HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of HI-Banff Alpine Centre Banff Hostel

#801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Alberta, Banff, Canada

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 87%

Location 82%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

PRICES are set for Hostelling International Members. Non-members will be charged an additional 10% at check-in. Not a member? No worries - you can become a member when you arrive.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Banff?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 87%

Location 82%

Safety 87%

Staff 91%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was awesome- even though its out of town they give you a free bus pass for your stay, bus is less than ten minutes into town! Staff were amazing and friendly always willing to chat or help out! Hostel was clean, warm and tidy, kitchen was great, bar was even better!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the awesome review! So great to hear that you enjoyed our location, the staff were friendly and our facilities were top rated. - Kiki, AGM

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I like the bar and the fact that there is wireless internet and free bus passes. Nice clean bathrooms

Disliked: It's a bit out of the way if you don't have a hire car

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. It's always great to hear positive feedback about our facilities and cleanliness. I'm glad you took advantage of our free bus pass system, we think it's worth it for the mountain views and the peace/tranquility you don't experience if you stay right downtown. - Kiki, AGM

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location with amazing views. Local bus drops you at the doorstep. Has its own bar and cafe.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel! Hope to host you again soon. - Kiki, AGM

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Convenient for bus to town, lovely views

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. - Kiki, AGM

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: THE STAFF ARE REALLY FRIENDLY AND ITS A GREAT PLACE TO MEET OTHER TRAVELLERS! GREAT LOCATION TOO

Disliked: THE WIFI IS TERRIBLE BUT ITS NOT A BIG DEAL WHEN YOURE IN THE MOUNTAINS

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. It's always great to hear such positive feedback about our staff, atmosphere and location. Sorry about the Wi-fi, it's a constant battle that we are working on with our IT service provider. Would be great if you could let us know the trouble spots, timing and issues you were having. Hope to see you again! - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice place, good atmosphere. Organises activities in the hostel. Not great at helping with activites to do in and around banff.

Disliked: Wifi is fairly poor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review and feedback. Good to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere and activities. My apologies that our Front Desk staff were not more helpful with activities and tours in the area, they are honestly usually always on top of giving directions and booking our guests with local tour operators. Also just wanted to let you know that we changed over our Wi-Fi router last week to address some past connectivity issues. Hope you'll stay again. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The HI Banff Alpine centre is a good place to stay while in Banff. The living arrangements are good; I lived in a room shared with five other men. The bathrooms are down the hall and were always clean. The kitchen is well-furnished and is more than enough for people who want to cook themselves,My roommates were fun people. There are tour-buses that start right from the hostel, and the staff are more than willing to help you pick something out. The hostel gives out bus passes that let you take Banff's city buses for free.The Storm Cellar is a fun bar to hang out at, and it's right in the hostel!

Disliked: The hostel is a bit of a distance from the city centre. You could walk to the hostel, but it's an uphill walk for about a mile and a half.Also, the hostel's rates displayed on the website are a) for members only; and b) don't include taxes. You should expect to pay about 20% more than what is advertised if you aren't a member.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review, I'm glad you had a fun hostelling experience. I'm happy to hear that you took advantage of the bus pass, we appreciate our mountain views and quiet location, but realize that it's still important to get downtown easily. Thanks for the comments about cleanliness that I can pass on to our Housekeeping Department and our helpful staff. As a member based organization we do charge an extra 10% for non members if a card is not purchased at check-in. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: De ligging vlakbij Bannff is ideaal. Ook met de bus te bereiken. Groene omgeving. Aardig personeel.Wij zaten in een cabin. Ruim, schoon,prima bedden. Ook gebruik gemaakt van de keuken die erg uitgebreid was. Zelfs een flinke oven aanwezig.Het restaurant is klein maar goed eten voor een betaalbaar bedrag.

Disliked: De cabin was aan de prijs.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I like the location and the ambiance in Banff.

Disliked: Bed was not made up and had to wait to get someone to bring in clean sheets...ended up making it myself around midnight.The shower floors always had puddles of water on them making it difficult to put your bag or clean clothes anywhere.Some teens outside drinking and swearing in the parking lot.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel, I appreciate your feedback and I'm glad you were able to experience Banff and our property. Please accept my sincerest apologies, you obviously should not have had to make up your own bed! I will followup with our Housekeeping Supervisor regarding this and also the shower floors. We have 24 hour staff and employ an outside security company to do checks and monitor behaviour such as you mentioned, again I am sorry. - Kirsten Miffling, AGM

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good and convenient kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability