We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

91.5% Overall Rating

216 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

Kate Munro thinks…

"I liked the large size of the kitchen and dining area. The atmosphere was friendly and buzzy."

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property. Sorry we don't accept Montréal or area resident.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Arena Palace
18.89 USD

Hotel 1 star 45.1% 13 reviews
Hotel Visitel
22.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 6 reviews
Montreal Central
18.88 USD

Hostel 93.1% 329 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
26.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
58.93 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.9% 43 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
13.60 USD

Hostel 81.2% 24 reviews
M-Montreal
18.88 USD

Hostel 93.5% 99 reviews
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
53.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

216 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 207 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area with kitchen and lounge is a nice central area to meet people. The bed in the dorm was very comfortable and there was enough space in the room. The location is really good. Once the renovation is done and shared bathrooms are added it will be a great place!

Disliked: By far not enough bathrooms/ toilets, the "ensuit" concept is really a disadvantage in an 8 bed dorm, you spend half the day waiting to go to the toilet or have a shower. The internet was quite unreliable, had interruptions. But less value for money.seems to be a general problem in Montreal, this currently might be a good hostel compared to others in Montreal, just not (yet) internationally.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Hennessy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: loved the community atmosphere

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Bobyn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe is great! There was always something going on every night at the Inn itself. Lots of drinking and stuff! First night was Sangria night and the second night, bunch of guys organised a beer pong team and put us down for a team. There was also a nice barbecue and we made some sick burgers. There was also a shared kitchen with all the trimmings. Super close to metro station and grocery store and Rue St. Catherine!

Disliked: Nothing it particular. It was a great stay!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mariokart 64 great common room, easy to meet people decent breakfast

Disliked: no lookers in dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location near to Berri-UQAM, the local bus and metro station, and the friendliness of the staff and visitors.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauro Prato

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: I met a very friendly atmosphere from either staff or guests. Strictly recommended hostel. Everything stated in the ad is true, and courtesy was a very appreciated plus. Hope to meet you again in the future guys, I already miss u all. Thank you for everything. Mauro from Italy

Disliked: Nothing to mention

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abed Kanaan

Alone

Business / conference

13 August 2011 Abed would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with great staff, was booked to the wrong room/bed the first night, although i ended up sleeping on the floor, it wasn't that bad. the room was large and the breeze from the window cooled it off. They also refunded my money the next day and gave me the right room/bed. They have breakfast till 10:15 am - Toast, peanut buttter and jam, and a huge watered down orange juice jug ( the size compensates for the taste I guess). Also, the rooms/beds and bathrooms are quiet clean. I had a bad experience once at a hostel in Toronto and was a bit concerned at first, but by the second night i realized that there is no need to be. Also, its only 5-10 minute walk to tons of bars and such.All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: A bit noisy during the morning hours due to it being on a main street (with the windows open), the noise was bearable though. However, i would recommend ear plugs or maybe in-ear headphones.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joel Stamp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Friday sangria nights and location close to clubs. Breakfast with toast and fresh fruit.

Disliked: No air con. No hostel bar or activities except the sangria night on Friday.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Meryl Bernadette Trinidad

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 August 2011 Meryl Bernadette would recommend this property

Liked: Nintendo 64 MARIOKART, close to a the main station, great atmosphere, FREE BREAKFAST

Disliked: They didn't sweep the floors in the room the entire 4 days I was there....there was an orange juice bottle, beer bottles and other random stuff lying around the room. And the shower situation wasn't great (1 shower for 8 girls!)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The layout of the common areas made it easy to meet people and socialise. A very good hostel for social people, and the Nintendo 64 in the lounge room is always a good idea!

Disliked: Can be a bit confusing trying to navigate the layout, and my first day the opener didn't show up so there was no breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Craven

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 July 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: dont let the comments about it being like a maze or under construction put you off, it really didnt bother us and it was great value for money. owner was very nice and helpful

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff! Great location - walkable to everywhere, but especially to the bus station which is what I was looking for.

Disliked: Nothing really - was under renos, yes, but that was advertised, and caused no issue whatsoever.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice hostel with a relaxed, home-like atmosphere, well-located close to metro. Staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you. There are organised outings on weekend nights which are lots of fun, weeknights are a little quieter.

Disliked: Nothing much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is always ready to help people

Disliked: that people is in charge of washing the dishes, that is ok in a family house, but in such a place I dont think that everybody is as clean as I am, the Hostel should be in charge of this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very funky, informal and fun. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Friday night sangria was excellent!

Disliked: The only issue was when we arrived, they wanted to charge us extra for taxes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Handschin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

26 June 2011 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice, andrew? was awesome, he said he's spending the second half of summer in paris?, now you know why i hate him? ha ha, he was super friendly, took time to show me around, maps, locations, very very nice .. local fine, felt safe, nice people, you can tell i'm in love, i go too far, ..it was great, did i mention the cost, ..hostel sure, but everything right about hostel...

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Gardner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the most odd places I have stayed in, brilliant location, clean and with very friendly hostel staff. The place itself is a wonderful maze that needs to be negociated to get to your room and has so much potential and yet still has charm. Is it work in progress or has it always been like this? who knows but I certainly recommend it to anyone staying in Montreal.

Disliked: There was nothing wrong with this hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2011

Liked: FREE LAUNDRY!!! All the people in the hostel were really nice (even the people I didn't understand, je ne pa parle frances :) ), awesome nintendo 64, the rooms were spacious and clean with a semi- private bathroom for approx. 8 people. Breakfast> although only constisting of toast, it was good toast and coffee and tea and lots of bread spreads

Disliked: The hostel was under renovation. It was not really a problem for me, but I can see people being put off by it. It was still clean but someplace a bit dusty. Probably coming from that, not all the plugs in the room were working, but there were still enough there for everybody...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, relaxing atmosphere and very friendly staff

Disliked: Stairs stink

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great ambiance, helpful staff, free breakfast

Disliked: Wifi was limited and only accessible in the lobby, which was somewhat frustrating

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the shared area, because it was perfect to get to know the other travelers. Very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: It was kind of difficult to find, because the signs outside are not very obvious.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Samuel Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Location, close to downtown area.

Disliked: The hostel is under some construction connecting different units in the block. It can be a bit of a maze trying to find you own room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very very nice and helpful staff!!!! best check in ever!! free breakfast ongoing construction is not a problem at all very very comfortable beds!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people

Disliked: lounge/ dining area needs some work but good all round