nice. Smells so clean!

Disliked: Rooms were pretty cramped.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Hall

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: The rooms are a little small for 8 people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Syme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: -Good free breakfast -Good wifi -Very clean rooms and bathrooms -Great desk staff -Nice outdoor area -Fun activities on offer

Disliked: -Very small - The activites are written on the board in the common area but are not held at the hostel. So a good thing to do would be to have a meeting point at the hostel to then go to the activity because I was travelling alone and did not feel comfortable trying to find the M bar on my own in the dark.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Giovana Rocha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Giovana would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to the main places and subway, the staff is really amazing and very helpful.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast, clean towel every day. Location is perfect for getting anywhere. Very friendly and helpfull staff and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: The neighborhood is a little dodgy, but I did not feel unsafe at any time. Also it looks a little dated, but it kind is suits the place and grows on you very fast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect and near to metro station. Breakfast was awesome and staff on duty responded promptly to all the queries... but sometimes one might feel bit insecure due to large number of homeless around that area, but this in i think is present everywhere!

Disliked: 8 bed mixed dorm was bit less spacious than expected, though all the facilites were available as mentioned on the website were available

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean, nice atmosphere, rooms fully serviced, typical breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huawei Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Huawei would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: A little noise in rooms near road.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, great location.

Disliked: Homeless people in the area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at several hostels, and this hostel had the friendlist staff, as well as the best sense of community. Guests socialized with each other and went to the bar together, even if they had just arrived.

Disliked: The kitchen seemed small, although it turned out to not be an issue to cook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location. clean rooms. amazing staff. great place to meet other travelers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was incredibly relaxed, helpful and always up to chat and goof around. the rooms are super clean, so are the private washrooms attached to every room. the location is right in the middle of everything, with public transportation and awesome bars, restaurants and clubs just around the corner. even though it was super busy i could still upgrade to a smaller room upon my arrival and got the most welcoming introduction.

Disliked: i wish breakfast would have been longer than til 10am since it's just impossible to make use of all the amazing possibilities to go out in montreal and still be up that early..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that this hostel was very clean and that it offers free towels and linen. The breakfast is good and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Unfortunately the place is like an anonymous hotel without any character. It's good for one or two nights because of the price and the location but I wouldn't stay there for a longer time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff really made the place very friendly and helpful. Also ots of events in the evening, Rockability a must.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and helpful staff, the organized events are great fun, good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Workman

Alone

Events / festivals

07 February 2013 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel and stay there every time I visit Montreal. It is affordable, convenient, and the staff is always friendly. They have a new secondary hostel with a bar. There are always interesting and fun activities going on. I even won a beer when I bet the correct score for the hockey game on my trip. The breakfast is terrific.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel! Location was perfect: 2 minute walk from where the airport bus shuttle stops and a 2 minute walk from a metro station that's a major hub with two lines. Felt safe as a 20 something woman walking back from metro after dark. 4 bed dorm was clean and included 4 lockers. Each bed also had its out extension cord with 2 outlets and a small reading light, which was wonderfully convenient. Ensuite bathroom good with plenty of hot water in shower. My room was in basement, which worried me until I saw it: it still got plenty of light and didn't feel like a basement room. Was also next door to a little communal lounge with attached bathroom. The bar upstairs is nice, quite friendly and fun and had wonderful live music the night I hung out there. I ended up going to my room to sleep halfway through the act, and couldn't hear the music at all from there. Workers friendly and welcoming, able to give good advice on how to get places, where to go, etc. Variety of guests too; all of my roommates were friendly. Free breakfast was all-you-can-eat a la carte with a selection of pastries and hard boiled eggs. Not fancy but decent and definitely filling. All in all, it far exceeded my expectations, especially considering it's one of the most budget friendly Montreal options! If I'm ever back in Montreal, I will definitely stay here! I know this review sounds a bit over the top, and that this is the first review I've left on hostelbookers but I promise I'm a real person and not being compensated for writing it. ;)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

May Chan

Alone

City break

03 December 2012 May would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place! The location is great, as described and the staff is awesome. Joshua who checked me in was fantastic! Gave me lots of information on the city and was extremely helpful with the check-in. Also it is so nice that the hostel also does free dinner on Fridays with a band, and I think there were other events on other days of the week. One of the best of many hostels I've stayed in!

Disliked: Everything was great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ashley Kennedy

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

20 November 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: -tasteful decor, modern, very comfortable, very friendly staff, nice breakfast, good value

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff!! Very knd, caring and helpful! My train ticket was canceled and at front desk helped me to arange everything needed for bus reservation... Breakfast was good, rooms have telephone, tv, private bathroom, really good value for money and main subway station is one block away!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: that's close to everything.

Disliked: in this aera there are a lots of homeless pepole

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and Helpful Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room. I was glad I did--the atmosphere was very fun--but I like to sleep at night. Great activities, good breakfast, very clean. As I said it was a very fun hostel. Live music nights, free dinner nights, etc. Great central location--the airport bus drops off and picks up right around the corner at the metro station. A little expensive, but overall I was happy with my experience.

Disliked: A little expensive.