HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Banff hostels

Reviews of HI - Banff Alpine Centre

Hostel | 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Canada T1L 1B3

85.5% Overall Rating

194 out of 216 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2014)

Caitlin Burns thinks…

"It was really clean and out of town which was nice much more quite but a nice easy walk into the town. Oh an the beds were comfy."

Read all HI - Banff Alpine Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PRICES are set for Hostelling International Members. Non-members will be charged an additional 10% at check-in. Not a member? No worries - you can become a member when you arrive.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Banff?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Banff

Banff International Hostel
38.62 USD

Hostel 91.7% 21 reviews
AWA Hotel Driftarrow Banff
48.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 25 reviews
King Edward Hotel
183.93 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
91.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Banff Y Mountain Lodge
30.35 USD

Hostel 75.9% 146 reviews
Samesun Backpackers
34.95 USD

Hostel 91.8% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

194 out of 216 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'HI - Banff Alpine Centre'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 156 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and convenient kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and the food was decent.

Disliked: It was not as centrally located as some of the other hostels in the area. In all fairness, I knew this ahead of time. It did not impact me as I had a car.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are helpful & friendly Kitchen clean & tidy , well equipped

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caitlin Burns

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean and out of town which was nice much more quite but a nice easy walk into the town. Oh an the beds were comfy.

Disliked: That we thought breakfast was included as it states it on hostelbookers and it wasn't

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pancake breakfast and cosy communal area.

Disliked: Our room smelled a bit musty initially.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Chris Lamond

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014

Liked: Pancakes for breakfast.

Disliked: Bed bugs!! And rooms incorrectly advertised as private doubles containing only bunk beds.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Cartwright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Large spaces, cool designs. Great location

Disliked: Lack of kitchen utensils

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kimberly Howlett

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2014 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: The character and interior of the hostel blended in with the natural outside alpine environment. The free bus pass to the town helped and saved us money.

Disliked: Kimberly left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Courtney Pope

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2013 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff was great! And the rooms were nice!

Disliked: Nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable double room. Good on site cafe.

Disliked: We stayed over the Victoria weekend and were greeted by a gang of foul-mouthed, drunken yobs. Our night's sleep was ruined by the same (?) Yobs sitting below our window smoking, dealing in drugs and describing in excessive and foul detail just what they'd like to do to some of the female guests. I wish I'd had a hosepipe or bucket of water!

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013

Liked: Able to prepare meals, reasonable kitchen, although in need of update.

Disliked: Hot stuffy dorms, difficult to sleep. Air-conditioning only in the hallway, we had to jam the door open to cool down the dorm, it was unbearable during the day. Insufficient showers, only two male and two female ones for the entire floor! Power outage, unable to cook or do anything (shower, read etc) for four hours at night, safety issue. Carpet smelt filthy, bad odour in dorm, plugs did not fit in sinks.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Parsons

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and engaging staff. We enjoyed hearing the Australian accents!

Disliked: Our private room had four bunk beds for two guests

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michael Stanmore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2013

Liked: Wifi and not on a highway

Disliked: Was more like a massive living quarters for the OS workers rather than a travel hostel. So the rooms stunk, showers needed cleaning, kitchen was always dirty and busy and $25 to dry your cloths!!!! Seriously overpriced for cleaning your cloths. No wonder everyone stunk. Stayed at much better hostels in the Rockies

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PETER FLANNERY

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 May 2013 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organised with good on site facilities ,beds very comfortable the shelf and reading light an excellent idea which all hostels should adopt. Staff friendly helpful would like to commend cleaning lady for allowing me to switch to a lower bunk for the second night meaning more work for her . Its in a lovely location.

Disliked: I had a car but if not the location which is a distance from downtown would have been a problem

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Hornacek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: - friendly staff - free bus ticket

Disliked: - no negative feedback

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities and atmosphere. Nice pub.

Disliked: Doors are very noisy and can be bothersome overnight.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chantal Houde

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2012 Chantal would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very nice and always want to help you out storm shelter is a good meeting place if booked threw hostel bookers the pancakes

Disliked: games room is in the storm shelter and that doent open till 7 distence out of town WIFI internet is VERY POOR can NOT conect after 4pm kitchen is small for the amount of people using it pancake breakfast is only pancakes and that is all no juice or coffie

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2012

Liked: Location is perfect, so grateful for a free bus pass during our stay and loved the character of the hostel.

Disliked: The only negative would be the noise after midnight, running up and down corridors, slamming doors and raised voices until early hours.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff.

Disliked: Internet was slow.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very helpful and friendly! It was also a bonus to receive a complimentary bus pass for travelling around Banff which was appreciated!

Disliked: The doors within the building, although great they they are so secure, they unfortunately are also very noisy when being opened and closed frequently, which results in alot of banging sounds. Other guuests were quiet enough but with people coming and going thru the night, it contributed to sleep disruption for us.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location just outside the city centre on Tunnel Mountain. A hike up the mountain is just a short drive or walk away and offers outstanding views. The staff were very friendly and the hostel was clean. Overall an excellent place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sunny Sharma

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 August 2012 Sunny would recommend this property

Liked: Apart from slight outskirts location, this hostel is the best hostel in Banff. I stayed at other hostels for couple of days before moving into Hi Banff Alpine center and the difference was obvious. It's more clean , more organized and more safe. I mean one can not ask for more than this in terms of value for money. You get free breakfast if you book with hostel bookers, however I would also recommend to try out Pete's plate..it's awesome...

Disliked: Sunny left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Silvan Sievers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Silvan would recommend this property

Liked: free pancake breakfast, available information for outdoor activities, free bus ticket

Disliked: missing air condition or air circulatinon system for the rooms (hot in summer and generally hard to get fresh air into the room), wifi not as good everywhere as promised by the description

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with really nice and helpful staff, we even got an room upgrade for free. The rooms are really spacious and feel more like a small hotel then a hostel and free pancakes where really nice as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Banff hostels