HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Samesun Banff Banff Hostel

433 Banff Avenue, Banff, Canada

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 91%

Staff 88%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Dryer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Important Information

Check in time: 3:00pm
Check out time before: 11am
11% Taxes not included, must be paid on arrival.
Cash and all credit cards accepted on arrival.
Free Breakfast includes: make-your-own pancakes, homemade muffins, fresh oranges and bananas, toast and a range of spreads, hardboiled eggs, juice, coffee and a range of teas.
Age restriction: Please note that you must be at least 18 years old to stay here and have valid government issued photo ID.

No membership required!

- Free Wi-Fi.
- Free Breakfast.
- Free Luggage Storage.
- Free Lockers in Rooms
- Free Map of Town.
- Free Parking – on a first come, first served basis

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 00:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Banff?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 86%

Location 96%

Safety 91%

Staff 88%

Value 81%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Very college like atmosphere. Great place to meet various types of people from all over the world. A power bar, lamp and fan per bed is very accommodating. There are small lockers in each room as well as day storage if you do not trust the room safety. Most people do tend to adhere to the 11pm quiet time to rest up for the next day. There is always staff at the counter to answer questions. Getting a quick bite at the Beaver bar does save time.

Disliked: Breakfast could use some variation but can't complain as it is free. You will have to gamble with laundry time as there are only 2 washer/dryers each for all the occupants. Parking can become an issue as there are very limited spots. However, street parking is free with your park pass as long as you can find a spot!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating


08 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Big rooms, good location

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating


18 May 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Friendly staff. Rooms were spacious. Breakfast was decent - even had a hot plate to cook your own pancakes. Good location - 5 minute walk to restaurants/bars. Hikes accessible by foot and bus.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The hostel is in a good location and is close to everything. The staff is friendly and the people are nice.

Disliked: The old building is a bit smelly and some parts are not well cleaned (hallways and common washrooms). The kitchen is too small for the real capacity of the hostel. The common room is small and messy.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great hostel, friendly staff, great atmosphere, clean rooms and bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms had plenty of space, the kitchen had was stocked with very nice kitchen items, lots of space for food, great location

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very good location.

Disliked: The gentleman on the front desk in the afternoons was terrible. He wasn't helpful, he was condescending, and took double the time to do any task. The hostel sometimes places guests in staff accommodation without notice and doesn't discount the price unless you ask. The kitchen was very small with little seating so it was difficult to make meals.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.
I am sorry to hear you found our front desk staff terrible. We do pride ourselves on having friendly staff and I will be sure to speak to all staff about their manner.
We do not place guests in staff accommodation however it is a room that shares a bathroom with the staff. This is the cheapest room in the hostel for this reason. Occasionally there will be staff sharing this room with guests if our staff room becomes full.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place to enjoy your stay in Banff. Spacious rooms and definitely on the clean side for a hostel. Cool staff which is not just there to work, but travellers themselves still enjoying meeting new people. Daily activities are really nice to meet people and fill your day when not on a daytrip.

Disliked: Not a big fan of a hostel bar. Even though there are cool activities and cheap drinks/food it simply doesn't live up to the common room get together and also keeps you from for example eating your own food / having your own drink outside on the hostels patio.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Location was perfect. Friendly atmosphere and great place to meet people.

Disliked: Beds were not comfortable (mattresses should be replaced). Price is very expensive for an 8 bed dorm compared with the rest of North America...this makes it difficult for budget travelers to spend much time here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback, I'm glad you got to meet lots of new people while you were here.

We are currently replacing our mattresses in the rooms 1 by 1 however it is very expensive to replace the whole hostel at once. In regards to the price unfortunately it is a lot more expensive to run a hostel in Banff national park which is why Banff is more expensive than other places in North America.

Cheers
Gareth
Front desk manager

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big rooms and my room had a fireplace

Disliked: Nothing

Check Availability