We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

91.5% Overall Rating

196 out of 209 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"I really liked staying in this place! The location is excellent (near the Central Bus Station and there is a metro station not far away), the staff was really friendly and helpfull, and the hostel has good facilities!"

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Arena Palace
15.41 USD

Hotel 1 star 46.5% 11 reviews
Hotel Visitel
22.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Montreal Central
22.65 USD

Hostel 92.5% 322 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
31.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
70.69 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.4% 42 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
13.59 USD

Hostel 77.5% 15 reviews
M-Montreal
22.65 USD

Hostel 96.8% 89 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
50.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

196 out of 209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 187 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked staying in this place! The location is excellent (near the Central Bus Station and there is a metro station not far away), the staff was really friendly and helpfull, and the hostel has good facilities!

Disliked: There could be a little more toilets and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, nice familiar atmosphere, pancakes for breakfast

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ligia Santos

Alone

Events / festivals

28 July 2014 Ligia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a good location, friendly staff, excellent prices, clean rooms. I really liked staying there.

Disliked: The common areas (living room, the book shelves and sofa) could be cleaner.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LAU WAN HUNG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014 LAU would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen and friendly feel lobby

Disliked: Facilities are old

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Sanmarti

As a family with children

Events / festivals

17 July 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible helpfull. I stayed in a private 3 bed and it was just amazing.

Disliked: Didn't have wifi in my room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesse Greenwald

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Clean spacious rooms, friendly staff, good location, and overall good energy. Good value for money.

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Oldham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly one of the best hotels ive ever stayed in. The staff are incredible H imparticular was an awesome member of staff. Theyre so knowledgeable about the city and offer great advice on what to see and where to eat. The hostel offers free walking tours that I highly recommend as its a great way to see some interesting things around montreal. The rooms are spacious and my dorm even had its own shower and toilet which is a first for me and was a bery welcome suprise. One other thing that makes this place great is they offer free laundry which doesnt sound like much but it is amazing considering the price that some hostels charge. Breakfast is included and all this for around 23 dollars a night is nothing but an absolute bargain.

Disliked: If I have to be picky the only thing I could suggest is a fan in the room. When I stayed montreal was experiencing some veryhot a d humid weather and so the room was pretty hot. I still slept fi e but a fan would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Medwid

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really great: helpful and friendly. After you find the metro station once it's really convenient and quick to get anywhere.

Disliked: The wifi was not very reliable and only worked sometimes. But if you absolutely needed internet there was a computer available in the common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nimesha Perera

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 nimesha would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, fun staff and clean facilities!

Disliked: Nothing, you def. get what you paid for and then some.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staffs are very helpful. Convenient, Restroom old but clean. Good Facilities

Disliked: The Floor needs to be vacuumed, it is unacceptable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and approachable staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014

Liked: The place where it was located.

Disliked: It is just so old and the breakfast is not good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fancia He

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 October 2013 Fancia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the first stop in my trip. Unfamiliar to the city, I was greeted by sincere kindness and lots of humour at the front desk. It wasn't long (in fact, 20 minutes later) till I met my first travel friend and started discussing about life and politics (which reminded me that I'm on vacation, Relax!). The hostel is exactly what I had hoped for, clean, fun, exciting and it gave me great confidence that I would have fun here in Montreal. If it wasn't for the extremely fun staff and their willingness to make sure you are as comfortable there as you are at home, my trip at Montreal would not be this magical, because of Montreal Youth Hostel, I was in the best mood everyday and started making more friendships than I've made anywhere else! Thanks H! For taking us on a Great tour in the city, thanks for the memories!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meng He

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 October 2013 Meng would recommend this property

Liked: My parents and I both stayed at the hostel. I can safely say it was the best hostel experience I've had and my parents also raved about how much fun they had with this hostel. Usually, a hotel is where you spend the least amount of time to interact with people during your trip. But at this hostel, we met friends from all over the world and went on adventures together in Montreal city. The staff are fluent in several languages and offer their smiles and help like confectioner's sugar on this wonderful cake. This hostel made our trip into what it was -- a new and exciting experience for people of all ages. I'm feeling sad and nostalgic leaving the hostel, but the memory at Alexandrie Youth Hostel will stay with me for a long time. Thanks!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff - the main streets and old montreal were explained to me as i checked in, and the walking tour organised by one of the staff was wonderful. It kept me busy all afternoon and I saw things I wouldn't have seen otherwise - and he kept going after his shift ended so he could show us everything. The common area just felt really friendly too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joan Vogel

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: staff was helpful and friendly. Location was really good.

Disliked: Music was played in the common area, sometimes pretty loud, from morning till 11:00 pm so it was hard sometimes to have some quiet time or talk with other guests.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013

Liked: The staff were very friendly and it was nice to have an introduction to the city.

Disliked: I didn't like the area it felt quite unsafe. The property itself felt like a building site, the rooms were very small, there was no room to put my bag, and it didn't seem very organised as they didn't know what beds were free and which ones were taken. The lockers were located downstairs in the main area which I didn't like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As the hostel is close to both the bus station and the Metro the hostel it is easy to get to and a good jump off point for exploring Montreal. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hostel has allthe facilities you could want for.

Disliked: The stairs to the top floor!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere. Easy going and imformal. I stayed in a private room with my partner. The balcony and personal feel were the biggest pluses for me.

Disliked: Lack of wifi outside of the main lounge. Stuffiness in room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ye Zheng

Alone

Business / conference

14 August 2013 Ye would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a single room which is very quiet and comfortable!

Disliked: One thing that is a big pity that the breakfast was served between 8:15 to 10:15, but I hadto leave before 8a.m. Therefore, I did not have the chance to enjoy the breakfast there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a little bit far from the traln station but very close to the village.

Disliked: street noise

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Janus

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Emlie and the rest of the staff were awesome! Created a very fun and inviting atmosphere. The rooms, sheets and facilities were also clean and well maintained.

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location good and staff friendly

Disliked: Feeble breakfast offering but a start to the day I guess

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Ortiz Cardenas

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a very friendly atmosphere. It's easy to mix with people here and the staff do their bit to help with this. The guests here seemed to be about 50% English speaking and 50% French speaking which made for an interesting atmosphere. The hostel is in a good location, near the main bus station, Berri/UQAM metro station and walking distance of the main sights in central Montreal. They also have free breakfast, laundry and internet/WiFi.

Disliked: My only criticism would be that the building is quite old and could do with a little maintenance in places. However, this is only a minor criticism and probably won't bother most travellers. It is kept more than adequately clean and the age of the building is reflected in a cheaper price than more recently refurbished hostels.