HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Halifax hostels

Reviews of Halifax Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 2193 Gottingen St, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada B3K3B5

68.2% Overall Rating

128 out of 156 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2013)

"The staff is helpful and nice, they know their way around Halifax and are happy to help you find good stuff to do in town. Doing the laundry is cheap and easy there. The beds are pretty good and quite comfortable, the…"

Read all Halifax Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.53

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Halifax?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.2%

Overall Rating

128 out of 156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Halifax Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
64.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
82.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 115 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014

Liked: It is really well located

Disliked: When I booked I was not informed that every Friday night there are parties so you just can't sleep which is really annoying when you just arrive from a 36h bus trip. The rooms and bathrooms were quite dirty, also they said that for $5 more you can have a breakfast, that's great but actually you can't have it before 10:00am!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KARL JOSEPH PEREIRA

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 April 2014 KARL JOSEPH would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to central Bus Terminal for city

Disliked: The reception can be improved upon greatly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The heating was good especially as I stayed in winter. Easy going staff.

Disliked: A bit congested. Small kitchen. Lounge and coffee shop closed completely during whole week of Christmas and new year

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Price

Disliked: Loud music on weekend nights and could be a bit cleaner.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: cleanliness was a problem, lack of organization with staff and supplies (no kitchen towels, no soap for hand washing, etc..)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and nice, they know their way around Halifax and are happy to help you find good stuff to do in town. Doing the laundry is cheap and easy there. The beds are pretty good and quite comfortable, the bathrooms are clean. The cafe downstairs offers delicious treats and great coffee and isn't expensive. You'll always find somebody to hang out with or someone who wants to go to a bar/ pub/ club with you.

Disliked: The kitchen is too small to really cook a proper meal in it, plus you might not find all the equipment you might need. There are only 4 showers for the whole hostel, which is okay in shoulder seasons, but in high season it might be a different story. It can be loud at night, which is okay, if you are looking for a place to party.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Simon Erlich

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Thee property was close enough to everywhere we needed to get too. The staff were quite friendly. It fulfilled all the needs I had for it.

Disliked: As other reviews have said, it isn't perfectly clean nor spaciois nor in the nicest neighborhood. However, for me, A 20 year old back packer, it was fine. It's worth it for the cheaper price.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff, nice atmosphere, barbecue to make people get to know each other is a great idea!

Disliked: Its really not a luxurious stay, but at least enough!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Dhwani Desai

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 September 2012 Dhwani would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy ambience, great place if you looking to meet new people, free internet, safety of belongings..even though I couldn't lock my locker after putting my stuff in, it was left untouched both by the staff and the other guests

Disliked: The dorm room is a bit small for 6 people, friday/saturday night parties right in the alley next to it made a lot of noise...if you are too sensitive to sound it'll be real uncomfortable especially if you want to sleep early..

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

QI CHAO HO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Poor management - They did not record customers booking. I paid the down payment online but when i checked in at Halifax Backpackers, they told me that they carelessly forgot to record my booking, hence there is no beds left for me and my friends. Poor service - Did not ensure that we get our rooms, and instead throw us to a neighboring hostel which costs more. Poor attitude - Person at the counter was not apologetic nor helpful or understanding at all. Poor place: The hostel looks disorganized and dirty. The rooms were small, squeezy and untidy. Its a blessing in disguise that we did not have to stay there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People living there obeyed the rules, e.g. very quiet during 11pm to 7am, not wearing shoes in the bed-room, cleaning sink after meals. It is a good choice for young people if you want to save money and live in a fabulous location.

Disliked: It was raining that day. So the humid smell of the house and the bed sheets was not good.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and easy going staff. Very helpful. Good wifi connection.

Disliked: Nothing. Its good value for what you paid for.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012

Liked: The owners are friendly.

Disliked: This place is overcrowded, small and extremely dirty. When I was showed to my bed in my room, everything was in a mess. The person in charge didnt even know which bed was occupied because they dont seem to clean and tidy the beds after each guest leaves. All the linen, pillows were everywhere on the beds. Seems like all of the beds were taken but he told me they are not and dont know which is taken. You have to set up the linen yourself which is fine, but the linen all have stains on them. I tried changing a few times but they are pretty much the same. So i just settle with one that has less stains. The room is also very cluttered and they store cleaning equipment like pails, mops etc in the room that is already so small. The room has also very poor ventilation. The 2 nights that I was working on my laptop at the lounge, I saw rats running about. THe kitchen is extremely small and untidy and there was pertually unwashed dishes in the sink all the time. The person in charge of cleaning up the hostel does a very substandard job. The location of the hostel is quite far from downtown and is located in a not so good area. A lot of things here are worn out or damaged but its not fixed. If i ever go back to halifax, I will pay a little more to stay at an alternative hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cassandra O'Connor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and more than happy to help with any questions and made really great recomendations for things to do and see in the city.

Disliked: Nothing it was a great experiences.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 March 2012

Liked: the staff were very friendly, and the attached cafe was nice.

Disliked: This hostel was filthy. I'm not a clean freak, but it grossed me out. People came in and out of the room all night and made tons of noise. The staff keep their stuff in the guest rooms, which was a bit weird. The doors to the rooms had no locks, and the door to my room barely closed. They have started to charge for towels, although they say on their website that towels are free. The hostel was located in an area that was pretty sketchy - I would never walk around by myself after dark.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and if I had a question they were willing to do everything to find me the answer. Everyone was really friendly. this building was really secure and everyone had their own keys which was good. there were also cubbies in the room for ur bags if u needed them. The atmosphere was definitely that of a hostel which was cool.

Disliked: It seemed a bit dirty in the bathrooms and hallways. but nothing extreme. Some of the sheets were stained so it made u wonder. the location was on a street where just a few blocks up is a little sketchy in halifax but where it was was a little bit better. average spot. overal i mean this place was a good time and met interesting people.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cafeteria.

Disliked: They guy who was at the front desk was drunk and sleeping at the living room during the night. That was his room, I guess he didn't have any other place to sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the atmosphere! People were wonderful, music in the coffeehouse and lounge downstairs was always quality, great feeling of community, and it met every expectation of what a backpackers hostel should be. I would definitely recommend to a friend, and I would stay here again.

Disliked: If cleanliness is a huge factor for you, you may be uncomfortable. I found it to be fine, though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mark Green

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: chararcterful and quirky, nice cafe bar downstairs

Disliked: small kitchen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there are multiple dorms - unisex and also a single room is available for couples. The atmosphere is great - rather like a family.

Disliked: It is very crowded. The kitchen-dining area is tiny and it is near impossible for one to cook there. However there is a restaurant downstairs that many make use of. It appeared to be reasonably priced.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a very nice location, making it such that you can walk to almost any location you would want to go to within the city. The staff are quite friendly and helpful. Large lockers were provided for people to lock up their valuables, which was great.

Disliked: There were no staff the last day I was there, which made it our last day in Halifax much more difficult that it needed to be. There was no staff around to ask how to get to certain places, what the best way to get to the airport at 5am is, how to get the key deposit back, etc.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super fun, memorable stay.

Disliked: I think the staff drinks a little too much after hours and it can get in the way of those who actually need to focus on something important. I can't really complain though, and these are simply differences in lifestyle and I respect that. Its something to be aware of if they aren't already though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the people (stuff and guests are nice there), lots of tips and leaflets of other hostels, cafe downstairs

Disliked: the area is a bit dodgy, the hostel isn't really clean (e.g. flies in the kitchen, the matresses and covers are stained and usually u only get one sheet ???), the kitchen is too small if the hostel is full and there should be more hangers in one of the showers upstairs

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: PROS: Great spot if you're traveling alone to meet people, or if you travel with a friend to meet fellow backpackers and share tips about traveling in Nova Scotia and Maritimes. Michelle (the owner) was super helpful, she sat down with us as soon as we arrived and pointed the main attractions on the map. She also helped us to arrange a convenient half-day trip to Peggy's Cove and a shuttle ride to the airport. Although we decided to arrive to Halifax one day later than planned, we haven't been charged with a rate for the first night although we canceled with a 24hrs notice (instead of a required 2 days). The street on which the hostel is located is bit sketchy (or as some call it: real Halifax:), but we felt safe even while walking back in the evening.

Disliked: CONS: The hostel, along with the cafe (they also sell second-hand books), is charming, but definitely require some proper cleaning and some renovations.There was a pile of dust of the lockers, the mattress cover was dirty and it seemed to me that the floors have not been swiped for at least couple of days. I wouldn't go for anything else than coffee at the cafe because most of the kitchen appliances looked dirty and bread crumbs were just all over the floor and counters. Also, some ventilation in the room would be great, it was getting very hot over the night in our room. In brief, putting some work in the place would help a lot. Some minor things, like painting the walls and making sure that everything is clean would make a huge difference.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can meet many people.

Disliked: There is no dislike point about that.


See all Halifax hostels