HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Halifax, Halifax Heritage House Hostel Halifax Hostel

1253 Barrington Street, Barrington Street, Halifax, Canada

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 84%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Please Note: The $30 rate is for HI members only. An additional $5 applies to non-members. Maximum length of stay is 14 nights in Halifax Heritage House Hostel

If you are booking 10 or more beds, you must contact Halifax Heritage House Hostel directly for there are different policies in place for group bookings. Please send the booking request to the hostel directly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Halifax?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 84%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Quiet, clean, and friendly.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice kitchen!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: pretty clean and with pretty good facilities

Disliked: not many parking spaces available

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel runs like a well-oiled machine - very organized with all sorts of resources, a great kitchen and informed staff.

Disliked: We had a lot of trouble sleeping because of how hot it was - if the owner is reading this PLEASE buy fans for the rooms! We had a ceiling fan, but it could only be turned on with the light - so we didn't sleep barely at all due to the heat and humidity.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I am a Taiwanese, I come for travelling Halifax in Nova Scotia. The Hotel in Halifax where I stay is located at great location. It's near the station of bus and train , shopping area, spot of sight seeing in downtown, in especially near the local supermarket. I will recommend this place to stay to my friend for sure . If you are looking for somewhere to stay in downtown of, Halifax, please don't miss it. You will like it. *^O^*

Disliked: Hopefully, they can provide a hair dryer in the bathroom without any deposit. ($20 ca)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely staff, excellent location!

Disliked: Can't say I can fault this place! It is up there with the best!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the huge kitchen ! The washrooms are clean. Very good location, there is a supermarket nearby.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean toilets but not blankets and bed sheets

Disliked: Too many rules and unhelpful staff

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a good place to stay. The rooms are bathrooms are clean and well maintained.

Disliked: I would recommend some hostel events on the weekends just to get people together.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice: Signs everywhere to take care of water / electricity, kitchen, nice common areas, decoration, ladies' bathroom, spacious room, friendly staff, ...

Disliked: Not so nice: For me a bit too expensive, the mattresses

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability