We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

92.6% Overall Rating

208 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2015)

"Wonderful place to stay. Cheap, friendly staff, friendly guest, nice facility, great location"

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property. Sorry we don't accept Montréal or area resident.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Arena Palace
14.69 USD

Hotel 1 star 45.5% 12 reviews
Hotel Visitel
23.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Montreal Central
19.32 USD

Hostel 92.8% 328 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
27.06 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
60.31 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.9% 43 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 81.2% 22 reviews
M-Montreal
19.32 USD

Hostel 93.4% 97 reviews
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
51.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.9% 183 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

208 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 156 of 199 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff - the main streets and old montreal were explained to me as i checked in, and the walking tour organised by one of the staff was wonderful. It kept me busy all afternoon and I saw things I wouldn't have seen otherwise - and he kept going after his shift ended so he could show us everything. The common area just felt really friendly too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joan Vogel

Alone

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: staff was helpful and friendly. Location was really good.

Disliked: Music was played in the common area, sometimes pretty loud, from morning till 11:00 pm so it was hard sometimes to have some quiet time or talk with other guests.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013

Liked: The staff were very friendly and it was nice to have an introduction to the city.

Disliked: I didn't like the area it felt quite unsafe. The property itself felt like a building site, the rooms were very small, there was no room to put my bag, and it didn't seem very organised as they didn't know what beds were free and which ones were taken. The lockers were located downstairs in the main area which I didn't like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As the hostel is close to both the bus station and the Metro the hostel it is easy to get to and a good jump off point for exploring Montreal. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hostel has allthe facilities you could want for.

Disliked: The stairs to the top floor!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere. Easy going and imformal. I stayed in a private room with my partner. The balcony and personal feel were the biggest pluses for me.

Disliked: Lack of wifi outside of the main lounge. Stuffiness in room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ye Zheng

Alone

Business / conference

14 August 2013 Ye would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a single room which is very quiet and comfortable!

Disliked: One thing that is a big pity that the breakfast was served between 8:15 to 10:15, but I hadto leave before 8a.m. Therefore, I did not have the chance to enjoy the breakfast there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a little bit far from the traln station but very close to the village.

Disliked: street noise

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dan Janus

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2013 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Emlie and the rest of the staff were awesome! Created a very fun and inviting atmosphere. The rooms, sheets and facilities were also clean and well maintained.

Disliked: Dan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location good and staff friendly

Disliked: Feeble breakfast offering but a start to the day I guess

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Ortiz Cardenas

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a very friendly atmosphere. It's easy to mix with people here and the staff do their bit to help with this. The guests here seemed to be about 50% English speaking and 50% French speaking which made for an interesting atmosphere. The hostel is in a good location, near the main bus station, Berri/UQAM metro station and walking distance of the main sights in central Montreal. They also have free breakfast, laundry and internet/WiFi.

Disliked: My only criticism would be that the building is quite old and could do with a little maintenance in places. However, this is only a minor criticism and probably won't bother most travellers. It is kept more than adequately clean and the age of the building is reflected in a cheaper price than more recently refurbished hostels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alston Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Alston would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Beneteau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and openness of the property, and it was also kept very secure and clean. Great location and a very nice place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome social space - wasn't feeling social, but there's a TV chillout area, nice communal kitchen space, it's just really big and open so if you want to be by yourself you can be, but it's also easy to find other people who are staying there. And that's just the public spaces. The room also opened out on a social area that adjoined 3 rooms, was really comfortable, and the roof space was awesome. Wish I'd stayed there longer!

Disliked: I got a bug bite at some point while sleeping. Probably a spider, which I could get at home too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. Massive common room with good wifi.

Disliked: I think I lost my phone there....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere created was like a family and great|!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Friday night party. With some alcohol we can mingle with other travellers, which was such a great experience!

Disliked: Though I should not expect much from a hostel where I know I'd be sharing bathrooms, I still hope for more that can be shared at a more convenient location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real friendly staff and great shared room.

Disliked: A little far from downtown.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012

Liked: Friendly staff with helpful restaurant tip - he even let us use the phone for free to make a reservation.

Disliked: We went to this hostel based on previous hostel booker reviews. However, we wanted to write one ourselves as, for the first time in ages, we don't agree with the comments. This hostel seemed to attract long stayers, and consequently it wasn't very friendly. We were also staying in the middle of a building site - we had to go outside to get to our room which wasnt ideal, and when showing us around the owner advised us "not to jump on the steps as they were sketchy", which didn't fill us with confidence. There is also only 1 shower with toilet for about12 people, a bit frustrating. The room (we stayed in a 4 bed) was tiny, so no room really for backpacks. The worst part was they made us pay a fee for booking with hostel bookers. Both of us have used this site for over 4 years, and never had to pay extra for using it. We found this really dissapointing, and can only assume the hostel made us pay rather than hostel bookers having a change in policy. Our advice? Montreal is awesome - make it better by staying somewhere else.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonatan Thorstensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly

Disliked: Some people might be bothered by the cracks in the walls etc. I'm not.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Robotham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Has a great shabby chic look and feel to the place. I was staying in an 8 person dorm but they had divided the room in half which was brill for a bit of extra privacy. There was a sangria night whilst I was there too and the communal area is good for meeting people. Great value.

Disliked: The lockers were in the communal area - personally I would have preferred some to be in the rooms. It would be useful to advertise the activities going on in the hostel a bit more.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff on when we arrived in the evening, made sure we knew exactly where everything was.

Disliked: it can be a bit of a maze if you are staying towards the rear of the complex.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lenin Gonzalez

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 September 2012 Lenin would recommend this property

Liked: I interacted mainly with one girl when I arrived; I don't remember her name but she had bed hair and a multitude of accessories in her hair which suited her. She was AMAZING! Friendly, knowledgeable, engaging, and an all-around superb staff member. Aside from the staff, the place itself was sooooo cute! I loved the atmosphere! The lobby is huge with plenty of sitting; video game systems; and music playing throughout the day. Fridays are Sangria night!! Delicious sangria!! Great way to get to know people. The location is also great! Just 2 blocks from Rue St Catherine.

Disliked: Lenin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met great people, amazing location, close to subway and Chinatown!

Disliked: Only one bathroom for all those that don't have an ensuite. No airconditioning so very warm on third floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Lots of fun lively people around, lots of common space to relax. Free breakfast, laundry and wifi/computer always nice. Well stocked kitchen. Good location.

Disliked: Furniture and buildling definitely had the artsy/recycled vibe. I kinda liked it but if you are looking for hotel-style look elsewhere. Sometimes hard to find a staff person when you needed something (at check out for example). Only one shower for many people if staying in cheapest dorms.