HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Backpackers Banff Banff Hostel

433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Canada

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 95%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Check in time: 3:00pm
Check out time before: 11am
11% Taxes not included, must be paid on arrival.
Cash and all credit cards accepted on arrival.
Free Breakfast includes: make-your-own pancakes, homemade muffins, fresh oranges and bananas, toast and a range of spreads, hardboiled eggs, juice, coffee and a range of teas.
Age restriction: Please note that you must be at least 18 years old to stay here and have valid government issued photo ID.

No membership required!

- Free Wi-Fi.
- Free Breakfast.
- Free Luggage Storage.
- Free Lockers in Rooms
- Free Map of Town.
- Free Parking – on a first come, first served basis

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 00:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Banff?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 85%

Location 95%

Safety 91%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The hostel is in a good location and is close to everything. The staff is friendly and the people are nice.

Disliked: The old building is a bit smelly and some parts are not well cleaned (hallways and common washrooms). The kitchen is too small for the real capacity of the hostel. The common room is small and messy.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great hostel, friendly staff, great atmosphere, clean rooms and bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms had plenty of space, the kitchen had was stocked with very nice kitchen items, lots of space for food, great location

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: The gentleman on the front desk in the afternoons was terrible. He wasn't helpful, he was condescending, and took double the time to do any task. The hostel sometimes places guests in staff accommodation without notice and doesn't discount the price unless you ask. The kitchen was very small with little seating so it was difficult to make meals.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.
I am sorry to hear you found our front desk staff terrible. We do pride ourselves on having friendly staff and I will be sure to speak to all staff about their manner.
We do not place guests in staff accommodation however it is a room that shares a bathroom with the staff. This is the cheapest room in the hostel for this reason. Occasionally there will be staff sharing this room with guests if our staff room becomes full.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place to enjoy your stay in Banff. Spacious rooms and definitely on the clean side for a hostel. Cool staff which is not just there to work, but travellers themselves still enjoying meeting new people. Daily activities are really nice to meet people and fill your day when not on a daytrip.

Disliked: Not a big fan of a hostel bar. Even though there are cool activities and cheap drinks/food it simply doesn't live up to the common room get together and also keeps you from for example eating your own food / having your own drink outside on the hostels patio.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Location was perfect. Friendly atmosphere and great place to meet people.

Disliked: Beds were not comfortable (mattresses should be replaced). Price is very expensive for an 8 bed dorm compared with the rest of North America...this makes it difficult for budget travelers to spend much time here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, I'm glad you got to meet lots of new people while you were here.

We are currently replacing our mattresses in the rooms 1 by 1 however it is very expensive to replace the whole hostel at once. In regards to the price unfortunately it is a lot more expensive to run a hostel in Banff national park which is why Banff is more expensive than other places in North America.

Cheers
Gareth
Front desk manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big rooms and my room had a fireplace

Disliked: Nothing

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly and comfortable

Disliked: More parking needed

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean and comfortable facilities.

Disliked: None I can think of

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly staffGreat bar with cheap drinks and gamesClean and newish rooms Breakfast included

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability