HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Velkommen Guesthouse Siem reap

Guesthouse | Group 4, Mondul III Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia N/A

88.8% Overall Rating

9 out of 11 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/02/2014)

Marie Nilsen thinks…

"This hostel is amazing! First of all, it´s easy to find and location is great both for Angkor wat and for a more relaxed stay away from pubstreet, without being to far away either. All of the staff…"

Read all Velkommen Guesthouse Siem reap reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Siem Reap?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Siem Reap

Angkoriana Boutique Hotel
16.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Siem Reap Garden Inn
18.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Central Boutique Angkor Hotel
30.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.8% 9 reviews
Cambodia Backpacker Guesthouse
4.00 USD

Guesthouse 70.2% 7 reviews
Prince D' Angkor Hotel & Spa
30.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Dream Villa
8.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pavillon Indochine Boutique - Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Tara Angkor Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

9 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Velkommen Guesthouse Siem reap'

Atmosphere
85.5%
Location
74.6%
Facilities
89.1%
Cleanliness
90.9%
Staff
87.3%
Value
94.6%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 11 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Nilsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2014 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing! First of all, it´s easy to find and location is great both for Angkor wat and for a more relaxed stay away from pubstreet, without being to far away either. All of the staff is helpful and specially the manager (the norwegian guy) who has travelled all over Cambodia and can contribute with loads of great and unique information. Nice to take a beer, watch a DVD or play some pool in the common area.

Disliked: The lack of reading lights, a lot of people in dorms go to bed quite early for Ankor wat sunrise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zoe Wilby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly, greeted me by name on arrival. Dorm rooms large and very clean. Very good air-con in the dorm room. Reception staff went out of their way to be helpful. Location very good if planning to cycle around Angkor Wat. Fast reliable wifi in room.

Disliked: Would prefer it if the matresses were not covered in plastic.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ina Maharani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Ina would recommend this property

Liked: very nice owner, clean place, complete facilty, complete service.. i book tuk2, minivan, and also massage woman from front desk. They pick up us in bus station with a very nice english speaking tuk2 driver. EVent our bus late for almost 2 hours he still waiting with smile

Disliked: nothing i dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Angkor ruins. Nice staff, good advice from the owner. On site bicycle rentals. Pool table. Newly renovated. Cheap, cold beer. Very safe and secure. Safety box for each guest in the dorm. And there were power outages in Angkor when I was there, but this property has a generator. And fast free wifi. Highly recommended.

Disliked: It was hot there, but no fault of the hotel. Air con worked fine, just hot outside while touring.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff are willing to help when rooms have problems

Disliked: The toilet was smelly and had some problems

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013

Liked: Nice lobby and restaurant.

Disliked: It's too far from the city centre. If you go out at night, the price you pay for a tuk-tuk to and back from the pub street equals the price of 8 beers.

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013

Liked: Very big and clean great accommodation

Disliked: Staff unhelpful especially the gentleman we were lead to believe was the owner. When the dorm was booked out for our extra and we did not want to pay for a private he basically dismissed us and actually made fun of us when we were taken advantage of by a tuk tuk driver. Over booked and made a guy sleep on the floor which meant we had to give up a room key and all or the communal space in the dorm as he never got a locker. The hostel was a good 15-20 walk from town at a fast pace a lot worse with bags or not in a hurry - also as 2 rather big men we felt incredibly unsafe at night as there was almost no lighting on the route and intoxicated boisterous locals hassling us. DO NOT MAKE THIS WALK AT NIGHT ALONE OR IF FEMALE

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clifford Humphrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Clifford would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel probably has the best location in all of Siem Reap for those wanting to bike around the temples. They have bikes at the hostel and very helpful staff. I wanted to leave before 5am to make a good sear to watch the sunrise, and the staff helped me select a bike the night before so all I had to do was pick it up in the morning.

Disliked: I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hostel: they were excellent in all areas, and the owner even accepted a torn $20 from me that I couldn't get rid of anywhere else in Cambodia!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Scott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful owner/manager, he was happy to talk about his experiences and help you book anything. Walter (the hotel's tuk tuk driver) was AMAZING! cannot recommend him highly enough for trips to the temp.les.

Disliked: There are two dorm rooms but it is more of a hotel/guesthouse, not too great for meeting new people. The property is also outside the main area of town, it's only a couple of dollars for a tuk tuk ride, but it also means it's a bit of a dodgy area - I don't advise walking around alone at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Kramer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, especially the boss is very helpful, can give a lot of background and advice as he knows the country pretty good. We liked the suggestion about using the hotel pool close by for free (you only have to buy one drink). The rooms are really spacious and the breakfast and the hot meals are just great!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Davidsson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff and clean, cheap rooms. Can really recommend this place!

Disliked: The only think I can think of that wasn't perfect was that the water in the shower wasn't really warm.