We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

92.6% Overall Rating

208 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2015)

"Wonderful place to stay. Cheap, friendly staff, friendly guest, nice facility, great location"

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property. Sorry we don't accept Montréal or area resident.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Arena Palace
14.62 USD

Hotel 1 star 45.5% 12 reviews
Hotel Visitel
23.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Montreal Central
19.22 USD

Hostel 92.8% 328 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
26.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
60.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.9% 43 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
13.85 USD

Hostel 81.2% 22 reviews
M-Montreal
19.22 USD

Hostel 93.4% 97 reviews
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
51.35 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

208 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 156 of 199 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and friendly staff

Disliked: Dirty dishes sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Rangel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2015 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The staff make you feel you are the reason they work. You are important to them.

Disliked: You wish you could stay longer.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

08 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private kitchen and lounge which we shared with only 1 other room.

Disliked: Couldn't pick up the wifi in the room (304) or most places on the top floor

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kelvin Chan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Kelvin would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people, pretty clean

Disliked: kind of old

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place to stay. Cheap, friendly staff, friendly guest, nice facility, great location

Disliked: Not much

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Butler

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 April 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: NA

Disliked: NA

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: +

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Gregory

Alone

City break

06 April 2015 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the staff were friendly and helpful. Very good value for money. Would stay again if visiting Montreal in the future!

Disliked: Could have had a little extra storage in the rooms, plenty of space for hooks for jackets and a shoe rack just to keep things a little more out of the way. Incredibly small thing that could make a big difference!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feels like at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly one of the best hostels I have stayed in, very friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast, clean rooms, comfortable mattresses, good location, outstanding value for money, cool music in the atmospheric common area.

Disliked: Only thing to mention here would be that the Wifi wasn't working at all in my room, but it worked fine in the lobby.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Mercer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap accomodation, big room and huge social area and kitchen, bathrooms clean.

Disliked: We stayed in a shared dorm room which is fine, but we were on the third floor and the bathroom and toilets were in the basement. Also the showers are going through some renovations.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked staying in this place! The location is excellent (near the Central Bus Station and there is a metro station not far away), the staff was really friendly and helpfull, and the hostel has good facilities!

Disliked: There could be a little more toilets and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, nice familiar atmosphere, pancakes for breakfast

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ligia Santos

Alone

Events / festivals

28 July 2014 Ligia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a good location, friendly staff, excellent prices, clean rooms. I really liked staying there.

Disliked: The common areas (living room, the book shelves and sofa) could be cleaner.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

LAU WAN HUNG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014 LAU would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen and friendly feel lobby

Disliked: Facilities are old

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Sanmarti

As a family with children

Events / festivals

17 July 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was incredible helpfull. I stayed in a private 3 bed and it was just amazing.

Disliked: Didn't have wifi in my room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesse Greenwald

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Clean spacious rooms, friendly staff, good location, and overall good energy. Good value for money.

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Oldham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly one of the best hotels ive ever stayed in. The staff are incredible H imparticular was an awesome member of staff. Theyre so knowledgeable about the city and offer great advice on what to see and where to eat. The hostel offers free walking tours that I highly recommend as its a great way to see some interesting things around montreal. The rooms are spacious and my dorm even had its own shower and toilet which is a first for me and was a bery welcome suprise. One other thing that makes this place great is they offer free laundry which doesnt sound like much but it is amazing considering the price that some hostels charge. Breakfast is included and all this for around 23 dollars a night is nothing but an absolute bargain.

Disliked: If I have to be picky the only thing I could suggest is a fan in the room. When I stayed montreal was experiencing some veryhot a d humid weather and so the room was pretty hot. I still slept fi e but a fan would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Medwid

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really great: helpful and friendly. After you find the metro station once it's really convenient and quick to get anywhere.

Disliked: The wifi was not very reliable and only worked sometimes. But if you absolutely needed internet there was a computer available in the common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nimesha Perera

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 nimesha would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, fun staff and clean facilities!

Disliked: Nothing, you def. get what you paid for and then some.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staffs are very helpful. Convenient, Restroom old but clean. Good Facilities

Disliked: The Floor needs to be vacuumed, it is unacceptable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and approachable staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014

Liked: The place where it was located.

Disliked: It is just so old and the breakfast is not good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fancia He

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

24 October 2013 Fancia would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was the first stop in my trip. Unfamiliar to the city, I was greeted by sincere kindness and lots of humour at the front desk. It wasn't long (in fact, 20 minutes later) till I met my first travel friend and started discussing about life and politics (which reminded me that I'm on vacation, Relax!). The hostel is exactly what I had hoped for, clean, fun, exciting and it gave me great confidence that I would have fun here in Montreal. If it wasn't for the extremely fun staff and their willingness to make sure you are as comfortable there as you are at home, my trip at Montreal would not be this magical, because of Montreal Youth Hostel, I was in the best mood everyday and started making more friendships than I've made anywhere else! Thanks H! For taking us on a Great tour in the city, thanks for the memories!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meng He

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 October 2013 Meng would recommend this property

Liked: My parents and I both stayed at the hostel. I can safely say it was the best hostel experience I've had and my parents also raved about how much fun they had with this hostel. Usually, a hotel is where you spend the least amount of time to interact with people during your trip. But at this hostel, we met friends from all over the world and went on adventures together in Montreal city. The staff are fluent in several languages and offer their smiles and help like confectioner's sugar on this wonderful cake. This hostel made our trip into what it was -- a new and exciting experience for people of all ages. I'm feeling sad and nostalgic leaving the hostel, but the memory at Alexandrie Youth Hostel will stay with me for a long time. Thanks!

Disliked: Nothing