We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

91.5% Overall Rating

217 out of 230 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

Kate Munro thinks…

"I liked the large size of the kitchen and dining area. The atmosphere was friendly and buzzy."

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property. Sorry we don't accept Montréal or area resident.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Arena Palace
18.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 45.1% 13 reviews
Hotel Visitel
22.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 6 reviews
Montreal Central
18.89 USD

Hostel 92.6% 330 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
26.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
58.97 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.9% 43 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
13.61 USD

Hostel 81.2% 24 reviews
M-Montreal
18.89 USD

Hostel 93.5% 99 reviews
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
53.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

217 out of 230 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 164 of 208 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real friendly staff and great shared room.

Disliked: A little far from downtown.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012

Liked: Friendly staff with helpful restaurant tip - he even let us use the phone for free to make a reservation.

Disliked: We went to this hostel based on previous hostel booker reviews. However, we wanted to write one ourselves as, for the first time in ages, we don't agree with the comments. This hostel seemed to attract long stayers, and consequently it wasn't very friendly. We were also staying in the middle of a building site - we had to go outside to get to our room which wasnt ideal, and when showing us around the owner advised us "not to jump on the steps as they were sketchy", which didn't fill us with confidence. There is also only 1 shower with toilet for about12 people, a bit frustrating. The room (we stayed in a 4 bed) was tiny, so no room really for backpacks. The worst part was they made us pay a fee for booking with hostel bookers. Both of us have used this site for over 4 years, and never had to pay extra for using it. We found this really dissapointing, and can only assume the hostel made us pay rather than hostel bookers having a change in policy. Our advice? Montreal is awesome - make it better by staying somewhere else.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonatan Thorstensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly

Disliked: Some people might be bothered by the cracks in the walls etc. I'm not.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Robotham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Has a great shabby chic look and feel to the place. I was staying in an 8 person dorm but they had divided the room in half which was brill for a bit of extra privacy. There was a sangria night whilst I was there too and the communal area is good for meeting people. Great value.

Disliked: The lockers were in the communal area - personally I would have preferred some to be in the rooms. It would be useful to advertise the activities going on in the hostel a bit more.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff on when we arrived in the evening, made sure we knew exactly where everything was.

Disliked: it can be a bit of a maze if you are staying towards the rear of the complex.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lenin Gonzalez

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 September 2012 Lenin would recommend this property

Liked: I interacted mainly with one girl when I arrived; I don't remember her name but she had bed hair and a multitude of accessories in her hair which suited her. She was AMAZING! Friendly, knowledgeable, engaging, and an all-around superb staff member. Aside from the staff, the place itself was sooooo cute! I loved the atmosphere! The lobby is huge with plenty of sitting; video game systems; and music playing throughout the day. Fridays are Sangria night!! Delicious sangria!! Great way to get to know people. The location is also great! Just 2 blocks from Rue St Catherine.

Disliked: Lenin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met great people, amazing location, close to subway and Chinatown!

Disliked: Only one bathroom for all those that don't have an ensuite. No airconditioning so very warm on third floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Lots of fun lively people around, lots of common space to relax. Free breakfast, laundry and wifi/computer always nice. Well stocked kitchen. Good location.

Disliked: Furniture and buildling definitely had the artsy/recycled vibe. I kinda liked it but if you are looking for hotel-style look elsewhere. Sometimes hard to find a staff person when you needed something (at check out for example). Only one shower for many people if staying in cheapest dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Field

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. Huge dormitory with lots of space for our bags. Great atmosphere, lots of free activities going on. We went on H's free tour of Montreal, which was awesome. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Donal McIntyre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Donal would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very enjoyable stay in Montreal which was helped by the Alexandrie Montreal Youth Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I got to meet alot of good people.

Disliked: Donal left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for your money. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Everything was clean. I liked the decor and atmosphere. Simple breakfast included (toast and fruits). About 5-10 minute walk to the metro.

Disliked: Visibly old and a bit run down (can't shower right after using the toilet because there is no water). No lockers in the rooms (on the main floor). There is no AC but a fan in the room. We had to leave the door open most nights in order to keep the air circulating or else it would get too hot and humid to sleep. However we were there for a particularly hot weekend (35+ degrees).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Erick Veliz

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 August 2012 Erick would recommend this property

Liked: the staff!

Disliked: really hot in rooms no fans

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Chang

Alone

City break

07 August 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The bedroom is clean, and the location is good. People here are friendly, some of them are long-term hosters. I had an international dinner with many of the visitors in the hostel. everyone cooked a dish and shared. They are all very nice.

Disliked: Remember there is no air conditioning!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - really cool group atmosphere, especially in the lobby - helpful and friendly staff - very close to the bus station - big lockers, not in the rooms though, but still a lot of space for your staff

Disliked: - missing air condition, it became really, really hot in the lobby sometimes - beds are kinda loud, but not too bad

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and character.

Disliked: mixed dorm rooms are not as nice as the larger single sex rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a homely feel and character. It didn't feel like some hostels where they just want to cram as many people in as possible. I liked how the 8 bed dorms were actually divided into 2 separate 4 bed rooms - made it feel more spacious. Free laundry was great, wifi good, comfy couches, really friendly staff, activities, free breakfast, lockers. very convenient location.

Disliked: The room I was in got a lot of traffic noise from the street - but if you aren't a light sleeper this probably wouldn't bother you! Earplugs fixed this for the most part.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very spacious, nicely decorated, fast internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lili Ja'afar

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2012 Lili would recommend this property

Liked: not too posh yet not too run down. perfect location, not dirty, friendly staff, feels like home, nice patio

Disliked: not much variety of breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's great for meeting people and making friends. The staff organize outings often, and there was a nice sense of community there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: les chambres doubles en appartement !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom in room. Free wifi. Free linen. Lockers and locked premesis. Good location to walk to everything. Lot of seating space in lounge, dining, kitchen and computer section. Free breakfast tea n coffee

Disliked: Towels not included

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Relaxed and easy to meet new people.

Disliked: Everything was great!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: One staircase too many. After an exhausting day out you have to climb up the stairs to the top floor. Could do with a little lift.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniela Hofmann

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Das war das erste Hostel, indem das Wäsche waschen inkl. Waschmittel umsonst war!! Das frühstück war reichhaltiger als gewohnt, es hat einen Riesen Aufenthaltsraum zum zusammen finden, zwei wunderschöne Dachterrassen und die Lage ist einfach unschlagbar.

Disliked: Sie sin zwar am renovieren und überall am arbeiten, aber im Moment haben die sanitären Anlagen einfach nicht gereicht und waren viel zu weit auseinander. Außerdem haben Krimmer keine Klimaanlage, was an einem Tag mit 37 grad schon unangenehm ist...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful in a great location just outside the lively Gay District and only 5 minutes walk from major Berri Metro Station, good value for only £20 per night!

Disliked: Dorm rooms where somewhat crampt, whilst the interior would benefit from a slight redecoration