We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Calgary hostels

Reviews of Wicked Hostels - Calgary

Hostel | 1505 MacLeod Tr SE, Calgary, Alberta, Canada t2g 2n6

88.8% Overall Rating

52 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2014)

Nick Ryan thinks…

"Honestly, the people were great, they give you a tour of the hostel. I can't thank the people enough."

Read all Wicked Hostels - Calgary reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Calgary?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

52 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wicked Hostels - Calgary'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nick Ryan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Really good tour of the hostel by one of the staff

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Ryan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, the people were great, they give you a tour of the hostel. I can't thank the people enough.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbara Ann O Flaherty

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Barbara Ann would recommend this property

Liked: they did your laundry, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gavin Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: stayed here for 3 nights , staff friendly , breakfast good and free , short walk to centre of town , train opposite if not wanting to walk it , comfortable mattresses

Disliked: no lockers , sacky bed frames , nothing major

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, laundry & Skype. Good, clean facilities & helpful staff. Lots of sociable activities on offer too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was average, fine for backpacker. Atmosphere good. Breakfast typical.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, comfy beds, fantastic location

Disliked: Only had hot water half the time (although they were working on that), no lockers in rooms, very small rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The new years eve party and the friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012

Liked: location, price

Disliked: too many old timers living there

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 November 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: very disappointed in my stay poster at reception says quiet time after midnigt until 7 am. This was not enforced. Not only was there banging, sounds like crashing chairs etc at 1am there was loud talk until 4 am at least. Night supervisor was there too as i obseved when inwemt ti the washroom through the kitchen (I was in a female dorm). hostel allows alcohol which is fine but not when your dorm is within 4 meters of the common room, where loud inebriated conversation is tzking place and all you are at the hostel for is a sleep! I Had stayed zt hostel before but was in an upstairs dorm which is removed frlm common room and when i noticed i was in dorm right by common room i asked to move and was told that was impossible as that is whT i booked online. i left this morning before the free breakfast and without any sleep and

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful receptionist and very welcoming. Free use of towels included. Breakfast selection choice is fine.

Disliked: It was a pity the dorm happens to be located next to the common room/kitchen as it can be difficult to sleep with the background noise.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! would definitely go back purely because everyone was so nice and friendly, not good for cleanliness, privacy or security of belongings.

Disliked: Would have like more security, but thats all!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My flight was delayed considerably and Lucas stayed up late until 2am on a Saturday night to ensure that I got in okay and showed me around. He also warned fellow guests so everyone was warm and accommodating towards me - so no one was angry when I got in late. The facilities are fantastic - I'm only sad that my time was cut short there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, many friendly people staying there

Disliked: There are no lockers in rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan shiveral

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 alan would recommend this property

Liked: the service..did my laundry quick and clean what a bonus

Disliked: all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and other inhabitants of this hostel were extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Valent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything. Just cool place to stay for few days.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mattijs Bliek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Mattijs would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome people, and a super friendly staff. Atmosphere is relaxed and it's super easy to meet other people.

Disliked: Mattijs left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No lockers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere where u can feel right at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were super helpfull and its super easy to get to by train. having the free internet was also a major bonus.

Disliked: i would have liked somewhere to lock my bags away, nothing went missing but i would just prefere a small locker for vaulables

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and living room, good information about Calgary and Canada. The Rooms are in a good condition

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, lots of fun and lots of extra goodies like laundry and breakfast. It felt like a big, easy going house with lots of people living there rather than a hostel.

Disliked: Rooms could get really crowded as there isn't anywhere to store belongings. But it's not a huge issue


See all Calgary hostels