HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

86.4% Overall Rating

185 out of 198 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2014)

"The Staffs are very helpful. Convenient, Restroom old but clean. Good Facilities"

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Gîte Le Simone Bed and Breakfast
48.05 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 20 reviews
Hotel Arena Palace
13.60 USD

Hotel 1 star 49.2% 9 reviews
Hotel Visitel
27.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Montreal Central
18.12 USD

Hostel 91.1% 304 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
31.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
65.27 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.4% 40 reviews
M-Montreal
22.65 USD

Hostel 95.8% 64 reviews
Le Jazz St. Denis
22.66 USD

Hostel 78.4% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

185 out of 198 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 176 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: limited car parking options, and no bike racks near the building

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Caroline JiHae Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Caroline JiHae would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great atmpsphere, great location (very close to the bus terminal)

Disliked: One washroom for 8bed dorm is not enough.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly atmosphere and value for money

Disliked: I would have liked a secure locker for my belongings, and the wi-fi was a bit hit and miss. The kitchen was also a bit short on utensils

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan Nardi-Williams

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It was an older building, but there was tons of space to stretch out in. The main floor "free space" was giant and had lots of comfortable furniture. We loved staying in the two room suite (for 4 people max) that had its own living room and shared bathroom. It also had a kitchen and laundry room that we were not expecting at all, so it felt like we were in a little apartment. The LOCATION could not have been more perfect. We were two blocks from Rue St. Catherine and a few more to two different metro stops. Parking nearby was $12.00 a day in a very safe underground parking lot.

Disliked: Nothing. It was all we were expecting and more. We hope to stay there again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: drum playing lesson

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally available to lots of places and things in Montreal. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. Free breakfast in the morning was great. Very nice shower. Comfortable bed

Disliked: WiFi didn't work 100% of the time Needs abit more work. Great idea, with a bit of work could be one of the best hostels in the world.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was delightfully weird. It's a converted warehouse, but somehow they still make it feel homey. The other guests were friendly and the staff was kind, funny, and helpful. And it was clean! I would highly recommend Alexandrie to anyone looking for a great hostel experience.

Disliked: The only downside is that this hostel is a bit far from the main streets of downtown (St. Laurent, St. Catherine). This is fine if you have a car, but otherwise you will have to take the (super expensive) Montreal cabs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Triin Joeveer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Triin would recommend this property

Liked: Good bed mattress, hot shower...

Disliked: Nothing...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: used to be a church, lots of space..cool staff, owner on premises..

Disliked: a bit messy, this place could get so much better with a little work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great and helpful, good for a laugh. Great job guys!!

Disliked: The internet is abit hit and miss, and the place looks half like a construction site, which may turn off a few people, but it didnt dother me, adds character to the place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unless you don't mind living in a construction side (and why would you...), it is a good place to stay. the staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is ok and altough it doesn't look like that at first, the place is rather clean. it is also a nice place to meet people. my room was in a annex building (which used to be a garage), which was nice, as it was calm and kind of a more private area. i think in the main building the rooms tend to be noisy.

Disliked: everything looks rather run down, kind of like in the middle of redecoration. only one public computer to go online with, which was very slow. only one shower/bathroom for about 10 people, the toilet was in the same room, so in the morning it was usually very busy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you even have a possiblity to cook.. nice;-)

Disliked: little expensive compared to other hostels, on the other hand its worth it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Senad Basic

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 October 2011 Senad would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, close to public transportation, free wi-fi and laundry.

Disliked: Old building and in renovation... but everything works just fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caoimhin McCann

Alone

City break

02 October 2011 Caoimhin would recommend this property

Liked: Overall i liked this hostel it had some mixed reviews but mostly good so i went with it, i liked that it was a social hostel with sagria nite every friday night, its rough and rustic which i really like clean and tidy well run with great fun loving staff, bit noisey alright and i'm a sensitive sleeper but felt well rested in between no major worries its all good :D

Disliked: noisey street, slighty sluggish internet although i only used it briefly so really did not affect me nothing to warranty not staying there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaitlin van Rossmann

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Kaitlin would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it wasn't too loud and rowdy. it was a very calm and relaxing atmosphere, which I needed for my stay in Montreal. the employees were very helpful with things like directions, and the internet was okay most of the time.

Disliked: only one bathroom for 6 plus girls was a little annoying, but I usually got up before anyone else so I didn't have to wait too much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Amy Matthews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, lovely street, close to the old town and downtown. You could easily walk there and there was also a bike rental place right out the front of the hostel where you can hire a bike for $5 a day. It's a great way to get around the city, on the bike tracks they have. The Wi-Fi was great and the place had a great feel to it.

Disliked: Nothing really to mention

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dumitru Sirbu

Alone

City break

25 September 2011 Dumitru would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DEREK KAVANAGH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 DEREK would recommend this property

Liked: The open plan common area.

Disliked: It was undergoing some renovation work

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and very good location

Disliked: WiFi was not very stable, but it works ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emma Bentley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who will help with any questions. Good breakfast available. Rooms are clean and have plenty of space. Near to a metro station so its easy to get around.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Morgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The clean rooms / bathrooms and location of the hostel

Disliked: Only thing is to give better directions to the hostel from the bus terminal!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The numerous available toilets and the privacy of having my own space.

Disliked: The private room was directly across from the bathroom and though the doors have glazed glass; the light still shown through to my room--I was awakened each time someone went to the bathroom late at night. The room is also street level which opens up to a lot of noise at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sally burch

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2011

Liked: beds were really comfy, great to have the bathroom as an ensuite. staff were really friendly. bathrooms were cleaned twice a day which was awesome.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Sarah Alvo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere; felt like a more relaxed and interesting version of a student dorm! The barbeque was great for meeting people. Having a private triple in an apartment shared with only one other group was excellent.

Disliked: Some staff didn't speak English (they were all generally very nice though). Also, lots of stairs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area with kitchen and lounge is a nice central area to meet people. The bed in the dorm was very comfortable and there was enough space in the room. The location is really good. Once the renovation is done and shared bathrooms are added it will be a great place!

Disliked: By far not enough bathrooms/ toilets, the "ensuit" concept is really a disadvantage in an 8 bed dorm, you spend half the day waiting to go to the toilet or have a shower. The internet was quite unreliable, had interruptions. But less value for money.seems to be a general problem in Montreal, this currently might be a good hostel compared to others in Montreal, just not (yet) internationally.