We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

92.8% Overall Rating

207 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2015)

"Wonderful place to stay. Cheap, friendly staff, friendly guest, nice facility, great location"

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property. Sorry we don't accept Montréal or area resident.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Arena Palace
14.31 USD

Hotel 1 star 45.5% 12 reviews
Hotel Visitel
27.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Montreal Central
19.86 USD

Hostel 92.8% 328 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
27.82 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
61.99 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.9% 43 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
14.31 USD

Hostel 80.3% 21 reviews
M-Montreal
19.86 USD

Hostel 93.4% 97 reviews
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
59.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

207 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 198 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Triin Joeveer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Triin would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed mattress, hot shower...

Disliked: Nothing...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: used to be a church, lots of space..cool staff, owner on premises..

Disliked: a bit messy, this place could get so much better with a little work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great and helpful, good for a laugh. Great job guys!!

Disliked: The internet is abit hit and miss, and the place looks half like a construction site, which may turn off a few people, but it didnt dother me, adds character to the place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unless you don't mind living in a construction side (and why would you...), it is a good place to stay. the staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is ok and altough it doesn't look like that at first, the place is rather clean. it is also a nice place to meet people. my room was in a annex building (which used to be a garage), which was nice, as it was calm and kind of a more private area. i think in the main building the rooms tend to be noisy.

Disliked: everything looks rather run down, kind of like in the middle of redecoration. only one public computer to go online with, which was very slow. only one shower/bathroom for about 10 people, the toilet was in the same room, so in the morning it was usually very busy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you even have a possiblity to cook.. nice;-)

Disliked: little expensive compared to other hostels, on the other hand its worth it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Senad Basic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 October 2011 Senad would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, close to public transportation, free wi-fi and laundry.

Disliked: Old building and in renovation... but everything works just fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caoimhin McCann

Alone

City break

02 October 2011 Caoimhin would recommend this property

Liked: Overall i liked this hostel it had some mixed reviews but mostly good so i went with it, i liked that it was a social hostel with sagria nite every friday night, its rough and rustic which i really like clean and tidy well run with great fun loving staff, bit noisey alright and i'm a sensitive sleeper but felt well rested in between no major worries its all good :D

Disliked: noisey street, slighty sluggish internet although i only used it briefly so really did not affect me nothing to warranty not staying there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlin van Rossmann

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it wasn't too loud and rowdy. it was a very calm and relaxing atmosphere, which I needed for my stay in Montreal. the employees were very helpful with things like directions, and the internet was okay most of the time.

Disliked: only one bathroom for 6 plus girls was a little annoying, but I usually got up before anyone else so I didn't have to wait too much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amy Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, lovely street, close to the old town and downtown. You could easily walk there and there was also a bike rental place right out the front of the hostel where you can hire a bike for $5 a day. It's a great way to get around the city, on the bike tracks they have. The Wi-Fi was great and the place had a great feel to it.

Disliked: Nothing really to mention

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dumitru Sirbu

Alone

City break

25 September 2011 Dumitru would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DEREK KAVANAGH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 DEREK would recommend this property

Liked: The open plan common area.

Disliked: It was undergoing some renovation work

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and very good location

Disliked: WiFi was not very stable, but it works ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emma Bentley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who will help with any questions. Good breakfast available. Rooms are clean and have plenty of space. Near to a metro station so its easy to get around.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The clean rooms / bathrooms and location of the hostel

Disliked: Only thing is to give better directions to the hostel from the bus terminal!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The numerous available toilets and the privacy of having my own space.

Disliked: The private room was directly across from the bathroom and though the doors have glazed glass; the light still shown through to my room--I was awakened each time someone went to the bathroom late at night. The room is also street level which opens up to a lot of noise at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sally burch

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011

Liked: beds were really comfy, great to have the bathroom as an ensuite. staff were really friendly. bathrooms were cleaned twice a day which was awesome.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Alvo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere; felt like a more relaxed and interesting version of a student dorm! The barbeque was great for meeting people. Having a private triple in an apartment shared with only one other group was excellent.

Disliked: Some staff didn't speak English (they were all generally very nice though). Also, lots of stairs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area with kitchen and lounge is a nice central area to meet people. The bed in the dorm was very comfortable and there was enough space in the room. The location is really good. Once the renovation is done and shared bathrooms are added it will be a great place!

Disliked: By far not enough bathrooms/ toilets, the "ensuit" concept is really a disadvantage in an 8 bed dorm, you spend half the day waiting to go to the toilet or have a shower. The internet was quite unreliable, had interruptions. But less value for money.seems to be a general problem in Montreal, this currently might be a good hostel compared to others in Montreal, just not (yet) internationally.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Hennessy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: loved the community atmosphere

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Bobyn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe is great! There was always something going on every night at the Inn itself. Lots of drinking and stuff! First night was Sangria night and the second night, bunch of guys organised a beer pong team and put us down for a team. There was also a nice barbecue and we made some sick burgers. There was also a shared kitchen with all the trimmings. Super close to metro station and grocery store and Rue St. Catherine!

Disliked: Nothing it particular. It was a great stay!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: mariokart 64 great common room, easy to meet people decent breakfast

Disliked: no lookers in dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location near to Berri-UQAM, the local bus and metro station, and the friendliness of the staff and visitors.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauro Prato

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: I met a very friendly atmosphere from either staff or guests. Strictly recommended hostel. Everything stated in the ad is true, and courtesy was a very appreciated plus. Hope to meet you again in the future guys, I already miss u all. Thank you for everything. Mauro from Italy

Disliked: Nothing to mention

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abed Kanaan

Alone

Business / conference

13 August 2011 Abed would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with great staff, was booked to the wrong room/bed the first night, although i ended up sleeping on the floor, it wasn't that bad. the room was large and the breeze from the window cooled it off. They also refunded my money the next day and gave me the right room/bed. They have breakfast till 10:15 am - Toast, peanut buttter and jam, and a huge watered down orange juice jug ( the size compensates for the taste I guess). Also, the rooms/beds and bathrooms are quiet clean. I had a bad experience once at a hostel in Toronto and was a bit concerned at first, but by the second night i realized that there is no need to be. Also, its only 5-10 minute walk to tons of bars and such.All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: A bit noisy during the morning hours due to it being on a main street (with the windows open), the noise was bearable though. However, i would recommend ear plugs or maybe in-ear headphones.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joel Stamp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Friday sangria nights and location close to clubs. Breakfast with toast and fresh fruit.

Disliked: No air con. No hostel bar or activities except the sangria night on Friday.