HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

91.2% Overall Rating

197 out of 210 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"I really liked staying in this place! The location is excellent (near the Central Bus Station and there is a metro station not far away), the staff was really friendly and helpfull, and the hostel has good facilities!"

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.79

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Arena Palace
16.11 USD

Hotel 1 star 46.5% 11 reviews
Hotel Visitel
20.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Montreal Central
17.89 USD

Hostel 92.2% 323 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
31.33 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
69.82 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.4% 42 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
13.43 USD

Hostel 77.9% 16 reviews
M-Montreal
19.68 USD

Hostel 96.8% 89 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
50.13 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

197 out of 210 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 188 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's great for meeting people and making friends. The staff organize outings often, and there was a nice sense of community there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: les chambres doubles en appartement !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom in room. Free wifi. Free linen. Lockers and locked premesis. Good location to walk to everything. Lot of seating space in lounge, dining, kitchen and computer section. Free breakfast tea n coffee

Disliked: Towels not included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Relaxed and easy to meet new people.

Disliked: Everything was great!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: One staircase too many. After an exhausting day out you have to climb up the stairs to the top floor. Could do with a little lift.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniela Hofmann

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Das war das erste Hostel, indem das Wäsche waschen inkl. Waschmittel umsonst war!! Das frühstück war reichhaltiger als gewohnt, es hat einen Riesen Aufenthaltsraum zum zusammen finden, zwei wunderschöne Dachterrassen und die Lage ist einfach unschlagbar.

Disliked: Sie sin zwar am renovieren und überall am arbeiten, aber im Moment haben die sanitären Anlagen einfach nicht gereicht und waren viel zu weit auseinander. Außerdem haben Krimmer keine Klimaanlage, was an einem Tag mit 37 grad schon unangenehm ist...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful in a great location just outside the lively Gay District and only 5 minutes walk from major Berri Metro Station, good value for only £20 per night!

Disliked: Dorm rooms where somewhat crampt, whilst the interior would benefit from a slight redecoration

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool communal area on the ground floor where there's always people hanging out. Plenty of sofas to crash on, TV w/ Nintendo 64, stereo, wifi etc. Easy to meet people, chilled out vibe. Plenty of space, both in the communal room and the dorms. Alexandrie is not like some other hostels I've stayed at where they simply cram as many beds as they can into the smallest possible rooms. 8 bed dorm was separated into 2 rooms of decent size. Also, the staff were very accommodating to a guy that's lost almost all his French-speaking skills!

Disliked: Some parts could do with a new lick of paint! Some might say it adds to the charm. Shared bathroom in the dorm was a little bit grimey but was certainly bearable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Macniven

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

03 June 2012 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The best hostel I've stayed in - great social place to meet lots of people

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: limited car parking options, and no bike racks near the building

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Caroline JiHae Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Caroline JiHae would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great atmpsphere, great location (very close to the bus terminal)

Disliked: One washroom for 8bed dorm is not enough.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly atmosphere and value for money

Disliked: I would have liked a secure locker for my belongings, and the wi-fi was a bit hit and miss. The kitchen was also a bit short on utensils

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Nardi-Williams

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It was an older building, but there was tons of space to stretch out in. The main floor "free space" was giant and had lots of comfortable furniture. We loved staying in the two room suite (for 4 people max) that had its own living room and shared bathroom. It also had a kitchen and laundry room that we were not expecting at all, so it felt like we were in a little apartment. The LOCATION could not have been more perfect. We were two blocks from Rue St. Catherine and a few more to two different metro stops. Parking nearby was $12.00 a day in a very safe underground parking lot.

Disliked: Nothing. It was all we were expecting and more. We hope to stay there again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: drum playing lesson

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally available to lots of places and things in Montreal. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. Free breakfast in the morning was great. Very nice shower. Comfortable bed

Disliked: WiFi didn't work 100% of the time Needs abit more work. Great idea, with a bit of work could be one of the best hostels in the world.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was delightfully weird. It's a converted warehouse, but somehow they still make it feel homey. The other guests were friendly and the staff was kind, funny, and helpful. And it was clean! I would highly recommend Alexandrie to anyone looking for a great hostel experience.

Disliked: The only downside is that this hostel is a bit far from the main streets of downtown (St. Laurent, St. Catherine). This is fine if you have a car, but otherwise you will have to take the (super expensive) Montreal cabs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Triin Joeveer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Triin would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed mattress, hot shower...

Disliked: Nothing...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: used to be a church, lots of space..cool staff, owner on premises..

Disliked: a bit messy, this place could get so much better with a little work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great and helpful, good for a laugh. Great job guys!!

Disliked: The internet is abit hit and miss, and the place looks half like a construction site, which may turn off a few people, but it didnt dother me, adds character to the place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unless you don't mind living in a construction side (and why would you...), it is a good place to stay. the staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is ok and altough it doesn't look like that at first, the place is rather clean. it is also a nice place to meet people. my room was in a annex building (which used to be a garage), which was nice, as it was calm and kind of a more private area. i think in the main building the rooms tend to be noisy.

Disliked: everything looks rather run down, kind of like in the middle of redecoration. only one public computer to go online with, which was very slow. only one shower/bathroom for about 10 people, the toilet was in the same room, so in the morning it was usually very busy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you even have a possiblity to cook.. nice;-)

Disliked: little expensive compared to other hostels, on the other hand its worth it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Senad Basic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 October 2011 Senad would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, close to public transportation, free wi-fi and laundry.

Disliked: Old building and in renovation... but everything works just fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caoimhin McCann

Alone

City break

02 October 2011 Caoimhin would recommend this property

Liked: Overall i liked this hostel it had some mixed reviews but mostly good so i went with it, i liked that it was a social hostel with sagria nite every friday night, its rough and rustic which i really like clean and tidy well run with great fun loving staff, bit noisey alright and i'm a sensitive sleeper but felt well rested in between no major worries its all good :D

Disliked: noisey street, slighty sluggish internet although i only used it briefly so really did not affect me nothing to warranty not staying there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlin van Rossmann

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it wasn't too loud and rowdy. it was a very calm and relaxing atmosphere, which I needed for my stay in Montreal. the employees were very helpful with things like directions, and the internet was okay most of the time.

Disliked: only one bathroom for 6 plus girls was a little annoying, but I usually got up before anyone else so I didn't have to wait too much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amy Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, lovely street, close to the old town and downtown. You could easily walk there and there was also a bike rental place right out the front of the hostel where you can hire a bike for $5 a day. It's a great way to get around the city, on the bike tracks they have. The Wi-Fi was great and the place had a great feel to it.

Disliked: Nothing really to mention