We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Banff hostels

Reviews of Banff Y Mountain Lodge

Hostel | 102 Spray Avenue, Banff, Alberta, Canada T1L 1A6

75.0% Overall Rating

121 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Lukasz Zielinski thinks…

"Bed was comfy & armchairs. Toilets in rooms(for girls at least) you can read one of available book."

Read all Banff Y Mountain Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

* A one night deposit is required at time of reservation. room charges. * $50 deposit required on private rooms (damage deposit) and to open phone line. Credit card must be on file to open your phone line. * Credit cards accepted: VISA and Mastercard. When booking "one or 2 people" rooms, please book as one guest, even if two people are going to be sharing and contact the hostel after your booking to confirm about this. Tourism improvement fee of 2% payable on arrival

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Banff?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Banff

King Edward Hotel
55.94 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
44.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
AWA Hotel Driftarrow Banff
27.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.5% 26 reviews
Samesun Backpackers
26.41 USD

Hostel 90.3% 63 reviews
Banff International Hostel
24.71 USD

Hostel 90.8% 23 reviews
HI - Banff Alpine Centre
26.85 USD

Hostel 83.7% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

121 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Banff Y Mountain Lodge'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
80.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 98 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lukasz Zielinski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2014 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was comfy & armchairs. Toilets in rooms(for girls at least) you can read one of available book.

Disliked: Not to nice toilets :/ ichy blancet.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not clean, not vacumed

Disliked: kitchen was so small, there is little space in the fridges

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gavin Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: stayed here for 4 nights , just a short walk over bridge to city centre , mattresses good , bathroom and toilet clean , i would reccomend this place to others on a budget

Disliked: Gavin left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was exactly as described and the breakfast was good!

Disliked: The smell walking up the stairs, it smelt stale and needed a thorough clean.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2013

Liked: Very clean.

Disliked: Noisy, beds extremely unconfortable, rooms in the basement with only narrow windows, majority of the other customers rude, noisy people coming in the room in the very middle of the night and chatting loudly, bad smell of bad cook in the hallways, ... it is a pity because the location is awesome. So just go anywhere else to enjoy it fully...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeffrey WHITELAW

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 July 2013 jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpful staff, fees for accommodation

Disliked: --

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012

Liked: Location, cleanliness,pleasant service, posted information about weather and local travel services.

Disliked: Wifi, though advertised did not work at any location inthe hostel. This appeared to be the case not only with us but with everyone. Use of public computers expensive at $1 an hour, especially considering how slow they were and that wifi was not available. Outside area underutilized due to lack of furniture. No TV in private rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - very central Friendly staff

Disliked: Basic rooms - not even a sink in the room. Slightly overpriced.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great!

Disliked: Very noisy at night, but then again this always depends on guests at the time of your stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nick Robbins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2012 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and close to downtown Banff. Friendly people, all sorts of discounts and specials too!

Disliked: Vacancy can be an issue if booking late. That being said, this is the case with most lodges and hostels in Banff. Remember to book early!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to the centre of town! Approx 5 min walk to buses to the skifields!

Disliked: No free...or cheap wifi!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming. They even allowed me to change rooms with less people.

Disliked: The bunk beds were too low. Myself and the others in the bottom bunks kept hitting our heads causing headaches.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Wifi 24hours/12 dollars!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and close to town centre with free parking.

Disliked: The dormitory bunk beds in our room were rickety and, although, there was a communal area it was always empty and lacking in atmosphere (during August).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great.

Disliked: The bar of toilet was broken, the shower room was too small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and cleanliness and safety

Disliked: The location and cleanliness is ok, staff is really average but still ok... So definetly a good place to stay for good price

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Asuka Sekiguchi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011

Liked: location was excellent

Disliked: people and facilities are not useful.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Teagan Leiws

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011

Liked: Location was amazing - so close to everything. The bathroom and dorm room was cleaned daily. The common room had a comfy feel to it.

Disliked: The kitchen was filthy, constantly. There was no oven. You have to rent all kitchenware - including cutlery! The dormitories are down in a basement (minimal natural light). There are no mixed dorms. There is nowhere, and I mean nowhere, to drink alcohol without being yelled at (including your dorm!), that is unless you purchase it at bar prices from their cafe and still you can't drink it in the common room. The place is full of people living there, so I felt as though I was living in someone elses house. I did not meet one other 'traveler' in my 4 days there. My room was freezing cold at night and when I asked for 2 extra blankets I was told I could only have one. The jammed window which made it so cold was promptly fixed though. The Wifi is $12 for 24 hours, what a ripoff. I paid $1 per 10 mins to use skype only to discover their webcam did not work and the staff member on reception told me he did not know what was wrong with it. Overall I felt like I was stuck on school camp not in a hostel and I felt I got nothing but the bed and a blanket for my money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Used to be a hospital so the rooms are a good size and there are plenty of bathrooms. Very clean and great location within walking distance to many sights.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010

Liked: Great Location. Staff are friendly. Cafe attached seemed nice.

Disliked: The beds are seriously uncomfortable, and the rooms are like saunas at night.There is netting on the windows but i still got bitten by mosquitos. No free breakfast and no wifi ,for the price they charge, is a bit behind the times.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms and bathrooms were really clean

Disliked: - it's really annoying, that you have to pay for the wifi (and 12 $ is way too much anyway). - the kitchen is too small for the amount of people that can stay in the hostel. you almost always have to wait if you want to cook or eat or even eat on the cold corridor

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

George James

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

25 August 2010 George would recommend this property

Liked: room food patio location

Disliked: nothing. could be cheaper

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location & good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, great location, but the 12$ for wireless internet is a money grab.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 March 2010

Liked: The location. It's easy to access to downtown.The staffs were kind and fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Banff hostels