HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel

Hostel | 1750 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H2L 3L6

88.6% Overall Rating

193 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"very friendly and helpful staff, nice familiar atmosphere, pancakes for breakfast"

Read all Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

You must advise your arrival time to the property.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montreal?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montreal

Hotel Arena Palace
22.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 46.5% 11 reviews
Hotel Visitel
22.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Montreal Central
22.91 USD

Hostel 92.5% 320 reviews
Hotel Stay Centre Ville
32.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.4% 5 reviews
Hotel Le Saint-Andre
71.51 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.4% 42 reviews
Hostelo the New Urban Hostel
18.34 USD

Hostel 78.6% 12 reviews
M-Montreal
22.91 USD

Hostel 96.8% 88 reviews
Hotel Lord Berri
51.34 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

193 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alexandrie-Montreal Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 144 of 184 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Beneteau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and openness of the property, and it was also kept very secure and clean. Great location and a very nice place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing that I can think of.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome social space - wasn't feeling social, but there's a TV chillout area, nice communal kitchen space, it's just really big and open so if you want to be by yourself you can be, but it's also easy to find other people who are staying there. And that's just the public spaces. The room also opened out on a social area that adjoined 3 rooms, was really comfortable, and the roof space was awesome. Wish I'd stayed there longer!

Disliked: I got a bug bite at some point while sleeping. Probably a spider, which I could get at home too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff. Massive common room with good wifi.

Disliked: I think I lost my phone there....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere created was like a family and great|!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Friday night party. With some alcohol we can mingle with other travellers, which was such a great experience!

Disliked: Though I should not expect much from a hostel where I know I'd be sharing bathrooms, I still hope for more that can be shared at a more convenient location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real friendly staff and great shared room.

Disliked: A little far from downtown.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012

Liked: Friendly staff with helpful restaurant tip - he even let us use the phone for free to make a reservation.

Disliked: We went to this hostel based on previous hostel booker reviews. However, we wanted to write one ourselves as, for the first time in ages, we don't agree with the comments. This hostel seemed to attract long stayers, and consequently it wasn't very friendly. We were also staying in the middle of a building site - we had to go outside to get to our room which wasnt ideal, and when showing us around the owner advised us "not to jump on the steps as they were sketchy", which didn't fill us with confidence. There is also only 1 shower with toilet for about12 people, a bit frustrating. The room (we stayed in a 4 bed) was tiny, so no room really for backpacks. The worst part was they made us pay a fee for booking with hostel bookers. Both of us have used this site for over 4 years, and never had to pay extra for using it. We found this really dissapointing, and can only assume the hostel made us pay rather than hostel bookers having a change in policy. Our advice? Montreal is awesome - make it better by staying somewhere else.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jonatan Thorstensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Jonatan would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly

Disliked: Some people might be bothered by the cracks in the walls etc. I'm not.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alice Robotham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Has a great shabby chic look and feel to the place. I was staying in an 8 person dorm but they had divided the room in half which was brill for a bit of extra privacy. There was a sangria night whilst I was there too and the communal area is good for meeting people. Great value.

Disliked: The lockers were in the communal area - personally I would have preferred some to be in the rooms. It would be useful to advertise the activities going on in the hostel a bit more.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff on when we arrived in the evening, made sure we knew exactly where everything was.

Disliked: it can be a bit of a maze if you are staying towards the rear of the complex.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lenin Gonzalez

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 September 2012 Lenin would recommend this property

Liked: I interacted mainly with one girl when I arrived; I don't remember her name but she had bed hair and a multitude of accessories in her hair which suited her. She was AMAZING! Friendly, knowledgeable, engaging, and an all-around superb staff member. Aside from the staff, the place itself was sooooo cute! I loved the atmosphere! The lobby is huge with plenty of sitting; video game systems; and music playing throughout the day. Fridays are Sangria night!! Delicious sangria!! Great way to get to know people. The location is also great! Just 2 blocks from Rue St Catherine.

Disliked: Lenin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Met great people, amazing location, close to subway and Chinatown!

Disliked: Only one bathroom for all those that don't have an ensuite. No airconditioning so very warm on third floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Lots of fun lively people around, lots of common space to relax. Free breakfast, laundry and wifi/computer always nice. Well stocked kitchen. Good location.

Disliked: Furniture and buildling definitely had the artsy/recycled vibe. I kinda liked it but if you are looking for hotel-style look elsewhere. Sometimes hard to find a staff person when you needed something (at check out for example). Only one shower for many people if staying in cheapest dorms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Field

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel. Huge dormitory with lots of space for our bags. Great atmosphere, lots of free activities going on. We went on H's free tour of Montreal, which was awesome. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Donal McIntyre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Donal would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very enjoyable stay in Montreal which was helped by the Alexandrie Montreal Youth Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I got to meet alot of good people.

Disliked: Donal left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for your money. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Everything was clean. I liked the decor and atmosphere. Simple breakfast included (toast and fruits). About 5-10 minute walk to the metro.

Disliked: Visibly old and a bit run down (can't shower right after using the toilet because there is no water). No lockers in the rooms (on the main floor). There is no AC but a fan in the room. We had to leave the door open most nights in order to keep the air circulating or else it would get too hot and humid to sleep. However we were there for a particularly hot weekend (35+ degrees).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Erick Veliz

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 August 2012 Erick would recommend this property

Liked: the staff!

Disliked: really hot in rooms no fans

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Chang

Alone

City break

07 August 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The bedroom is clean, and the location is good. People here are friendly, some of them are long-term hosters. I had an international dinner with many of the visitors in the hostel. everyone cooked a dish and shared. They are all very nice.

Disliked: Remember there is no air conditioning!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - really cool group atmosphere, especially in the lobby - helpful and friendly staff - very close to the bus station - big lockers, not in the rooms though, but still a lot of space for your staff

Disliked: - missing air condition, it became really, really hot in the lobby sometimes - beds are kinda loud, but not too bad

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and character.

Disliked: mixed dorm rooms are not as nice as the larger single sex rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a homely feel and character. It didn't feel like some hostels where they just want to cram as many people in as possible. I liked how the 8 bed dorms were actually divided into 2 separate 4 bed rooms - made it feel more spacious. Free laundry was great, wifi good, comfy couches, really friendly staff, activities, free breakfast, lockers. very convenient location.

Disliked: The room I was in got a lot of traffic noise from the street - but if you aren't a light sleeper this probably wouldn't bother you! Earplugs fixed this for the most part.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very spacious, nicely decorated, fast internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lili Ja'afar

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2012 Lili would recommend this property

Liked: not too posh yet not too run down. perfect location, not dirty, friendly staff, feels like home, nice patio

Disliked: not much variety of breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's great for meeting people and making friends. The staff organize outings often, and there was a nice sense of community there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: les chambres doubles en appartement !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.