HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Algonquin Backpackers

Hostel | 32990 Highway 62, Box 87, Algonquin Park, Ontario, Canada K0L 2S0

85.8% Overall Rating

43 out of 46 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

Elena Radu thinks…

"Hello, I liked the host being friendly and helpful. I liked the coffee, "Sun Run Cafe", across the road. The available menue for Vegans. The cook impressed me so nicely knowing on the second day…"

Read all Algonquin Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that our rates quoted here are for Hostelling International members. Non members pay an additional $2.85 CAD per night for a dorm bed or $3.64 per night for a private room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Algonquin Park?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

43 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Algonquin Backpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elena Radu

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Hello, I liked the host being friendly and helpful. I liked the coffee, "Sun Run Cafe", across the road. The available menue for Vegans. The cook impressed me so nicely knowing on the second day that I do not eat Dairies; the friendliness of the staff too. Talikng about Algonquin Backpakers: the room was clean and safe. There is a large room for dance, pool, Karaoke and a bar. Very good for young people. There was a living room with Internet and large screen TV. Lots of flyers to promote other hostels and the like literature. A very clean and tidy kitchen.

Disliked: I did not like the position of the building. It was at the main street. A lot of trucks during the day and night. I hopped for a quite place. I went also at a bad time. It was humid and a lot of bugs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lenka Macajova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfull personal, great service, everything was clean.

Disliked: Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sourav Chatterjee

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Sourav would recommend this property

Liked: Very neat and clean with a friendly host in Tom and Nancy

Disliked: Nothing in specific. Maybe attached bath would be a bit helpful. But I don't care really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la tranquilité, proche du parc Algonquin (30min), il y avait tous les ustensiles disponibles dans la cuisine, les lieux étaient propres

Disliked: de l'extérieur, l'auberge ressemble à un batiment abandonné

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are looking all different, but nevertheless look all cosy and warm.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josef Schwaiger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011 Josef would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlyness of the staff

Disliked: There was no automat to do your laundry on your own

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great friendliness

Disliked: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great stay at this hostel and I really liked the style! Tom is a very nice guy and I am sorry that we were not able to stay longer at this nice hostel. Was the best hostel we had on our trip through Canada! Thanks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tom was an absolute peach and incredibly helpful despite our late arrival. Would recommend this to anyone looking to spend even just a few days in the park. Word of advice though: location is a bit far from Hwy 60, so get an early start!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tiphanie Pons

08 February 2010 Tiphanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: Tiphanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

benita urban

20 January 2010 benita would recommend this property

Liked: Tom and Nancy are very nice persons, gave us good hints for the trips we wanted to do. The hostels itselfe is a place with lots of atmosphere, wish I could have stayed there much longer. They have great huge beds and the rooms are decorated in a very nice oldfashioned style with flower-wallpaper ... I loved it there and would come back just right now.

Disliked: benita left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to sleep for 1 night!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and peaceful place! No stress!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marijke van Yperen

07 October 2008 Marijke would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff!

Disliked: Marijke left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and very friendly stuff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joe Huggon

24 September 2008 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Tom was very helpfull and it's a great little place. Very homely

Disliked: Joe left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebholz Cornelia

27 June 2008 Rebholz would recommend this property

Liked: It is not easy to reach but definately worth to visit: beautiful little village, clean and familiar atmosphere at the hostel, and a very charming hostel owner taking you on adventurous tours to algonquin park that you will not easily forget any more.

Disliked: Rebholz left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiers maité

22 June 2008 Fiers would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Fiers left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky, comfortable and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Espin

04 June 2008 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: a real taste of small town canada in beautiful countryside.

Disliked: Luke left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rachel Hadley

31 May 2008 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kuno Zimmermann

29 May 2008 Kuno would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and very good tipps!

Disliked: Kuno left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Blazquez de Paz

30 March 2008 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: People, both staff and costumeres, always very friendly

Disliked: Isabel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Gonzalez Sousa

05 November 2007 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: sitting room, kitchen, prices

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moira Austin

08 October 2007 Moira would recommend this property

Liked: QUAINT OLDWORLD CHARM AND EASE OF GETTING TO ALGONQUIN pARK

Disliked: Moira left no negative feedback.