HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI Charlottetown Backpackers Inn Charlottetown Hostel

60 Hillsborough St., Charlottetown, Canada

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 96%

Location 96%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

Please Note: All quoted rates are HI-member rates. Memberships are available for purchase at check in. Non members will be charged a $4 surcharge per bed per night.

All rates include breakfast and linen.

Taxes are not included in the above total. An additional 14% sales tax will be charged upon arrival. From October 1st 2016 the province of Prince Edward Island will be increasing its tax rates from 14% to 15%.

Reception hours are from 8am to 11pm. If you will arrive outside these hours, please let us know and we will arrange something for you.

Check in time is 4pm.

If you need to cancel, please ensure that you cancel before 4pm the day before your reservation or you will be charged for the first night of your stay.

Thank you for booking at Hostelling International Charlottetown Backpackers Inn.

We look forward to your visit.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Charlottetown?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 96%

Location 96%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 92%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Nice vibe

Disliked: Some quests were a bit noisy

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was so lovely! You should absolutely go there and meet Levi and the gorgeous people/ staff! Felt like home! Charlottetown is defenitly worth to go there!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the location and the community atmosphere that the kitchen creates. Of all the hostels I've stayed in, the people I met here were the easiest to get to know. Maybe PEI particularly attracts easy-going, friendly people (very likely!). I started looking forward to breakfast together. It's a nice clean house and the multiple bathrooms were appreciated.

Disliked: Lack of ceiling fans or A/C. The weather turned hot (it was July), and the house isn't outfitted with anything to move the air. There was a standing fan in our room but it could only point in one direction, and several girls got up in the night to point it towards them to sleep. The hostel staff bakes a wonderful banana bread for breakfast, which is lovely, but running the ovens warms up the house even more. Consequently, I didn't sleep at all my last night, just lay there and sweated. If I were staying an extra night, I would have moved to other lodgings with A/C. Otherwise, I'd recommend it to anyone.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A really nice place! It is small but really cosy, the staff is really friendly and helpfull, and the location is not too bad either. Besides, the breakfast (which was included in the price) was just excellent!

Disliked: The room where I stayed was very small.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very friendly staff, took us all out for pub music trivia night. Levi's a great guy, really makes himself accessible to hostellers and just down-to-earth. Highly recommended stay!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: Location and Staff

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very cozy, clean and a friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Room was a bit small

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping

Liked: I loved this place. It is the best hostel I have ever been to. The staff is nice, helpful and always up for a laugh. The breakfast is fresh and plenty, the Bananabread is just wunderful, so be sure to give it a try!It is clean and safe, the kitchen is huge and has everything you will ever need. The bathrooms are clean and big. The rooms are nice, safe, clean and comfortable. You can ask for new sheets anytime. For me, this was the perfect hostel and one of the best weeks of my life. I would stay there again and again, given the chance, so I can really really recommend this hostel to anybody.

Disliked: Nothing. There is nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: friendly atmosphere, nice facilities (e.g. party garage...) and helpfull staff

Disliked: few bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel was clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and stay here again if get back out this way.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability